We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chy-an-albany”
Review of Chy-An-Albany

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chy-An-Albany
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2011

The hotel was a little worn The bathroom was tiny. You could hardly wedge into the shower and we are not particularly large. The price I thought was a little high. The place was carpeted. I personally hate carpeting, because it feels moldy and dirty to me unless it is pretty new. The bed was very clean as was the room and most of the help was very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ina820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

797 - 803 of 984 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2011

Stayed in a single room, perfectly fine and clean. Staff friendly and lots of choice and breakfast. Well placed away from the noise.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank doraknife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

The only real fault we found was that the en suite in our room [no 20] was so small,it really was uncomfortable,the room itself was clean and tidy , quiet nicely decorated and quiet at night ,the view over the rear garden is so so ,but for the money they charge you would expect a sea view,we paid £230 for two nights b&b.i know every room cant have a view over the bay ,but it should be reflected in the price .The breakfast is pretty good though especially the hot selection.
All the staff we came across were always polite and friendly.
The location of the the hotel is quite near to the town it takes about 10 Min's to walk down to town,but coming back its all up hill,something to consider if you have any mobility problems.
Considering its only a 3 star hotel ,we think its really over priced.especially for a room with a view of a garden and en suite only suitable for snow whites pals.
But the close proximity to st Ives ,which is absolutely gorgeous by the way,and free parking ,is what your actually paying for.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank plymleevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChyManager, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

Thank you for your comments and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, our pricing for our rooms is very competitive and through the winter we do run some excellent 3 for 2 offers which are great value please visit our website for details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Beside the phantastic views and the perfect location within St. Ives the hotel is totally overpriced and not very well maintained. We had room no. 43 on the front of the hotel with seperate entrance. The room furniture was aged, stained and the room in general was dirty on arrival and stayed that way also after housekeeping. The bathroom, expecially the toilet needs urgent maintenance.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golfaddicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChyManager, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

I was disappointed to read your comments regarding your recent stay and please accept my apologies for any disappointment, I do wish however if during your stay you had let us know that you were unhappy we would have gladly moved you or solved any issues you were facing.

Kind regards
Chy An Albany Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Drove into St-ives on the 28th of July with no reservations...ouch! After calling 5 or 6 places and being told they were full up, the Chy-an-Albany had a room at 120 GBP. We drove over in desperation and were pleasantly surprised. Upon telling them that we wanted to stay 2 or 3 nights, the price dropped to 90 GBP per night including parking and a very nice buffet breakfast. Unfortunately we had to move rooms everyday (3 times). This was a bit of a drag, but that's what you get for not reserving at a beach resort town in high season. However our luggage was automatically transferred to our next room. Every room was very clean, some larger than others and the view varied from parking lot to ocean view. So if you reserve ahead, specify what you want. The beds were also very comfortable. There is also a beautiful sunroom with a view on the bay. Great place in the morning for coffee or at night with a drink while reading the paper or surfing on the internet.
The wifi in the rooms was hit and miss. Each floor had it's own wifi transmitter. My computer would show 3 different wifi transmissions: excellent strength for wifi coming from floor 2 and 3 and low strength from the lobby. But for some reason wifi from floor 2 and 3 were very intermittent (couldn't log on 4 out of 5 times), but when they worked the transfer rate was great. However going to the sunroom on the main floor guaranteed a good signal.
The staff we found courteous, friendly and accommodating at all times.
The restaurant was the surprise for us. Walking around in the port we didn't see any restaurant that really stuck our fancy, so we decided to try our luck at the hotel. The food was well prepared and nicely presented. Can't recall what we ate but the 2 night we dined there neither my wife or I were disappointed with our appetizers or main meal. The price was also reasonable (no more expensive than an equivalent restaurant down at the touristy port. The view from the restaurant is also lovely.
We also dined (for a bit of variety) at the St Ives harbour hotel (previously the Portminster). This hotel is on your way down to the beach from Chy-an-Albany. That restaurant is also good and the service definitely upper class. But in all fairness, Chy-an-Albany should be proud of their kitchen. They can hold their own and their price/value is superior.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelcunnuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Stayed for 2 nights B&B in August 2011. 3 Star is about right for this hotel. It was clean and comfortable and seemed well suited to family and mid-budget holidays / breaks in St Ives. Bedroom was a compact twin with fairly small bathroom. No air con. Wifi worked in the public areas but the signal was too weak for bedroom use.

Clean and comfortable with good buffet range breakfast. A number of guests ate at the hotel for dinner but we did not so cannot comment. Polite, friendly and attentive staff.

For our stay, despite booking fairly late via an online booking agency, our twin room, with garden not sea view, cost £130 per night B&B. For the standard of the hotel this was quite expensive in my view but it was in peak season early August so probably the price to pay for peak visiting. The hotel was virtually full so again the price reflects demand perhaps.

St Ives is a delightful place but anywhere away from the water is up quite a steep hill. There was a quite steep slope up to the hotel and stepped entrance at the front. A rear carpark was better suited for anyone with accessibility difficulties. There is a lift.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Where to begin......Having been organising this event for many months we have found the hotel to be accomadating, helpful and hard working.
We were given a complementry room with a balcony and an amazing view. The room was spacious and well decorated and there were lots of lovely goodies thrown in for good measure. (many thanks for the foil hearts!!!)
The food was fantastic (love the fishcakes chef!), well presented what can only be described as top notch.
The staff were friendly and professional and nothing was too much trouble.Fortunately the weather was great and pimms out on the back lawn was a real treat.
The whole day was really special, one that we will remember for the rest of our lives (brain permitting!).
Breakfast was relaxed and plentiful, followed by a well earned walk to the beach which is only 5 mins away.
27 of us stayed at the hotel we are all so pleased that some of us are coming back again in December for a weekend stay.
Thank-you Chy an albany for everything. Bloomin fantastic!!!!! :O)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroliney63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,026 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
#14 of 21 in St Ives
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy-An-Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#5 Family Hotel in St Ives
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £60 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing