We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!”
Review of Pedn Olva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pedn Olva Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

Stayed at this hotel many time through my childhood up through to adulthood.
Staff are very friendly and nothing is a problem. The rooms and communcal areas are just what you expect. Cared for and tidy, whether its coffee or something stronger its a place you must visit whether its to pop in for refreshments or to stay.
The view across the bay to St Ives harbour, St Nicholas Chapel is fabulous and through the seasons the views change but whether is sunny, snowing or a storm the views are to die for.

Each room has its own style and its isnt a huge establishment so you feel very welcomed and personal. If you stay, you wont be disappointed.

Although the hotel has the views and is based high up you still can walk without much trouble from town level however it is close to the car park, station and bus station so anyone should just visit!!!

Have never had a problem in all the years of visiting, thats either sheer luck or just because The Pedn Olva is simply wonderful!!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a sea view. No matter which you get you will be able to see but the higher you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueC0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    289
    95
    45
    30
See reviews for
185
562
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Did not stay there but drunk coffee there everyday, the staff were friendly, polite and nothing seemed to much trouble, the location is wonderfull and the terraces have views to die for.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Staying at a hotel you've only ever admired from the outside is always going to be a risk, but i found from the moment we arrived to the second we checked out, that the Pedn Olva was everything i expected and hoped for.
The location is very special so the wonderful views are a constant delight. The staff were attentive, friendly, and helpful in all the right ways. The rooms are very clean and nicely furnished and the food was of an excellent standard and beautifully presented. I enjoyed the friendliness of this small hotel and with so many other rooms to try, each with it's own unique style and view, i can't wait to book another stay.

Room Tip: All have sea views, you cant go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

If you are looking for a romantic break you won't go far wrong at the Pedn Olva. The rooms all have fantastic views of St Ives Bay and when the wind blows (as it ofter does here!) you will be drifting off to sleep to the song of the waves crashing over the rocks below.
I can't get enough of this place and can't wait to return.
Staff are friendly, Location A1 and the food good.
We had a minor complaint about the steak (a bit tuff) which was delt with very professionaly by the staff to our total satisfaction - well done Pedn Olva.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveH2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fowey
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

we returned to the pedn olva for our annual visit.
Everything met the usual high standard that we have got used to at the hotel.
the main observation this year was how friendly and welcoming the staff were. Every one had a smile and a friendly approach.
we look forward to our return next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beamishFowey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed at the Pedn Olva Hotel over the August Bank Holiday and found the hotel ideally situated for the town.

We had paid extra for a balcony (working out at a £186 per night) but were very dissapointed with the outside space for our room.
The patio did not seem as though it had been cleaned for years and there were signs of rubbish around the edge. I felt the glass screen could have been cleaned before we arrived and the cheap plastic table (which had ring marks from the previous occupiers), did not make me want to spend much time sitting outside.
Apart from that the room was lovely and very clean.
Shower and toilet seemed to be in a cupboard and the sink was in the bedroom but both were clean with the extras etc.
Hotel staff were all very pleasant and the breakfast was superb with a lovely selection which was freshly cooked for you.
We dined one night in the hotel and found this very reasonable.
Would we come back Yes. Would we pay extra for a balcony No.

Room Tip: Not worth the extra for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidney2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Wonderful hotel! The room was beautiful with amazing ocean and harbor views. The bar & restaurant were great for relaxing and again with stunning views. Breakfast was delicious, with lots of choice. We felt like we were on a cruise ship the whole time! We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacky s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,633 reviews
1.0 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
934 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedn Olva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedn Olva Hotel

Property: Pedn Olva Hotel
Address: The Warren, St Ives TR26 2EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#7 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pedn Olva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pedn Olva, with the sea only thirty feet below and flanked by golden sands, is founded on blue-black granite rocks on the southern shores of St. Ives Harbour and Bay. Contemporary, romantic and breathtaking are but a few ways to describe the Pedn Olva, with its 29 distinctive bedrooms, restaurant, bar, terraces and outdoor heated swimming pool that make it an ideal stay for a getaway break, special meal or relaxing lunch. The plethora of windows facing the sea allows our guests to be as close as you can get to floating on the sea without leaving dry land. A safe haven for watching winter storms in front of a granite open fire, or seeing dolphins and seals playing in the bay from our sun drenched terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Pedn Olva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedn Olva St Ives
Pedn Olva Hotel St Ives, Cornwall
Hotel Pedn Olva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing