We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn’t go anywhere else …..”
Review of Pedn Olva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pedn Olva Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wouldn’t go anywhere else …..”
Reviewed 19 July 2008

This was our 4th holiday in St Ives in recent years and we only chose this hotel to help my 72 year old mother have level access to the beach, but after staying here recently we now wouldn’t go anywhere else.

The staff were friendly and efficient, but in a relaxed calm way and not forced. We had a deluxe room with balcony overlooking Porthminster Beach and although the room was fairly small the view and room facilities made up for this. We here a little concerned about the booking a “standard single” room for Mum but again, although small, it had a fantastic panoramic view of the harbour.

All public areas were spotlessly clean and had the added advantage of a panoramic view of the harbour to the Porthminster Beach. Breakfast selections were excellent as were the leisurely bar lunches after sunbathing was rained off. Our only possible gripe with this hotel, and something that we seem to find more often these days, is that dinner vegetables are not included in the price of the meal and the additions that we did pay for were very skimpy.

The next time we go to St Ives we will be booking this hotel.

  • Liked — Location, views, staff
  • Disliked — 3 baby carrots and a table spoon of spinach for £2.50!!!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeenHolidayFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    282
    93
    43
    29
See reviews for
181
543
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taunton Somerset
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2007

My husband and I stayed in the Pedn-olva on recommendation of a colleague. A St Ives hotel with a beach location sounded fab so we went for it. I didn't think we'd got a good price at in excess of £150 per night. When we got to the room I knew this was the case. The view over the sea and harbour was to die for, but otherwise the room was very disappointing. It was small and dated, there were few power points, little space for coffee making and the TV was tiny. The on-suite was again very small with a very noisy shower only.

On an up note, the lounge and restaurant areas were much smarter and spacious. We had breakfast only which was above normal standard. The location is very central for the town and the train station is very close by. We did resent being charged further for parking, but then parking is at a premium in St Ives.

Would I stay again, no not worth the money despite the location.

  • Liked — The sea views
  • Disliked — The bedrooms, too small and dated.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank PerfectPammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2007

A fantastic hotel. The location and views are as good as anything anywhere (make sure you pay the extra charge for a clifftop room - it is worth it!), and the hotel is a lovely, relaxing place to stay. The staff are all exceptionally friendly and helpful, the food is excellent (a good tip is to book dinner bed and breakfast, as the restaurant is not cheap, but booking this in advance makes it better value).

Admittedly the rooms aren't huge and are looking a little in need of refurbishment, but they are more than good enough, and the location, food, and staff more than make up for any little niggles.

Another tip is to make sure you ask for a reserved parking space when booking, it is worth paying for as St Ives is not easy to park in!

  • Liked — views & staff
  • Disliked — room size
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reynedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2007

We have just returned from a three night stay at this hotel and what a wonderful time we had too!! We had a lovely room with a balcony with full ocean views, we awoke every morning to the sound of the waves and beautiful sunrises.
The hotel staff were so helpful (especially Nicky on reception) as we had our five month old daughter with us, it was no trouble to them to often help us with the pram or sterilize her bottles in the microwave.
The breakfasts were amazing, better than most five star hotels that we have stayed in around the world.
We would definately recommend this hotel, it has the best location, views and food in St Ives. We are planning our next trip to stay here in the spring.

The well rested Nicksons from the Wirral x

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Rache_Nickson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2007

Lovely Hotel - EXCELLANT STAFF - they could not do enough for you in order to make your stay pleasent. Very Very Acoomodating and ina genuine sort of way - not overdone. Nice breakfast in a perfect setting. You feel as if all of St. Ives harbour is at your doorstep. I would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel and St. Ives as a destination.

Norm Klapper
Boulder, Colorado
nklapper@aol.com

  • Liked — Staff Service, Views
  • Disliked — Access is difficult
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank streetdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2007

We have stayed in this unique hotel many times now. The position is right at the sea's edge, overlooking the beach and harbour. The staff are really friendly, the food is superb, it really is one of our very favourite places. St Ives itself is a magical place too and you will allways want to go back again and again.

You will need to book well in advance though.
Also its best to book a car parking place at the time of booking.

  • Liked — the position
  • Disliked — Parking is up steps in public car park but with reserved spaces
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank weelerdealer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester.england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2007

this hotel has one of the best locations in st ives. where else can you eat an excellent breakfast watching fishing boats at work just 200 metres away, gannets diving ,sun streaming in through the windows. where else could you sleep with the relaxing white noise of the sea.
our room had a view of porthminster beach from the bedroom and a view of the harbour from the bathroom. it was clean bright and contemporary. the staff were helpful and obliging and friendly.
the pedn-olva is an easy stroll away from the town and its attractions. we would stay there again. it is not cheap but well worth the price in our opinion.
our trip was booked on the spur of the moment and this hotel helped to make visiting cornwall and st ives a most enjoyable experience.

  • Liked — location, views,comprehensive breakfast,peaceful nights sleep, sound of the sea
  • Disliked — our visit wasn't long enough!
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lj1202000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,618 reviews
1.0 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
923 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedn Olva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedn Olva Hotel

Property: Pedn Olva Hotel
Address: The Warren, St Ives TR26 2EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#7 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pedn Olva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pedn Olva, with the sea only thirty feet below and flanked by golden sands, is founded on blue-black granite rocks on the southern shores of St. Ives Harbour and Bay. Contemporary, romantic and breathtaking are but a few ways to describe the Pedn Olva, with its 29 distinctive bedrooms, restaurant, bar, terraces and outdoor heated swimming pool that make it an ideal stay for a getaway break, special meal or relaxing lunch. The plethora of windows facing the sea allows our guests to be as close as you can get to floating on the sea without leaving dry land. A safe haven for watching winter storms in front of a granite open fire, or seeing dolphins and seals playing in the bay from our sun drenched terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Pedn Olva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedn Olva St Ives
Pedn Olva Hotel St Ives, Cornwall
Hotel Pedn Olva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing