We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably Britain's best view”
Review of Pedn Olva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pedn Olva Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Probably Britain's best view”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

It is a sad fact that despite being well travelled we had never been to St Ives before last week! Our family had taken a house for eight higher in the Town and suggested that the Pedn Olva would be better for us as my wife has slight mobility problems.
Built on the side of a cliff the Hotel has obviously grown over the years to cope with the terrain as everywhere has to be accessed by stairs!
Our room was described as a deluxe cabin and was of reasonable size with a little sitting area overlooking the sea and a door leading to a shared balcony. We were lucky with the weather so were able to walk into the town and also spend some time on Porthminster beach.
The Pedn Olva is not cheap but neither is it outrageously expensive. Drinks and bar meals are good value. The restaurant offers quite imaginitive meals and service is friendly if not particularly consistent.
Parking can be a problem so I would recommend pre booking a space which costs £8.00 per day and is on the council car park a short walk away?
Overall a good Hotel which could do with some minor attention to detail to make it great!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank peterdpps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Many thanks for your review- we really appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your experiences. Were pleased that you enjoyed you room and the weather was good giving you the opportunity to take advantage of spending some time on the beach. As I’m sure you can appreciate, some of our rooms are more spacious than others, please do not hesitate to contact our reception team, should you be in St Ives and need somewhere to stay in the future. We’re pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back the Pedn Olva in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    289
    95
    45
    30
See reviews for
185
562
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We holiday in St Ives twice a year and it is a very special place. We recently stayed for 9 days and had a lovely blessing at the catholic church for our 25th Wedding anniversary with our family and friends. As a surprise I booked me and my husband in the pedn Ovla for our final weekend celebration. It has always been our favorite place to go and relax and have a drink. When we arrived we were nicely welcomed. Our room was small and the curtains were hanging untidily due to missing hooks. The room was drafty due to a window that would not close properly. The reception desk was also poorly attended which meant some standing around waiting to hand your key in. Overall the breakfast and bar meal were nice. I do feel it was pricey and the view was probably the wow factor not the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Many thanks for your review following your recent stay with us; we appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience. We are pleased that you have enjoyed several visits to us before. We appreciate the points that you have raised regarding the windows and we have recently invested in the replacement of many of them. Thank you for bringing your points to our attention, as I’m sure you can appreciate we like to give every guest the same experience, showing them to their rooms personally. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed for 2 nights and could not find fault with it .Food excellent,The view from the room was
stunning and worth the stay on its own. The staff were friendly and could not be more helpful.
The room was spotless and bright,Good value for the money. Overall the stay was as good as anywhere we have stayed before and we would certainly recommend it to anybody.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your review, following your recent stay with us. We’re pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to take advantage of the views we have to offer of St Ives Harbour and the West Cornwall coastline. We appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness of our rooms and our customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

I loved visiting St Ives recently. We went here every day for drinks and such. Lovely staff, amazing atmosphere and the views - wow! They have a good selection of local beers and a very impressive wine list. We didn't try the food although it looked amazing. Would definatly recommended to anyone without question!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shaun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Many thanks for your review, we really appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences. We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your visit to us. Receiving great service and being able to take in the views we have to offer of St Ives Harbour and the Cornwall coastline and we’re able to sample the extensive selection of local beer and wine that we have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We had great hopes for the restaurant. Unfortunately, we were very disappointed. From the supposed broccoli soup, that was not much more than unseasoned pea soup, to the snobby attitude of the bartender and waiter this was a mediocre experience. True, it has a great view, but there are better restaurants in St. Ives. Don't waist your time here.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jrlcnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for the review, we appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences. We have invested a lot of time in our “Brewing a Passion” customer service programme and the development of both our bar and daily changing evening dinner menu. We’re sorry to hear that you had such a negative experience on your recent visit and that it was not to the perceived standards that you expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

enjoyed a 4 night stay here on an offer t include inner on the 1st night (we had this twice as we booked 2 x two-night packages). Food was excellent and the views were to die for. Te balcony room we stayed in (room 29) was a little on the small side - but was clean comfortable and despite work going on outside replacing some of the windows - it certainly didn't disappoint. All staff were friendly and helpful. The food choice was good and the drinks including coffee were excellent.

Room Tip: try and get harbour side as for me its the best side. views over porthminster however on the other s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darrengreenhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for your review, following your recent stay with us. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences. We’re pleased to hear that your meal was excellent, and that you were able to take advantage of the views we have to offer. Thank you for your comments, as I’m sure you can appreciate due to our location some rooms are larger than others. If you’re looking to stay with us when you’re next in St Ives, please don’t hesitate to ring our reservations team who can provide more details of our slightly larger rooms. We have invested a lot of time in our “Brewing a Passion” customer service training programme, so it is always nice to receive positive comments from our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We had stayed at the Pedn Olva previously on quite a few occasions, but stopped, when on arrival with my wives elderly parents, having booked a long weekend five months earlier, and driven 300 m, we were informed that there would be a wedding taking place on the Saturday. There had been no attempt to contact us, and as the Pedn Olva has only one main area it doesn't take much imagination to see how this event spoiled the weekend for all of us.
This took place ten years ago and we vowed we would never stay there again.

I'm glad to say that we gave it another chance last weekend, 21st March- 24th, 2014, and stayed in a room overlooking the harbour, 30. The hotel is back to the standard it used to be, with efficient, friendly staff, and everywhere spotlessly clean. We have some favourite restaurants in St. Ives and had already booked to eat out on the first two nights of our stay; however we had our evening meal on the Sunday in the hotel and can only say that we both thoroughly enjoyed everything we had and the fine service that was given to us. We had already been impressed with the morning breakfast from the very first day. Fresh fruit, assortment of serials and breads, and traditional English in every combination was readily available.
Even the biggest appetite would be set up for the day.
The biggest selling point of the Pedn Olva is it's location, and I think that on occasions in the past they have lent to heavily on this. They are now back to the high standard of customer care that made us go there many times in the past, and we look forward to visiting them again in the near future. I can highly recommend this hotel and it's staff to anyone visiting St. Ives

Room Tip: I think all rooms have sea views one way or another. Best to check when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndianSummer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Many thanks for your review, following your recent stay with us. We’re pleased you decided to give us a second chance and were able to take advantage of the lovely views we have to offer of St Ives Harbour and the Cornwall coastline. We over the years invested a lot of time in our customer service and the development of our menus, so it is always pleasing to receive positive comments from our guests. Thank you for your comments regarding breakfast, we like to provide a variety of choices to cater for all our guests. We are so pleased that you gave us a second chance and that our service is back to the standard that you first experienced when visiting us all those years ago. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva very soon.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,633 reviews
1.0 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
249 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
617 reviews
1.2 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedn Olva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedn Olva Hotel

Property: Pedn Olva Hotel
Address: The Warren, St Ives TR26 2EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#7 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pedn Olva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pedn Olva, with the sea only thirty feet below and flanked by golden sands, is founded on blue-black granite rocks on the southern shores of St. Ives Harbour and Bay. Contemporary, romantic and breathtaking are but a few ways to describe the Pedn Olva, with its 29 distinctive bedrooms, restaurant, bar, terraces and outdoor heated swimming pool that make it an ideal stay for a getaway break, special meal or relaxing lunch. The plethora of windows facing the sea allows our guests to be as close as you can get to floating on the sea without leaving dry land. A safe haven for watching winter storms in front of a granite open fire, or seeing dolphins and seals playing in the bay from our sun drenched terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Pedn Olva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedn Olva St Ives
Pedn Olva Hotel St Ives, Cornwall
Hotel Pedn Olva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing