We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay!”
Review of Chy-An-Albany

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chy-An-Albany
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We last stayed at this hotel 2 years ago so decided to stay again on July 7th for a 4 nights stay, we booked approx 4 months before and requested room 22 and payed the extra for dulux sea view. Slightly disappointed when we arrived that someone had been ill on the carpet of our requested room, which was no fault of the the hotel staff, they put us in an equally lovely room, with fantastic views of the bay & also gave us a great discount for the inconvenience.
The hotel is spotlessly clean & the staff are 5*, the position of this hotel is fantastic with a lovely 5 min stroll to the beaches and harbour. Breakfast was also great and of high standered with locally sourced sausages etc.
Many have said that this hotel is over priced for a 3* hotel, but I think you will find that all 3* hotels in Cornwall are of this price, if you want 4 or 5* then you need to pay their also overpriced rates.
They also have free parking, there is an overflow car park at rear of hotel so always plenty of spaces.
Thank you to all the staff for another lovely stay, we will be back.

Room Tip: Well worth paying the extra for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a1hollands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (978)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

606 - 612 of 978 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

If the hotel had cost 40 pounds per night I would probably be saying it was fantastic. But the tiny cramped room was not worth 80 pounds per night.

I would return if it was 40 or even 50 per night as it is a good location and the breakfast was top notch.

Disappointed with the garden. Only one table but plenty of room for 12.

Receptionist staff were all nice. I got the impression they have asked the boss to fix up and it's fallen on deaf ears.

Room Tip: Check what you're getting before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DonnaMLobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

All feedback left at the hotel is appreciated and all taken on board; both positive & where improvements can be made. I am pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast selection & I hope you had a pleasant time in St Ives.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I am sure the lovely roomy rooms that are on the website are worth every penny, but unfortunately we didn't feel our tiny double room was. We felt the room was cramped and poorly organized, the en suite bathroom not as clean as it could have been. We appreciate any business wants to present their Hotel in the best light but both our parties felt the rooms we had been allocated were disappointing and didn't represent good value when compared to other establishments we stayed in. Breakfast was fine and plentiful though. Be sure to confirm when you book whereabouts your room is allocated.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiwisforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

As this was my first visit to Cornwall we phoned the hotel directly as we wanted a sea view room we were told we had to upgrade and pay extra which we did. On arrival we were told it was a partial sea view I was not at all happy. I explained about phoning and upgrading and she told me you have to upgrade to a delux room and as the hotel was fully booked we could only have a sea view for one night to say I was disappointed was an under statement. The receptionist who was very nice let us see the room . It was a large room clean and tidy with tea/coffee facilties but bathroom was very small so we agreed to take it . The receptionist gave us discount on the room. Breakfast was good and staff friendly we did enjoy our stay and would stay here again but in a delux sea view room. The beach is 5min away and its fab

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have good sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank christinaSmallfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

once again a great stay at this hotel, we had a deluxe room with sea view and balcony room no 7, the room was plenty large enough with a nice ensuite bathroom, if you had to be picky yes there were a few minor minor room issues probably due to the age of the place but o minor to worry or complain about. nice balcony with lovely sea views. breakfast was as usual very good. all the staff work well to make sure your stay is as good as could be

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while walking the South West Coast path. I had a very comfortable and clean single room, and the restaurant was very good. Breakfast in particular was good value. Level of service was friendly and good. Would certainly recommend for singles or couples.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Duncan76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Stayed from June 22-23 during our walking holidays of the South West Coast Path. This place was used as a hotel in the 1920's, thus it is very charming but a "tired" hotel. I believe we stayed in room #33 which was very small, clean but small. There wasn't enough room to move without bumping into one another and having 2 suitcases in the room made it worse, The bathroom was also very cramped. The walls were very thin as we could hear the conversation next door. This hotel needs to be more modernized, perhaps knocking a wall and combining 2 rooms to make an adequate sized room. Has a very small parking lot.
Pros: Very charming and has a fantastic view of the water from the front door. Breakfast was excellent and the servers were very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2trvl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,735 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
1,015 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#6 of 21 in St Ives
638 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#9 of 21 in St Ives
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy-An-Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#5 Family Hotel in St Ives
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £60 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing