We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of Pedn Olva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pedn Olva Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Wonderful hotel! The room was beautiful with amazing ocean and harbor views. The bar & restaurant were great for relaxing and again with stunning views. Breakfast was delicious, with lots of choice. We felt like we were on a cruise ship the whole time! We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacky s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    277
    90
    42
    29
See reviews for
176
531
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We have visited this hotel for extended holidays over a number of years and have always come away wanting to return the following year, in fact most years we have booked for next year before leaving, not this year!
The staff were excellent as usual but the lack of investment in the residents areas and preoccupation with non resident business is turning the hotel into a poor experience for residents paying over £170 per night. The view alone will not sell the place forever!
The carpet in our bedroom was filthy as the bottom of my socks will testify. Also stains everywhere. The balcony is promoted as a bonus for which you pay extra, it was dire and depressing.
Rusting safety screens, moss on the paving, weeds everywhere, rusty drainpipe and unfinished overhang for the cafe above. The staircase down to the bedrooms is in a very poor state of decoration.
Every other year we have seen the handyman busy about the site, painting and cleaning windows, but no evidence this year.
The preoccupation with non resident business is highlighted by the massive banner adorning the hotel above Porthminster beach, what an eyesore. The residents lounge is used by all and sundry, people buy a drink and hog the best seats on the terrace for hours on end.
The bar and residents lounge was not available during one night of our stay because of a rowdy birthday party, had to sit in the room with the ceiling shaking.
When I complained the duty manager said that the event had been booked for some time!!!
Beware as a resident you are taken for granted at this hotel.

Room Tip: Not room 34
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Our stay here was fantastic, the staff were exceptionaly warm and welcoming and took a genuine interest in us. The food was fabulous and there were plenty of comfortable locations around the hotel to kick back and enjoy the amazing views. Breakfast was well cooked there was a good range of options available, the healthy toppings to go with the muesli were particularly tasty. The Dinner menu offered lots of choice and was very good value.

Our room had breathtaking views, the bed was really comfortable and the shower was powerful. I will definately be back to this great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougal02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Just Come back from staying at this hotel, It was lovely, we had a big balcony that over looked Porthminster Beach, and to wake up to that every morning was fab!! Our room was a nice size but bathroom quite small. The staff were lovely and very helpful, and the breakfast was very nice, We ate at the hotel one evening the meal was ok but had much better meals in the town.Porthminster cafe and the loft, here the food was very special.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happycustomer45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

I love this hotel. I have stayed here 3 times in the last year when visiting my Dad in St Ives. As others have said, the views are amazing and every room has a sea view. The staff are lovely, the food to die for and I really don't know why people think it needs a makeover. My only criticism would be that the rooms are a bit small but extremely well appointed and immaculate. All round excellent.

Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank 187047Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Would recommend this hotel.We had the most amazing view from our room of the bay. Lovely staff and great value restaurant too.The only negative was that you could hear lots of noise from the next door rooms,luckily ours were quiet but could have been embarrassing if you had a honeymooning couple next door!would love to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vintage73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Had lovely night at pedn olva with a group of friends that get together once a month to try different restaurants. This time we decided to push the boat out and stay the night at our chosed destination and booked a total of 9 rooms. Mel dealt with the booking and was really helpful at dealing with the logistics of taking deposits and allocating parking where needed. ( we all phoned in separately to book). All of our rooms had views to die for and my husband and I awoke to the sound of the waves crashing against the rocks.....(in a bed that was way too comfortable) We all ate in the restaurant and the service was quick and efficient and the food was of a very high standard.
We were able to stay in the bar area as long as we wanted and the bar staff were very helpful and attentive..
Our bedroom was lovely with everything we needed and the best selection of tea and coffee making facilities I have ever come across. The bathroom was compact ! ! however the selection of complimentary cosmetics were very nice and more than made up for the lack of space. Breakfast on Sunday morning was quiet and relaxing and we were once again seated over looking the sea. The full cornish is highly recommended as were the kippers. Overall we all had a really lovely stay and all agreed that we would definately return. The only downside was that it was too chilly for a dip in the pool although the pool towels provided match my bathroom at home perfectly !!!

Room Tip: good views throughout. rooms under bar bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alonefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#6 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedn Olva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedn Olva Hotel

Property: Pedn Olva Hotel
Address: The Warren, St Ives TR26 2EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#7 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pedn Olva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pedn Olva, with the sea only thirty feet below and flanked by golden sands, is founded on blue-black granite rocks on the southern shores of St. Ives Harbour and Bay. Contemporary, romantic and breathtaking are but a few ways to describe the Pedn Olva, with its 29 distinctive bedrooms, restaurant, bar, terraces and outdoor heated swimming pool that make it an ideal stay for a getaway break, special meal or relaxing lunch. The plethora of windows facing the sea allows our guests to be as close as you can get to floating on the sea without leaving dry land. A safe haven for watching winter storms in front of a granite open fire, or seeing dolphins and seals playing in the bay from our sun drenched terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Pedn Olva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedn Olva St Ives
Pedn Olva Hotel St Ives, Cornwall
Hotel Pedn Olva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing