We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, excellent breakfast”
Review of Chy-An-Albany

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chy-An-Albany
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

A warm comfortable hotel with the most friendliest of staff. All staff without exception were friendly,helpful and willing to please. Check in was quick and efficient. We had Room 5 a sea view room with a huge balcony and views to die for! Hotel a bit dated in decor but was spotlessly clean and comfortable. A large bathroom with big white towels. Free WIFi which was quick and always available. Nice white cotton bed linen. The breakfast was excellent, plenty to choose from the buffet with a choice to order cooked to order. The scrambled egg and smoked salmon was a favourite. Plenty of good hot tea and best of all excellent staff who were efficient and always smiling.
The walk back up the hill from town got steeper each trip but to rest was to enjoy the view while catching your breath! A really nice comfortable place to stay in St.Ives. Price of £160.00 a night is steep by sea side standards but St.Ives is such a popular place and this price seemed typical of this standard of hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony have a spacious feel and great to be able to walk out and enjoy the amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank churchmouse33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 984 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel was a little more expensive than what we wanted to spend but we really enjoyed staying there! Thanks to the very friendly staff, great breakfast and beautiful view it was a terrific few days.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

As a mature couple with slight mobility problems a trip to an unknown hotel always has a question mark over it from the assistance and navigational point of view. NO problems at all in this delightfully situated hotel. A lift between all floors, only a couple of steps here or there to negotiate and staff who could not have been more helpful and accommodating. More choice on the breakfast menu than I've seen in a long time and evening meals to die for. The scallops are out of this world but only surpass the other dishes by a tiny margin. We had a birthday celebration during our stay which was made very special by the excellent restaurant staff.
Everywhere spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We had a brilliant stay at the Chy An Albany over Bank Holiday weekend. The hotel is in a great location with superb views, easy walk into St Ives, 5 mins down the bank. Added bonus of free parking! The rooms are clean and quiet, a little old fashioned. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious, a wide range of choice and the option to order from a menu. A really great stay, thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights just before Bank Holiday and booked the Suite on the top floor with breakfast included. This suite can also be booked as a self-catering option apparently. We were very impressed with the room. It was large and airy and had fantastic views across the bay. There was a small kitchen area to the right of the door which was totally separate to the rest of the room. Although we didn't use the kitchen for cooking, it appeared to be well equipped with a cooker, microwave and kettle, with a good supply of pans, cups and plates etc. The bed was very comfortable and although the shower and bath were on the small size, there was plenty of hot water and toiletries supplied. The staff in the hotel were very friendly and helpful, from reception to dining room staff. The breakfast was very good too with plenty of choice to satisfy all tastes. All in all we felt that the hotel contributed to a very enjoyable stay in St Ives especially as it took us around 10 minutes to walk into the centre of the town and harbour.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor provide the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Swizzie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed at the hotel for two nights, wasn't that impressed with the room with a view of a stone wall, but it was clean. The rooms with a sea view would have a stunning view though. Breakfast was delicious with a good choice and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We stayed for three nights at this charming hotel. The first thing you notice is that all the staff are very young, don't be fooled. the staff are excellent, always smiling and nothing is too much trouble for them. Everyone of them gave us a warm welcome and made our stay extremely enjoyable.

The hotel has a lounge bar with a sun room which has the most fantastic views over the bay.

Ours bedroom also had a sea view which gave us a great view of the bay. We saw a pod of dolphins from our bedroom window while we were there!

The food was excellent with the menu being changed everyday. We dined there twice and on both occasions were delighted. Breakfasts were equally as good.

The hotel is just a short walk from the town centre (10 mins).

If there was a criticism it would have to be that the decor and furniture in our room was a little dated.

But other than that bring on the next holiday there! Oh, and make sure you keep the staff, they are fantastic.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jake86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,025 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#6 of 21 in St Ives
639 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
#14 of 21 in St Ives
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy-An-Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £62 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing