We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel really punches above its weight”
Review of Pedn Olva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pedn Olva Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Just back from a long weekend at this superb hotel with what must be some of the best views anywhere.
All the staff are first class, really friendly and very helpful - Michael the waiter is an absolute gem, never stops smiling!
Hotel is nicely contemporary in its decor and we stayed in a beautifully decorated room with incredible views of the harbour and out to sea. Same views in the restaurant/bar, where we watched seals while having breakfast.
Quality of the food is first class and scallops and brill at dinner were cooked to perfection and very well presented - I've paid double what it cost at alleged top end restaurants and it hasn't been half as good. We didn't even bother exploring other restaurants in St Ives, we ate in both nights. Whoever their chef is, they're a real find.
If you're looking for a superb value, relaxing break in a very stylish, warm and friendly hotel with charming staff, this is the place to head for.

Room Tip: Ask for room 35, it's the best suite and well worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Many thanks for the review, we appreciate the time you've taken to share your experience. We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take in the views of St Ives Harbour and Porthminster Beach. Our team work hard to ensure that guests receive a great experience, and first class customer service, so It is always nice to receive positive feedback. Please be assured your comments will be passed onto the department teams. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Pedn Olva
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,002)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

681 - 687 of 1,002 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for a few days break in the Autumn. We really wanted a room with a balcony but none were available so we were given a 'cabin' which was q cosy with a compact shower room and a large picture window overlooking the harbour with amazing views to wake up to every morning. Breakfast & dinner in the restaurant overlooking Porthminster beach were always excellent with some delicious specials on the menu every day. The hotel 's location, with fantastic views, helpful, friendly staff & the three course dinners in the evening made it a memorable stay in St Ives.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherrybeeIlkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Many thanks for the review, following you recent stay. Were pleased that you were able to enjoy the amazing views that we have to offer of St Ives Harbour. It is always pleasing to hear positive comments regarding our customer service and the selection of food we offer. We will pass your comments onto the team, and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Pedn Olva
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We have just had a really good romantic weekend break at the Pedn Olva hotel,
Lovely room (No35) with a great sea view, even a great view while sitting in the luxury bath!!!! (The big bath did take a while to fill, and there is no separate shower.)
The food was lovely and the staff polite and helpful.
If only all hotels were the same.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for your review- we really appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your experience. We’re pleased you were able to enjoy a romantic weekend with us at the Pedn Olva in our recently refurbished State room. Please be assured all comments are discussed by us as a team and acted upon accordingly. It is always pleasing to receive such positive comments regarding our customer service and food, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Regards
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I've stayed here a few times but this latest weekend was the best. You couldn't ask for better service anywhere - reception staff, breakfast service and bar staff were all fantastic. Nothing was too much bother.
The selection at breakfast is great with a buffet style choice of cereals, fruits, yoghurts and pastries/cakes. The vegetarian cooked breakfast has Quorn sausages which was a winner with my partner.
We tried the food from the bar snacks menu one evening - good food at good value.
I wouldn't stay anywhere else now. It's an easy walk into town and the train station is almost next door.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 00Bev00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us. Every member of our team works extremely hard to ensure that all our guests receive the best customer service at all times, so it is always pleasing to have such positive feedback from our guests. We will pass your comments onto the whole team. We’re so pleased you enjoyed your most recent visit to us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Regards
Pedn Olva, Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We love St Ives and we found out about a super deal on Bookings.com (half price!). A fabulous room, with incredible view directly over the sea. The staff are friendly and unfailingly helpful and there is an excellent choice of brekkies, full English, full veggie English, cereal, range of fruit, cereal and yoghurt, smoked salmon, smoked haddock, eggs Benedict/florentine. Not that I'm obsessed. The bar's great with incredible views,I could have stayed and stayed... Oh, and it's right next to the station which connects with the London Paddington to Penzance line so straight off the train, drop off the bags and have a pint of Cornish Korev lager or Rattler cider. Very, very nice and very good value.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Pippa089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience at the Pedn Olva. We are lucky enough to be situated to give both our guests and patrons spectacular views of Porthminster Beach & St Ives Harbour. It is always pleasing to receive positive comments regarding our customer service and our selection of breakfast on offer. We’re so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Pedn Olva, Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel itself is warm and comfortably lit. The bar is comfortable and comprehensive. Bar snacks are fast, good value, tasty and well presented. The hotel restaurant offers a fair range of food and does not disappoint in terms of quality or value. Other restaurants in St Ives can offer a higher level of excellence, however. Location is fabulous for a short break, so if you're in doubt l'd advise you to book anyway - you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Views from balcony rooms overlooking the harbour and bay are wonderful and well worth paying a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. We appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your experiences. It is always pleasing to receive positive comments regarding our customer service and food. We’re pleased you were able to take advantage of the wonderful views we have to offer of St Ives and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Room 10
January 15th

Good check in. Room 10 is a single. The shape of the room is such that the bed is next to the door - light leaks under the door but I managed to plug the light with towels.

Tea and coffee facilities - small tv and shower no bath.
I found it hard to get much heat from the heater which I had on max. I suggest this needs checking?

Breakfast was great - very good in quantity and quality.

The lounge was quite a nice place to sit in for the evening.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank expectant customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your experience. Please be assured that all your comments are discussed by us a team and acted upon accordingly. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 20 in St Ives
2,714 reviews
1.0 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 20 in St Ives
966 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 20 in St Ives
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedn Olva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedn Olva Hotel

Address: The Warren, St Ives TR26 2EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#7 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £119 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pedn Olva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pedn Olva, with the sea only thirty feet below and flanked by golden sands, is founded on blue-black granite rocks on the southern shores of St. Ives Harbour and Bay. Contemporary, romantic and breathtaking are but a few ways to describe the Pedn Olva, with its 30 distinctive bedrooms, restaurant, bar, terraces and outdoor heated swimming pool that make it an ideal stay for a getaway break, special meal or relaxing lunch. The plethora of windows facing the sea allows our guests to be as close as you can get to floating on the sea without leaving dry land. A safe haven for watching winter storms in front of a granite open fire, or seeing dolphins and seals playing in the bay from our sun drenched terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Pedn Olva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedn Olva St Ives
Pedn Olva Hotel St Ives, Cornwall
Hotel Pedn Olva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing