We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place to stay”
Review of Chy-An-Albany

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chy-An-Albany
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

all staff are friendly from arrival to when we left . hotel clean and tidy . also were very helpful when my husband called them to arrange to get flower put in the room . just one thing the water pressure on the shower not very strong . overall a great stay

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lillytruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    304
    124
    58
    27
See reviews for
159
534
43
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in Deluxe room - we were lucky enough to get the balcony, the room was large and spacious. Beds were ok but a little creaky. Stunning views over St Ives Bay from the room but even if you wanted a cheaper stay in a non-sea view room you could still enjoy the amazing views from the sun lounge/bar. Staff were very friendly and helpful and check in/out was quick. Breakfast was excellent with a range of cooked to order options as well as fruit/cereal etc. Evening meal wasn't quite as good, tasty enough but not a 'wow' meal - evening meal at the Tregenna Castle (kinda next door up the hill) was much better.

The hotel decor may look a little tired around the edges but it offers excellent value for money for a short break in St Ives with these sorts of views. Also it's only about a 5 min walk to the train station (with a few flights of steps) and 10 mins into St Ives, so makes it ideal if you don't have a car and are travelling by train.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay despite the stormy weather and I would stay here again the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank statt73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

As a last minute decision to visit st ives for the weekend we stayed at the chyan Albany and must say it was wonderfull the staff where very friendly and the room was immaculate with French doors leading to a wonderfull roof terrace with views over looking porthminster,
Breakfast for me was fresh grilled kippers (heaven). My wife and son went with the tradional full English which also went down well . Overall a great place to stay will be visiting again .

Ps the bass ale at the hotel bar is also a must try,

Room Tip: Our room was a family room to front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stay 2 nights for weekend break through Laterooms. Lovely location, easy walk down into town. Fortunately there were parking spaces at the entrance otherwise getting to the back car park sounded a bit of a trek. Outside looks tired and front uninviting. Reception staff were friendly.
We eventually reach our rabbit hutch through a warren of corridors at the back of the building.
The room was clean but its only big enough for a single bed no free floor space or places to put bags. I'm sure the ensuite was originally a wardrobe (although not a females!) I can only say, the average person would have trouble turning around, standing space was tiny and claustrophobic!. Decor very 80's and furniture falling apart. I wouldn't want to stay in this room again. Thought the Bistro food was expensive for what it was so crossed over the road to Spa hotel where it was only slightly cheaper but better ambience. Breakfast fantastic and staff very polite.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elaine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

booked this hotal for my birthday weekend with my husband. excellent value for money comfortable room only let down was a very small shower room. breakfast was very good. the staff was very friendly. the locoation was great a walk into st ives was 10 mins. would stay at this hotal again,

Room Tip: the room we had was room2 its was a great room the only down side is small shower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Booked this late and had a great time.
Excellent value, comfortable room, brilliant breakfasts....especially if you can get a window seat :-)
The staff were all very friendly, helpful and welcoming.
St Ives in the winter is lovely, though we were extremely lucky with the weather.
Would stay here again, if we were to visit again

Room Tip: I only put average for the room because the shower was rubbish
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed at this Hotel in July of 13.

The location was very convenient to walking downhill into the busier part of St Ives.

Parking was easy, for the most part. The space doesn't hold a lot of vehicles and there was point when we had to wait for an open spot, but it wasn't a long wait.

Reception was fast and friendly.

Our room was large, with a terrific view over St Ives and the sea. Adequate furnishings and bath. Slightly faded, but nothing worth complaining about.

Nice breakfast. Fresh and tasty.

We had to leave one day earlier than expected and the hotel did not charge us for this inconvenience which Impressed me very much considering how busy St Ives was in July.

A nice stay in an above average, although not top notch, establishment.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ancestralvoices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,618 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
912 reviews
0.3 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy-An-Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Property: Chy-An-Albany
Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#5 Family Hotel in St Ives
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing