We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and tidy”
Review of Chy-An-Albany

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chy-An-Albany
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in single room.Room was nice,clean .Water was very hot and shower have not good pressure water.Very quiet hotel.Two car parks.Hotel is close to beach and centro town.
Very good value for money.I recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jan .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (996)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

496 - 502 of 996 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

Staff were very friendly & helpful. Stayed in a single room (rm 21) for 2 nights - it was a bit small (esp for price), as was the shower room, but they were both very clean. Bed was very comfortable & had an excellent night's sleep. The hotel is a bit of a maze so I sometimes had trouble finding my room, esp after a couple of pints!
I had breakfast in my room, which was great - very nice & ample on the plate!
I arranged a slightly later checkout, but on the morning the fire alarm kept going off - felt I'd better 'get out'. It was probably just the weekly test so I wasn't too annoyed.
Chy-An-Albany is fairly close to the train station but it's a steep hill straight up to the hotel (walking the long way round is an easier gradient). Also fairly close to the town centre.
A minor issue I had often in the hotel was lack of mobile signal.
All in all enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed for two nights in two family rooms, one deluxe with a balcony (amazing views) and standard room.

Decors are quite dated, but we didn't really mind it too much as it gives the hotel that seaside feel to it.

Deluxe room was spacious, one queen size bed and two singles, seating area, balcony and ensuite bathroom.

Standard room had one queen size bed and a single bed, very small tv and bathroom but it was very quiet as it was located at the back of the hotel but we still had views of the sea.

Finding the hotel was easy by car and by foot, as very close to St Ives Station (approx. 10 mins walk). Parking was available on First come, first serve with spaces available at the front and back of the hotel.

Checking in was quick and straight forward, Julie is very helpful and friendly!

Bathroom shower in the standard room was not powerful but sufficed.
Breakfast was hearty! Selection of hot (eggs, bacon, sausages, mushrooms, tomatoes) and cold (cereals, fruits and yoghurts) buffet as well as cooked to order option all included in the nightly rate.

Location of the hotel is conveniently located close to the beach, path down to the beach took us approx. 5 minutes which is one to the best beaches we have been to in the UK. Clean, not crowded although the water was cold but golden sand and when the sun is out, it is quite nice to go for a swim!

Town centre approx. 15 minutes walk with lots of nice small shops which makes it quite a pleasant area to stroll at a leisurely pace.

Some noise can be heard between rooms, or door slamming but wasn't a big issue for us. Would definitely stay at Chy an albany again but would opt for the deluxe family room for the views!

Room Tip: Room 7 is a Deluxe Family room - definitely worth staying in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mish77_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We booked into this hotel for 6 nights.
The room was very clean and tidy and well decorated.
The personal touch just seemed to be missing , we had a bed throw disappear from the room midway through our stay which I asked to be returned as I didn't want to get charged for it,why it was removed I don't know.
The breakfast was a buffet style which was quite good in fact and well looked after and replenished often.
House keeping we were concerned about as twice on our stay the bathroom floor wasn't cleaned.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chrislawrence1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Hi there, thank you for your review.
We strive to achieve a welcoming & friendly hotel for guests to relax during their holiday & so I am pleased that you enjoyed our breakfasts.
The throw will have been replenished with a fresh one I am sure if one was taken away by mistake. It will have been taken to laundry. Your comments have been passed to the Head Housekeeper as if the floor was missed; I am sure that it was not intentional so we thank you for bringing it to our and the staffs attention.
Kind regards, Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed for two nights at the last minute and found an older hotel with wonderful views and excellent food. Our room was a bit small and the shower didn't produce vast quantities of water, but overall it was a good experience. The room was clean and looked over their pretty garden which was a real treat, parking was easy, and a lift available to upper floors. The staff ensured our stay was comfortable and pleasant, and even in the busyness of breakfast, they still ensured we had our coffee topped up. We had dinner one night with a table overlooking the town and the bay (during a very spectacular storm!), and the food was excellent. A very enjoyable couple of days.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

First signs were ok.
Cheery greeting , although the girl didn't leave her seat and waved us to the lift with general directions to our room, we entered the room it looked great. Large room with desk, sofa and doors leading to seated area over looking St Ives bay. The buffet breakfast was nice enough with happy staff and the walk into the main shopping area or beach is hilly but ok for most.
The things that popped up during the stay that did colour our judgement a little :
The bed rang to the sound of creaking springs and wasn't at all comfortable, the mattress was dead but wouldn't accept it.
The bathroom while a nice size was a little tired and waiting for hot water from the shower was a little tedious but when it arrived was plentiful,
The second morning we were greeted by the sound of a hand drill near our room at just after 8am. Why it was necessary to do maintenance at this time of morning I don't know.
Next was the unannounced Fire drill, while this may need to be done, a little warning may have saved several of the rooms ending up at reception or the young boy in the next room to be scared and having to cover his ears . It started with a short test and continued into a longer version which made us question if it was a test ! The longer version eventually forced us to escape to the shops.
When we entered our room we were hit by a wall of scented room spray, was more of an annoyance to my partner, she hunted for the source without any luck. As it dissipated it was obviously hiding the smell of damp.
Lastly the small matter of someones discarded underwear, housekeeping need to do a better room sweep when changing over.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank KateandMike31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, General Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thanks ever so much for your helpful review. I am sorry that your check in was not as you expected. Unfortunately you checked in when the receptionist was feeling light headed from the heat and tried to avoid this by sitting down during your check in. I sincerely apologise for this.

I am really pleased that you liked your room and the view over the bay; it is beautiful. However I wish you had informed us about the bed as without being informed we cannot improve. It saddens me that you were unable to approach us about these issues as it is the first that we have known about the bed and something that we would change given the knowledge. I will now be able to investigate and arrange accordingly.

I apologise that you were woken by maintenance work carried out. We usually avoid any noisy work until after 9am, however if something needs fixing immediately and is a health & safety risk; we prefer to fix it straight away to avoid any issues.

We inform all of our guests with the welcome pack available in each bedroom that we carry out fire alarm tests every Wednesday morning at a particular time of day. Unfortunately there was a small issue which was rectified later that morning, but initially resulted in the alarm being prolonged. This was not planned as we would have informed guests, so the issue was dealt with as quietly and efficiently as possible.

I have informed the Head Housekeeper and her team of your comments as it was not brought to my attention at the time of your stay nor on check out.

I am sorry that your disappointment grew & grew & some of your comments are valid, but without informing us on during any time of your stay prevents us in improving your stay as not provided the opportunity.

During our peak season & when the hotel is at full occupancy, the demand for water can be higher; especially at this time of year & at particular popular times of day. Also we actively try to prevent issues within rooms, however it is difficult when combatting guests habits and unbeknown not understand that if they stay in our rooms and not open any windows and have the door open to the bathroom- this can have an affect which can encourage damp. We endeavour to ensure that all our rooms are aired and cleaned to a high standard.

Kind regards
Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

A very disappointing hotel we booked two rooms (no's 10 &17). There was no hot water to our shower in no10 and even if there was the shower hose was to short for me to get under. The sinks in both rooms were very small and in no10 you could not wash your face in the sink unless you stood side ways.
The rooms were poor as it looked like they had just had a quick paint but they were very dated and are no where near as luxuries as the web site has you believe. The TV's screen's were smaller than my lap top one of the rooms only had a hanging rail no wardrobe and if you required drinking water you had to fetch it from reception. The view from no17 was onto a flat roof surrounded by other parts of the hotel.
This is a classic case of the hotel charging what they can get away with rather than what the rooms are worth. If you complain they do give you a small discount but this hardly makes up for the disappointment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Hi there,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your rooms, which both have good size bathrooms for the room type in which you booked. The shower hoses are placed so it is flexible yet usable for both tall and shorter people.

It is a shame as when you reported you had no hot water coming out of the shower, yet perfectly fine hot water coming out of the bath taps- you declined our offer to investigate at the time and chose to use the shower in your friend’s room. We would of course have been happy to investigate at the time or my maintenance engineer could have looked straight away the next day, but you said you were happy with the discount and in a rush, which I appreciate and thus only could apologise at the time. Our deluxe rooms offer much larger bathrooms which you might have preferred.

We offer drinking water in reception as a preventative issue as some of our rooms are fed from tanks instead of the main feed, so I am sure you can appreciate we would rather you collected cold water from reception. Water from rooms is completely fine to boil and use for tea & coffee making, etc.

We do state that standard rooms offer views of the hotel grounds or gardens. I appreciate that the view isn't brilliant & I am working towards a way to improve, but we are restricted by the size and shape of the Edwardian building.

I thank you again for your feedback as it is helpful when making improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,773 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,042 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Ives
646 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy-An-Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £73 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing