We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Chy-An-Albany

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chy-An-Albany
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed at this hotel for two nights. The hotel was a nice size with lovely bar and restaurant. Food was brilliant, like eating in a top restaurant! Our room was spacious with sea view overlooking the beach and St ives bay. On the first night we had water coming through our light in the bathroom before we went out. My husband contacted reception and they said we could move into the executive suite on the top floor. So we moved our clothes etc into the new room, although it was not executive. The room is old fashioned and needs updating! The lady who delt with us said she would alter our bill accordingly due to our inconvenience, which she did promptly. We had a reduction on our bill which was appreciated. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to town, with lovely pubs and shops.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidayyay_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (966)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 966 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

We have visited St Ives 5 times in the last 6 years staying elsewhere but decided for various reasons to try the Chy-An-Albany as the recent reviews were generally good and the hotel website showed nicely presented rooms.

We stayed in Room 24 which is at the northern corner of the hotel on the 2nd floor. We had views over both the Bristol Channel / Irish Sea and round into Carbis Bay. Very pretty.

We ate in the Bistro on 2 occasions and found the food tasty and well presented.

Breakfasts were equally nice with freshly cooked full Cornish breakfast a particular favourite.

The service was prompt at all times and very helpful.

Our room had been recently redecorated as had all of the public areas of the hotel that we saw.

Is it the best ever hotel I've ever stayed in? No; but so long as you realise it only claims 3 Stars then you shouldn't be disappointed staying at the hotel. And I'd recommend eating at least once in the Restaurant apart from breakfast as you'll miss a 'treat' if you don't!

James also creates very good Web sites!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tomper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

A nice welcome awaited us when we arrived at this establishment. We found the staff friendly and caring and always willing to help and advise. We had booked a twin room which was one of the two rooms with only access from outside the front of the Hotel. We had no problem upgrading to a room inside which made it easier to move around inside especially as it was rather windy and showery on one day. The room was more than adequate for our needs, very clean and tidy and the bed linen changed every day we were there. There was body wash and conditioner in the shower cubicle (no bath) and by the sink top. Clean hand and shower towels were replaced each day if we wanted. There was a downstairs bar with a variety of beers, wines and spirits on offer and lounge area with tv and lovely views over St Ives Bay. The breakfast was both full-English and Continental and a selection of cereal, toast and yoghurt, teas and coffee, juices etc. The Sunday we could self-serve our own. The Hotel also cater for eveing restaurant meals though advance booking may be necessary but we didn't use it. There are some steps from the road to the Hotel entrance to negotiate and a road which you can drive to the car park with limited parking at the front. There is an additional car park at the rear. The hotel is approx. 0.9mile to St Ives Harbour and beach front but only a short walk off the town centre and coach park/taxi rank is just down the hill. We were very comfortable in a warm and inviting surrounding and would recommend and return again. Overall the price we paid was very reasonable and affordable.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 1st and 2nd floors at the front of the hotel have the best views across the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

It was our second time at Chy An Albany
and we were not disappointed it was as good as the first time
Rooms were clean and very comfortable with excellent tea and coffee making facilities, the food in the evening restaurant was absolutely superb worthy of 5 stars, breakfast was a huge range of very good quality food and the bar area was relaxed and friendly
Staff were friendly and helpful

Room Tip: rooms with sea view were brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PlymouthJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My husband and I stayed for only one night to do some research in St Ives for a holiday we are taking with friends in December, which will be based in Carbis Bay.
I was extremely impressed by the friendliness and professionalism of all the staff. The free parking was a great bonus especially as the hotel was near enough to walk into the centre of St Ives. Our room and the hotel was extremely clean and fresh looking. The breakfast was excellent and considering the low cost of our stay, I was very impressed with the choice of hot meals cooked to order. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel if you are looking for a great priced and good quality stay somewhere with no pretentions

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

At least once a year, work seems to take me into the Cornish peninsula, with St Ives being such an attractive location. One always tries to find reasonable hotels to bring my wife and daughter along.

Chy-an-Albany is one such place; it is by no means the ritz nor is it fawlty towers ... Reasonably priced they were more than happy to co locate our rooms.

Breakfast is "not bad" accommodation nice, whilst parking is a challenge,me felt that this hotel is one that we could return to.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
5  Thank MortimerLake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We had a pleasant stay in the Chy An Albany. I had been worried about how easy it would be to find, knowing what the roads in St Ives are like but it is easily located as you come down the hill as you enter the town. We were lucky to get a place in the car park at the front but the instructions to the rear car park (having checked on a map) seem fairly clear.

The staff are very friendly and welcoming. The hotel itself is an older property and therefore does have little corridors going round corners etc - the rabbit warren I'd read about in another review. However its not THAT big and you dont have to go far. The decor in the corridors wasnt to my taste but its not unpleasant (green carpet, peaches & cream walls).

The room was nicely decorated and seemed fresh. It was very clean. We had a twin room and the beds were comfortable and the heating controllable. There was a hairdryer, tea/coffee/biscuits (no chocolate), TV etc. The toiletries are in bottles attached to the wall (handwash, shampoo/conditioner and bodywash). The shower was good and easy to get the right temperature. The only slight problems were that the bathroom did smell just slightly (might have been a leaky pipe outside), bathroom was a bit cold, and we did have a problem with the heater making intermittant noise in the night (a kind of metallic drum noise) but we informed the staff of this in the morning so hopefully it's fixed. I think we were in room 15 but not 100% sure of that. This is a room with a very limited view but we werent there for the view.

The breakfast is good and they are happy to cook poached eggs for fussy people like me. My daughter enjoyed the nutella.

The location is good. It is a little walk into the centre - and be warned it's a hill so not great if you have limited mobility. Its also a bit of a dash to get over the road from the hotel to the footpath into town (its on a bit of a bend and quite a busy road). We were visiting friends at the other side of town and it was an easy and pleasant walk through the centre.

All in all based on the price we paid, the comfort of the bed, the location and the staff I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 20 in St Ives
2,714 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 20 in St Ives
1,003 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#9 of 20 in St Ives
375 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 20 in St Ives
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy-An-Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#5 Family Hotel in St Ives
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £68 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing