We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Chy-An-Albany

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chy-An-Albany
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I recently stayed in Room 11- a double classic room for 2 nights. The room was a good size with a partial sea view and was clean and pleasantly decorated.
We have stayed at this hotel a couple of times before and were pleased to see that there have been some updating and improvements.
The breakfast was very nice and our 2 evening meals were outstanding.
Service was very good on the whole but the service at the bar turned out to be non existent one evening so my husband gave up!
The wi fi was working well throughout the hotel which I felt was a bonus. The only real issue could be the location- the steep walk up to the Hotel is not for the faint hearted!

Room Tip: Although we did not request it - our room did have a partial sea view which we felt was a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

466 - 472 of 965 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have just stayed for a week here to celebrate my daughter's graduation and 21st birthday and everything was perfect
The room was lovely and was very clean
The food was excellent
The views were amazing and location stunning
Lovely lounge for relaxing with drinks
By far the best part of the stay was the wonderful friendly staff who could not do enough for you
Thanks, will hopefully be back soon
Kathryn and Rachel

Room Tip: Ask the staff for the right room for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank WarringtonRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in single room.Room was nice,clean .Water was very hot and shower have not good pressure water.Very quiet hotel.Two car parks.Hotel is close to beach and centro town.
Very good value for money.I recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jan .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Staff were very friendly & helpful. Stayed in a single room (rm 21) for 2 nights - it was a bit small (esp for price), as was the shower room, but they were both very clean. Bed was very comfortable & had an excellent night's sleep. The hotel is a bit of a maze so I sometimes had trouble finding my room, esp after a couple of pints!
I had breakfast in my room, which was great - very nice & ample on the plate!
I arranged a slightly later checkout, but on the morning the fire alarm kept going off - felt I'd better 'get out'. It was probably just the weekly test so I wasn't too annoyed.
Chy-An-Albany is fairly close to the train station but it's a steep hill straight up to the hotel (walking the long way round is an easier gradient). Also fairly close to the town centre.
A minor issue I had often in the hotel was lack of mobile signal.
All in all enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed for two nights in two family rooms, one deluxe with a balcony (amazing views) and standard room.

Decors are quite dated, but we didn't really mind it too much as it gives the hotel that seaside feel to it.

Deluxe room was spacious, one queen size bed and two singles, seating area, balcony and ensuite bathroom.

Standard room had one queen size bed and a single bed, very small tv and bathroom but it was very quiet as it was located at the back of the hotel but we still had views of the sea.

Finding the hotel was easy by car and by foot, as very close to St Ives Station (approx. 10 mins walk). Parking was available on First come, first serve with spaces available at the front and back of the hotel.

Checking in was quick and straight forward, Julie is very helpful and friendly!

Bathroom shower in the standard room was not powerful but sufficed.
Breakfast was hearty! Selection of hot (eggs, bacon, sausages, mushrooms, tomatoes) and cold (cereals, fruits and yoghurts) buffet as well as cooked to order option all included in the nightly rate.

Location of the hotel is conveniently located close to the beach, path down to the beach took us approx. 5 minutes which is one to the best beaches we have been to in the UK. Clean, not crowded although the water was cold but golden sand and when the sun is out, it is quite nice to go for a swim!

Town centre approx. 15 minutes walk with lots of nice small shops which makes it quite a pleasant area to stroll at a leisurely pace.

Some noise can be heard between rooms, or door slamming but wasn't a big issue for us. Would definitely stay at Chy an albany again but would opt for the deluxe family room for the views!

Room Tip: Room 7 is a Deluxe Family room - definitely worth staying in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Mish77_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We booked into this hotel for 6 nights.
The room was very clean and tidy and well decorated.
The personal touch just seemed to be missing , we had a bed throw disappear from the room midway through our stay which I asked to be returned as I didn't want to get charged for it,why it was removed I don't know.
The breakfast was a buffet style which was quite good in fact and well looked after and replenished often.
House keeping we were concerned about as twice on our stay the bathroom floor wasn't cleaned.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chrislawrence1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia B, Manager at Chy-An-Albany, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Hi there, thank you for your review.
We strive to achieve a welcoming & friendly hotel for guests to relax during their holiday & so I am pleased that you enjoyed our breakfasts.
The throw will have been replenished with a fresh one I am sure if one was taken away by mistake. It will have been taken to laundry. Your comments have been passed to the Head Housekeeper as if the floor was missed; I am sure that it was not intentional so we thank you for bringing it to our and the staffs attention.
Kind regards, Julia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed for two nights at the last minute and found an older hotel with wonderful views and excellent food. Our room was a bit small and the shower didn't produce vast quantities of water, but overall it was a good experience. The room was clean and looked over their pretty garden which was a real treat, parking was easy, and a lift available to upper floors. The staff ensured our stay was comfortable and pleasant, and even in the busyness of breakfast, they still ensured we had our coffee topped up. We had dinner one night with a table overlooking the town and the bay (during a very spectacular storm!), and the food was excellent. A very enjoyable couple of days.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.1 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.8 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 20 in St Ives
1,000 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#10 of 20 in St Ives
374 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#4 of 20 in St Ives
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chy-An-Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chy-An-Albany

Address: Albany Terrace, St Ives TR26 2BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#5 Family Hotel in St Ives
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £68 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chy-An-Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Providing comfortable accommodation with every amenity you would expect from a luxury award winning AA 3 star rated Hotel in Cornwall. The Chy an Albany occupies a wonderfully elevated site with magnificent views overlooking Portminster beach and St Ives Bay in Cornwall.Only a short walk into town and with ample free off road car parking.The hotel provides an ideal base to explore St. Ives and its renowned Tate Gallery, as well as the quaint harbour side, cobbled streets and collection of beautiful beaches that have captivated artists and tourists for over a century. The hotel is also just a short walk from the train station at the bottom of the hill (approximately 3 minutes). The new 'Lighthouse Bistro' is an art-themed restaurant, showcasing a wide range of art from local artists. The gallery-style restaurant offers contemporary dining using the very freshest local vegetables and produce, fish straight from the sea and Cornish made cheeses alongside exotic foods and wines from around the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chy-An-Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chy-An-Albany Hotel St Ives
Chy-An-Albany St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing