We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent visit to this hotel a friend”
Review of Chy-An-Albany

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chy-An-Albany
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I can not praise this hotel and it's staff highly enough. A friend and I stayed there for three nights in April May and had a beautiful room with balcony overlooking the beautiful beach. The food here is stunning and the staff made this such a FABULOUS break for us both. We are busy ladies and being spoilt like this in such glorious surroundings was luxury indeed. Keep up the good work !!

Room Tip: The family room 7 is gorgeous !! views to die for !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LesleyRhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (966)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 966 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

This hotel is situated high on the cliff overlooking St Ives and the views are magnificent. We had room 7 which is a large room with a very large balcony with a king sized bed, it was worth the higher price. The service from checking to departure was great and I would happily stay here again. We had breakfast from the cooked to order selections and the eggs benedict were very good. Our only regret was that it was only for one night as St Ives is such a lovely town.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Stewart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I was looking for a hotel online and this one came up. A lot of places were coming up but they were more guest house style which i wouldn't feel comfortable staying in someone's house with a shared bathroom i prefer my own space with private facilities. I saw the photos and reviews so we decided to go for this one. We stayed here over the Easter holiday and we had a great time. The location is perfect because we enjoyed the walk to the centre and we had the beach directly in front. The views are really nice from this hotel, both our rooms sea views and one with a balcony so we were so pleased. The rooms have everything we needed they were clean and comfy. Apart from a mini fridge that would have been nice. The only problem i came across was either the walls are a little thin or i had a really loud snorer next door, as im a light sleeper this kept me awake every night. Haha just my luck.
The staff are lovely and so helpful, we enquired about a few things and they were happy to help us. Even the morning staff the girl with the dark hair which served us took notice and remembered everyday how we each liked our coffee and tea its makes all the difference.
The evening lighthouse bistro we enjoyed too on our first night. The food was presented beautifully and tasted great. A must try.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 5 is sea view with a balcony thats joined to other rooms, or 24 is sea view on higher floor wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grace0035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here last weekend and are finding it difficult to rate due to conflicting factors.
So, first of all on the positive side: Friendly, welcoming staff and room 5, where we stayed, has a large balcony and good view across St Ives bay. The hotel is set far enough back from the road that even this front facing room did not suffer from any intrusive road noise. The king size bed was actually two singles joined together, but was comfortable.
On the minus side: this is one of the most expensive rooms the hotel has, but there is no space for a chair, settee or table in the room. It is not like the photos of a deluxe room. Cleanliness is not perfect. The bedside table had 'rings' from the previous occupant's drinks. (Watching how tables were being cleaned at breakfast, using a dry tea towel and no cleaning product, may be an indicator of why this happened.) In the bathroom we noted the cracked floor tiles and missing sealant around the base of the bath. On the balcony the damaged wall with rusted out fitting that once held a rope in place, gave an impression of neglect.
We had the self-service cooked breakfast and wished we hadn't. Reason - the fried eggs had been sitting under the heat lamp for too long and the yolks were hard. The mushrooms and beans were lukewarm. Choice of fruit juice was limited to orange or apple and no cafetiere of coffee, just a cup filled by the staff from a jug that had lost its freshness. Looking at other reviews, the secret is to choose from the fresh cooked options!
So – had we chosen standard room, then I don’t think we would have been disappointed. But at £145 for one night, we were not that impressed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qualityspy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have stayed here a couple of times now and never been disappointed. We have always managed to get a room with sea view and even with a large balcony. We also like a room with a king-size bed. Chy-an- Albany has these. They are rare in St Ives hotels. St Ives is a town where hotel rooms and beds are small- much smaller than average across the country. So finding that Chy-an- Albany has big beds and sea views at a very comparative price means that it is our first choice in St Ives. Because the hotel is set back a little from the road means and up the hill from the harbor means that nights are peaceful.
Breakfast is excellent and we recommend staying in for an evening meal. The food is fresh and well presented, the wine list well chosen and reasonably priced, and you have a view across the bay.
The staff are lovely: friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Ask for the upper floors with sea view- with balcony if you can get it. They are worth the little ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GillK26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights as a prelude to a 1 week continuation of our holiday at a house in St Ives. I can only offer praise and a confirmed recommendation to anyone thinking of booking here. The staff are friendly the hotel is spotless throughout and the breakfast if excellent.
If I had to criticize in any way it would be that the hotel is a little dated in some areas and lacks a clear identity and sense of style.
This does not mean I would not stay again as I most definitely would.

Room Tip: Room 41 has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeTHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The hotel is located on top of the hill, with great views of the ocean. Sadly my friends and I got the downstairs room, and they're overlooking the carpark, which is a shame. The staff are super friendly and helpful. The room is of decent size. Hot breakfast such as eggs benedict with hollandaise sauce is available to order, and it was great!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TiaraW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 20 in St Ives
2,714 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 20 in St Ives
1,002 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#9 of 20 in St Ives
375 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 20 in St Ives
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy-An-Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#5 Family Hotel in St Ives
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £68 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing