We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good seaside hotel”
Review of Chy-An-Albany

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chy-An-Albany
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Stayed at Chy An Albany over the August bank holiday weekend and had a very nice stay.
Good points - very clean, pleasant, friendly staff (helpfully put our own bottle of wine in the fridge for us ready for our picnic), quiet in good location,nice sea view from the public areas and pretty gardens. Good breakfast, items cooked to order as well as the usual hot and cold buffet.
Not so good, well it is a bit old fashioned (though nice white duvets and bedding) and thought that maybe if the dining room was painted white or a less drab colour, this would make a big difference without much outlay. Overall, it provided us with everything we needed and for what we paid (bearing in mind Aug bank hol) it was very good value.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shortieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
There are newer reviews for Chy-An-Albany
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

571 - 577 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

Over-priced for the quality of the 'standard' family room we stayed in..no sea view at all out of window, we faced a garden.. At a first glance the roome seemed very clean but when we moved a bad we found out two smoked cigarettes, a dirty klenex and a death beatle .... Staff very apologetic..but this shouldn't happen.I agree with most negative comments on reviews. Only plus side was the location and free parking. A shame because this could be a great hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria pia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you for your recent review on your stay. I have investigated your concerns and I must state that we are a non-smoking hotel and our rooms are cleaned to very high standards so I am unsure as to how the items you suggest were found in your room. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel, but I am pleased that you found my staff helpful & you enjoyed the location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Booked late in the day, the only hotel we could find within our budget and with parking this was a good find. Rated three star, it easily met the standard with nice rooms, very clean, tea making facilities and comfortable beds. Our basic room was on the third floor, freshly decorated (lift only access - but separate fire escape), we were very happy for one night. A slight trek (uphill) from car park to reception. Efficient staff - willing to chill a bottle of bubbly for us - and to help us secure cycles overnight in an open, undercover space (with CCTV). Restaurant served good meals but last orders by 8.30 - a little bit of a scramble for the cyclists who needed time before eating. Breakfast buffet very good, coffee excellent!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Avrodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Just returned from 2 nights at the Chy-An-Albany. We had two of the single rooms. They were small but almost perfectly formed. Everything was very clean and the bed was excellent. The only downside was the power of the shower. We managed in both rooms but we would have liked more power in the shower especially when washing your hair. The hotel is on the hill with superb gardens, it is quite a lovely setting with really beautiful very well kept gardens. The inside of the hotel is excellent, the staff very attentive. We found the breakfasts quite superb, well cooked using very good quality ingredients. We certainly made the most of what was on offer on both mornings. The overspill car park is at the back and if you can not find a parking space alert the staff as they are willing to move staff cars. You need a car to get in to town unless you really want to walk up and down hills. At £85 a night for each room, well we thought it was worth the money compared to other places. Well worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seeteeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay and enjoyed every minute of it. We had a large room and bathroom which were spotless and a large balcony with a good views over Porthminster beach and out to Helston.
The bed was a super king and very comfortable as were the two easy chairs. A well stocked tray of tea,coffee etc was also provided and there was plenty of storage space for clothes etc. We saw no evidence of the hotel being tired either in our room or in the public areas and the gardens were well maintained.
From the time we checked in the staff were friendly and efficient and the breakfast, although self service, is as good as any we have eaten elsewhere as "cooked to order" - and we stay away a lot.
I am approaching 67 years of age and found the walk up from town no problem and in no way is it a slog. Equally, the walk down to the beach is not scary in our opinion and the main road only has one other road joining it which is that coming up from town. The crossing is not dangerous if you walk up the road a few yards from the junction i.e. good road sense.
Would happily return again without any question and have happy memories of our stay.

Room Tip: Three rooms on the first floor have a balcony area and are worth the extra cost for the sheer space...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fellwalkermad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

A very nice small hotel with friendly helpful staff and great service, better than some of the 4 star hotels I've stayed in. The rooms were clean and well maintained, the sea view rooms are worth the extra cost. The restaurant has a lovely menu of locally sourced produce. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BeccaW73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My friend and I stayed at this hotel from 28 th July for five nights in a deluxe sea view room. The room was huge with everything you could ask for. The balcony was massive with a six seater table and chairs with beautiful views of port minster bay. breakfast was good, we ate in the restaurant twice, one meal was delicious the other mediocre. Only thing that let it down in the restaurant was the young waitress who really had no clue on customer service and didn't even open our wine for us!
All in all a good stay though

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lilexp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 20 in St Ives
984 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 20 in St Ives
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy-An-Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#5 Family Hotel in St Ives
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £70 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing