We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”
Review of Pedn Olva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pedn Olva Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Wow the room, small but with balcony overlooking the bay, and all you need so FANTASTIC. Right in the middle of St Ives so if you are arty farty it is definitely for you, or if you are just a surfer, the beach Is 2 minutes away. Breakfast was Really good try the haddock, while watching them catch it in the bay.....

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margeo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Duty Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Many thanks for your recent review- we really appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your experiences and pleased you enjoyed you stay with us, and were lucky enough to take in the spectacular views that we have to offer. It is always nice to receive feedback from our guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Kind Regards, Steve Perkin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

717 - 723 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

This hotel is situated in the best spot in St Ives with wonderful views in every direction. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the food is excellent. Cannot fault anything about this hotel. My stay was only brief but if I ever go back this is where I shall stay.

Room Tip: I think all rooms probably have a sea view. I had a single room and the view was spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roseyash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Duty Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for your review, it is always pleasing to receive positive comments regarding our customer service and food offering. We are pleased you managed to enjoy the “spectacular” views that your single cabin room had to offer and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Spectacular views from the restaurant , lunch menu has good variety

Food was quick to arrive and was presented very well, tasted delicious

Well worth the trip to st ives although the weather could have been better

Not over priced

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiffy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Duty Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Many thanks for your feedback following your recent visit to the Pedn Olva. It is always pleasing to receive positive comments regarding our menu and food offering, we are so pleased you enjoyed you stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Steve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We stayed at the Pedn Olva on company business for two nights, the location right by the sea and easy walking distance to the harbour is excellent. All the public areas, including the bar, restaurant and outside terraces have great views of either St Ives harbour or the Porthminster beach. The food both in the restaurant and the bar is first class, the are staff friendly and polite.
The only issue we had was that our room was incredibly small, in fact we had to think about where the bathroom was, turned out to be in what we thought was the wardrobe, in fact it wasn't much bigger than a wardrobe. However the views from our window across to Porthminster beach were stunning, and more than made up for the room size.
Car parking can be a problem, not sure where the hotel car park was, but it was always full, which meant paying over £6 in the public car park.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a view, but check the size before booking as some are incredibly small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Duty Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Many thanks for your review following your recent stay with us. We are pleased that we managed to accommodate you while on business and that you had time to absorb the great views that we have to offer. It is always pleasing to receive positive comments regarding our customer service and food offering.

As I’m sure you can appreciate due to the structural layout of the Pedn Olva, some rooms are smaller than others due to the fact we are built on the site of the Old Wheal Providence copper mine. Being a hotel lucky enough to be near the station car park, we have a limited number of reserved parking bays with an additional daily charge on top of the price of your accommodation. Overall we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kind Regards, Steve Perkin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Again wonderful location to be able to sit in the bar/lounge and have a meal and look our over St Ives bay. It took us by surprise as we thought the GP could not use this hotel and its facilities. The waitresses were not the friendliest but the food made up for it.
Now to try the hotel as it looks good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barnwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I cannot fault the location. The views over the Harbour are simply the best.

We booked the Suite for a few nights in August. We have been to St Ives very many times and more than once already this year. Usually we rent a cottage but we wanted a nice three nights away and this seemingly fit the bill.

The Suite is not cheap - £250+ per night. The room itself was lovely, not only the views out of the windows that ran the length of the room but the bath, the bedding and the fact that it was quiet (apart from the standard seagulls of course!)

But the room is just out of keeping with the rest of the Hotel: Pedn Olva actively encourages non-residents to come into the Hotel but has no Residents Only areas. The toilets are treated as public conveniences by families to and from the beach, with some waiting outside and others with sandy gear in the toilets areas, whilst residents queue to enter. The bar, dining and terrace areas are often packed with non-residents, sometimes not even bothering to order on the terrace; and even the pool area had non-residents.

The staircase to the terrace goes outside the Suite door. Entry to and from the room was like getting the Tube on occasions. And a glass of beer was spilt outside or room on the first day and the stain was still there when we visited the terrace (for the sole purpose of checking the stain!) two weeks later.

Decent food. Willing staff. But the Suite is given to anyone who books a room when they're full and I suspect that the fact that we pre-ordered the Suite at the rack rate in advance was almost unique. Decent place, nice Suite but very much overpriced for this Hotel. It's a shame because we very much wanted to rave about the place but we felt slightly cheated out of the experience we had expected.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedRoseWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We were taken by our friends in Cornwall for a meal here. Our table perfectly positioned overlooking the wonderful West Porthminster Beach in St Ives bay with clear blue sea, the sun was shining, the beer cold and the company great!

The food was good, not fine dining but a great attention to detail in taste and presentation. Prices fair and lots of choice. I have given this place a four based on the position/location and I would give the food a high three. The burger had a lovely char grilled taste and all served in a fresh seeded bun with salad. Well presented and the meat of high quality.

However the view from our table was absloutely breathtaking! It makes you realise why Cornwall is a firm favourite with Brits and foreign holiday makers. Miles and miles of beautiful sandy beach and the coastline peppered with pubs, restaurants, cafes and hotels allowing us all to reap the benefits of what nature gave them.

I plan to go to this restaurant again next time I am in Cornwall. I want to go with the same friends, have the same table, the same food, another cold beer and of course the same blazing sunshine! A lovely time I want to repeat!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Just_a_Giraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
1.0 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 20 in St Ives
965 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#4 of 20 in St Ives
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedn Olva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedn Olva Hotel

Address: The Warren, St Ives TR26 2EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#7 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £119 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pedn Olva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pedn Olva, with the sea only thirty feet below and flanked by golden sands, is founded on blue-black granite rocks on the southern shores of St. Ives Harbour and Bay. Contemporary, romantic and breathtaking are but a few ways to describe the Pedn Olva, with its 30 distinctive bedrooms, restaurant, bar, terraces and outdoor heated swimming pool that make it an ideal stay for a getaway break, special meal or relaxing lunch. The plethora of windows facing the sea allows our guests to be as close as you can get to floating on the sea without leaving dry land. A safe haven for watching winter storms in front of a granite open fire, or seeing dolphins and seals playing in the bay from our sun drenched terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Pedn Olva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedn Olva St Ives
Pedn Olva Hotel St Ives, Cornwall
Hotel Pedn Olva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing