We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value Hotel”
Review of Chy-An-Albany

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chy-An-Albany
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Got a late booking at the Albany for a 2 night break. Lucky enough to get the last sea view balcony room. The room was spacious and comfortable with great views over the bay. We had an excellent, freshly cooked evening meal at a reasonable price, and the breakfast was very good. There was plenty of parking at the hotel, the staff were friendly and helpful so all in all a very comfortable stay. Only 2 minor comments, first the pillows were a bit too firm for our taste and 2nd, it is a steep walk down to the sea front so may not be suitable for the less mobile. Still at £67 a head for dinner B&B at half term in St Ives it is well worth a visit

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Killerbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
There are newer reviews for Chy-An-Albany
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Great spot easy parking . Staff very helpful and ten min walk to harbour if that . Restaurant very good but a bit pricey especially as restaurants in town so reasonable . Breakfast is really good . Room was quite small but clean bathroom was really cold though . Please fit radiator :) will definitely recommend

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mabs72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The deal offered was too good to miss. £88 for a twin/family room (Number 31) with sea views for two of us. Our room was clean, light and airy, the staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast was both buffet style and to order and was excellent on both days. It is just on the outskirts of the town but only a 5 minute walk down the hill to the beach/town. The central heating does clank a little at night but it did not spoil the overall enjoyment. Although the weather was not brilliant, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel. Next time I will book to bring my family along.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms a must! Gorgeous views
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ficruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We booked to stay in a deluxe room with sea views and wow,we were not disappointed. Fantastic room with great views. We stayed in Room 7. This was our 5th visit to this hotel. The staff make this place,polite and always smiling and nothing is to much trouble. We dined in the restaurant the first night and the meal was good. Breakfast is always a highlight for me. A great start to the day. One minor detail, please bring back the Hogs pudding!
Overall another fantastic stay. We will be back.
Thanks to all at The Chy An Albany.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Greenman384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have stayed here approx. 5 times now and would never stay anywhere else in St. Ives, It is close to the town centre but not too close for noise, the food is excellent with a massive choice for breakfasts, aswell as the buffet of cereal, fruit, toast yogurts etc there is a self service of a full English plus a menu for salmon, haddock, eggs benedict and much more. the staff are always friendly and there is a bar with picture windows overlooking the bay.... it is however best to book a sea view room.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view at front of hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kelle554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We returned this February for our fourth stay at the Chy-An-Albany, this year on a four nights for three B&B deal. We were allocated, on request, room-39, up on the third floor. The view is uninspiring but it is well equipped with storage space and unheated shower room.
The view from the restaurant at breakfast via the window wall was wonderful. So was the standard of the food and its service, both at breakfast and at dinner.
I expect that we will return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

all staff are friendly from arrival to when we left . hotel clean and tidy . also were very helpful when my husband called them to arrange to get flower put in the room . just one thing the water pressure on the shower not very strong . overall a great stay

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lillytruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 20 in St Ives
2,694 reviews
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 20 in St Ives
984 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 20 in St Ives
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy-An-Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#5 Family Hotel in St Ives
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £69 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing