We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chy-An-Albany

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chy-An-Albany
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Long weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Yet again we have had a wonderful stay.Room very clean and tidy although the bathroom was very small,but value for money.The breakfasts again were excellent and the staff could not have been any more helpful.Booking in and out has never been a problem,cant complain about any of the staff.Will be seeing you again very soon.

Room Tip: Even though our room was fine i will be getting a sea view room next time.Thats what its all about i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ian-gazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    293
    120
    57
    27
See reviews for
154
520
41
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We stayed in a Deluxe Sea View room for a weekend. We'd originally booked a Studio Apartment, but were changed due to a double booking thanks to a certain online hotel room booking company! The staff at the hotel were extremely apologetic and did everything possible to make things right. Have to say, I was very happy with the room change as it was HUGE and had a great view down to the seafront with a very spacious balcony - perfect for morning coffee in the morning or a glass or two of wine watching the beautiful sunset.

During our stay, all the staff were really friendly and always willing to help. Anything to make our stay more comfortable. Although it isn't right in the centre of St Ives, it just a short, and very scenic walk.

Will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We booked the Chy-An-Albany for a pre-Christmas getaway in December 2013. We chose the hotel largely due to the price of the Deluxe sea view room (which was on offer) and the hotel's proximity to the town and beaches (only 5-10 minutes walk down the hill). The room was a really good size with a balcony overlooking the Porthminster beach (I'd definitely recommend the upgrade to a seaview room). Breakfast (included in the booking) is cooked to order and always lovely, although I wouldn't recommend having the full fry up everyday as it is big. The staff were fantastic and always very friendly. The hotel also has ample parking and is easy to access in St Ives winding streets. I'd definitely book again.

For dinner try the Sea Food cafe on Fore street, the Crab and Rum shack overlooking the harbour or the Sloop inn also in the harbour.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RebRedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Having read the poor reviews we were not expecting too much but couldn't resist the incredible bargain price. Yes the room was small but perfectly adequate and very clean. A busy winter weekend saw the hotel pretty well full but at night it was one of the quietest hotels I have stayed in. Only used the restaurant for breakfasts and they were excellent, both the buffet service at the weekend and the 'cooked to order' service after the weekend when it was much quieter. Staff were friendly, competent and professional so overall a very pleasant stay which we will certainly repeat.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tombolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

What an ideal location, and what a friendly hotel. Yes some little touches could improve it , like placing bottled water in all the rooms, not just some, but other than that, it was almost faultless.

When we go to st ives again and we decide to stay in a hotel for a nice weekend break, this will be our first port of call.

When we returned home, lovely email from the hotel, which is such a nice touch, once again thank you .

Haven't been to st ives for 33 years, what a lovely place

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view, it is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bartl865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

I have stayed at this hotel a few times and always had average stays at reasonably cheap rates. This time however, we had an awful stay. Unfortunately I have tried to speak to someone about it whilst I was there, send an email, left messages etc since Ive been back before I wrote a review on here but unfortunately despite promises to get back to me, no one has so I feel like I should write a review on here.
The stay started badly with a blunt receptionist and a room key that didnt work but that wasn't the end of the world.
The room was very small and for the money I think the size of room and bathroom was appalling. Im not a large person (a size 10) but I found the bathroom difficult to manoeuvre in. The breakfast was greasy, cold and disgusting. We went an hour before breakfast ended so expected everything to be hotter and fresher. So disappointed. Will never stay here again! Mostly disappointed with the fact that no one has contacted me despite several attempts to speak to someone!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHARLOTTE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
I would like to take this opportunity to address the issues that you have raised.

On arrival we endeavour to offer a warm welcome giving general information about the hotel facilities and meal times before assisting guests to their rooms. Unfortunately check in times can sometimes be rather busy and it is not always possible to take every guest to their individual rooms & help with the key card door locks, so I am sorry you had trouble using your key.

We have a varied selection of rooms, some smaller than others. All rooms are ensuite although with the very nature of our period building not all are of a spacious size. We provide a selection of toiletries along with bath & hand towels in all rooms. For guests requiring a more spacious bedroom & bathroom we would recommend one of our deluxe sea view rooms.

It is very disappointing to read that you found the breakfast ‘cold & disgusting’ and it alarms me that if, as you mention, had brought this to the attention of our staff at the time of your stay the situation was not addressed immediately. Although we offer a buffet style breakfast, which is continuously refreshed during breakfast service, all guests are also offered our breakfast menu which is available to order from the kitchen.

All feedback is welcome & any complaints, brought to our attention, taken very seriously. On this occasion I am very confident that our staff did respond to your email contact immediately & also the reception manager tried to make telephone contact, leaving several messages.

It is with great regret that you found your last visit not to be up to the same standard you previously experienced here at The Chy an Albany Hotel, as you have stayed with us ‘a few times’ I trust that you were happy on all the other occasions which prompted you to return to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Having taken early retirement I began an Art Degree, and needed to take a trip to St Ives to see an exhibition in the Tate. I hate traveling alone, but my Wife made it easy by suggesting I go on the train, as 5 hours in the car is not my idea of fun! I duly arrived at St Ives station, and climbed the steep path to the main road. The hotel was just a short way up the road, overlooking the bay. It has great views from dining room and bar. The entrance is a bit odd, but once inside, that really does not matter. I had booked a cheap rate room for one, so did not expect much in the way of a bedroom. The bedroom was quite small, but spotless, with TV, tea making facilities, shower en suite. All I needed. I was going to the village for food but looked at the menu and thought I'd give it a try. Gin and tonic in a very pleasant bar took the strain of a 5.5 hour train away. I was really surprised at the standard of cooking. Confit of Duck came shredded with salad and pieces of duck breast on a white oblong plate. Delicious. For main I had a Haddock Kedgeree with mildly curried rice and a poached egg on top. Not my usual choice...but so glad I chose this. Absolutely superb.
As it was a Monday and having a Gallery Day on the following day I did not bother with more booze or a pudding, which I do not eat. What a great meal! A great nights sleep followers by breakfast of Eggs Benedict...Poached Eggs on Muffins with Hollandaise Sauce. I kid you not...heaven on a plate! A quick walk into St Ives and a day trying hard to be intellectual! The staff are very helpful and friendly, and we shall return!

Room Tip: If you can get a sea view, great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.0 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#7 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy-An-Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Property: Chy-An-Albany
Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#5 Family Hotel in St Ives
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing