We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Went for Dinner”
Review of Pedn Olva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pedn Olva Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Went for Dinner”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Went for dinner on Saturday,Had the 8oz steak with chips,onion rings and salad.Would
Like to say good value for 15 pounds.Well done to the kitchen ,the food was well
Cooked and well presented,really did enjoy it.Would like to have a small moan about
The dessert menue,I'm not a fan of chocolate or ice cream,Apple pie or a crumble,or
Cheese cake would have tempted me to have one.Well done to the staff in the bar
Dinning area(as I had the dog) very polite,helpfull and friendly.Would like to say a tip
Jar on the bar would be helpfull as I didn't like being asked for a tip when I ordered and
Paid by credit card at the the bar before getting the food,I like to tip at the end.
Will be back next Saturday look forward to it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your experiences. We are glad you enjoyed your dining experience with us and will pass your comments onto our kitchen team. Thank you for your comments regarding our dessert menu, our desserts change daily and we always have a selection of alternative desserts available from the bar menu including (Belgian Waffles, fresh fruit salad or cheeseboard) available.
We have invested a lot of time in our customer service, so it is always pleasing to receive positive comments from our customers. As im sure you can appreciate due to our location we can be busy; so having a “open” jar/container on the bar for tips would not be practicable; however we do provide a secure money tin at the bar for guests/ customers to donate tips.
If you are paying by credit/ debit card you can ask our staff to set you up a tab (requiring a swipe of you card, and an authorisation signature) this will then allow you to choose whether to add a tip and the end of your meal when you pay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    277
    90
    42
    29
See reviews for
177
531
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berks
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Yes this hotel must have one of the best locations/views in the country, but that is all that is remarkable about it.
For a start this hotel does not have its own parking but can offer a reserved space in a public car park several minutes walk away. Fair enough given the layout of St Ives but they expect you to pay an extra £8 per night for this. Now when I have paid £140 per night for the room I do not expect to be charged for parking my car. It would help if this was mentioned on their website but of course it is not and you only find out once you are there and have no option but to pay.
Our room (no28) was nicely decorated and had the fantastic view. It also had quite the smallest double bed I have ever seen. OK for young honeymooners but not for those of us more roundly built. A nice touch in the bathroom was a magnifying shaving mirror. Pity therefore that the lighting was so poor I could not see to shave in it. Ditto the bedside lights which were so dim it was necessary to leave the main light on if one wished to read.
On to the public areas which are described as contemporary for which read bland, noisy and uncomfortable. Breakfast was OK but not exceptional, on two consecutive mornings I had to request the waiter replace the tea cup provided because it was stained. Staff friendly enough.
However unless you want to sit in your room all day looking at the view, stay elsewhere, there is both better value and far better ambiance within a mile or two of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jupiter24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for the review, we appreciate the time you’ve taking to share your experiences. As I’m sure you can appreciate due to our unique location, it is not possible for us to provide parking for our guests; this is why we rent reserved parking bays from the local authority to provide our guests with parking while they are staying.
These are charged at an additional £8.00 per day as an optional extra; the benefit is that our guests do not have to keep feeding the parking meters with change and there spaces are empty should they choose to go out for the day. All information regarding our parking facilities is included in the terms and conditions section of our website, and reiterated to our guests in their confirmation.
If you are looking to stay in the area again, please feel free to give our reception team a call or alternatively send us an e-mail and we can provide details of slightly larger rooms. We appreciate the comments that you have raised regarding the lighting in our rooms; however to be environmentally friendly as possible; this requires us to use low-energy efficient lighting.
We’re sorry to hear that you feel our public areas are noisy and uncomfortable; although as an alternative to these we do provide a residents only area by our swimming pool. Once again we appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Quaint hotel with great customer service and a beautiful view from the room. Had a lovely fillet meal in the restaurant with views over the sea and it is quite nice to have drinks on the top terrace. It's a bit quirky to get to and there are steep steps down to the hotel entrance for anyone who may have issues. Also, you can either book parking with the hotel, or stay in the long stay car park which is right next to it for about £6 and change for 24 hours.
We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aberglais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We are pleased you were able to take in the unique views that we have to offer of St Ives. We have invested a lot of time in our customer service, so it is always pleasing to receive such positive comments from our guests. We’re pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Pedn Olva
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have just spent four days at the Pedn Olva following a very stressful year. I came down for a complete rest and that is exactly what I got. My welcome by staff was warm and friendly. My room was clean and very comfortable and well stocked every day with tea and coffee. Food, and I ate in the bar every night, was delicious, fresh and well presented. All the staff I encountered were helpful and friendly and could not do enough to make my stay a relaxing one. The views, well that goes without saying, what more could you want. I have stayed at this hotel many times and each time has been a delight. I agree that some rooms are a little small, although the ones by the pool are definitely fine for two, and, of course, the steps but then there is little that can be done about them as it is the character and style of the property. I am sadly disabled now but will continue to stay as long as my legs will allow.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool are very night though there are a lot of steps, however, there is a patio with rem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laughtonrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Many thanks for the review, following your most recent stay with us. We have invested a lot of time in our customer service, so it is always pleasing to receive positive comments from our guests. Our Housekeeper and her team, try to provide all the comforts that we think guests may require during their stay. It is always pleasing to receive positive comments regarding our food, whether bar, restaurant or breakfast. We really appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva in the near future. We pleased that you were able to enjoy the views that we have to offer of St Ives and the west-Cornwall coastline.

Pedn Olva
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, West Midlands
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We got married at this hotel in 2008 and although we haven't stayed here since then, we often pop in for drinks when we're in St Ives. We visited yesterday for a quick drink but ended up enjoying the roof terrace for a good few hours.

The wine selection is good and there are decent Cornish beers and ciders here. The food is great too so even if you can't afford to stay here it's a perfect place for food and drink or a sunny afternoon on the roof!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MsTrinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Many thanks for your review following your most recent visit to the Pedn Olva- we appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your experiences. We’re pleased you were able to enjoy using our roof terrace area; this is the perfect spot, with great views of St Ives for relaxing on a sunny day for a few drinks. Were pleased you enjoyed our selection of wine, local beers and ciders available. We appreciate your comments regarding our menu choices; we look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva very soon.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
412 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Lovely hotel in a great position. Hotels in England don't always have the bed size listed on their website so it is a bit of guessing game. We ended up with a double bed which was very uncomfortable but we absolutely loved the hotel. The view was fabulous as was the breakfast.
Next time we are in this part of the world we will book ahead for a more comfortable room and
stay much longer. Reception staff and restaurant staff were wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1954Elizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your stay at the Pedn Olva. We’re sorry to hear that the bed was not to your liking, we have replaced all our beds with VI-spring beds consisting of sprung mattresses and bases to provide our guests with a pleasant night’s sleep. We’re glad you were able to take advantage of the fabulous views that we have to offer of St Ives harbour and the west-Cornwall coastline. We have invested a lot of time in our customer service programme, so it is always pleasing to receive positive feedback from our guests. Please do not hesitate to contact our reception team if you are visiting the area in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva soon.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

It is a sad fact that despite being well travelled we had never been to St Ives before last week! Our family had taken a house for eight higher in the Town and suggested that the Pedn Olva would be better for us as my wife has slight mobility problems.
Built on the side of a cliff the Hotel has obviously grown over the years to cope with the terrain as everywhere has to be accessed by stairs!
Our room was described as a deluxe cabin and was of reasonable size with a little sitting area overlooking the sea and a door leading to a shared balcony. We were lucky with the weather so were able to walk into the town and also spend some time on Porthminster beach.
The Pedn Olva is not cheap but neither is it outrageously expensive. Drinks and bar meals are good value. The restaurant offers quite imaginitive meals and service is friendly if not particularly consistent.
Parking can be a problem so I would recommend pre booking a space which costs £8.00 per day and is on the council car park a short walk away?
Overall a good Hotel which could do with some minor attention to detail to make it great!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank peterdpps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Many thanks for your review- we really appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your experiences. Were pleased that you enjoyed you room and the weather was good giving you the opportunity to take advantage of spending some time on the beach. As I’m sure you can appreciate, some of our rooms are more spacious than others, please do not hesitate to contact our reception team, should you be in St Ives and need somewhere to stay in the future. We’re pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back the Pedn Olva in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#6 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedn Olva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedn Olva Hotel

Property: Pedn Olva Hotel
Address: The Warren, St Ives TR26 2EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#7 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pedn Olva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pedn Olva, with the sea only thirty feet below and flanked by golden sands, is founded on blue-black granite rocks on the southern shores of St. Ives Harbour and Bay. Contemporary, romantic and breathtaking are but a few ways to describe the Pedn Olva, with its 29 distinctive bedrooms, restaurant, bar, terraces and outdoor heated swimming pool that make it an ideal stay for a getaway break, special meal or relaxing lunch. The plethora of windows facing the sea allows our guests to be as close as you can get to floating on the sea without leaving dry land. A safe haven for watching winter storms in front of a granite open fire, or seeing dolphins and seals playing in the bay from our sun drenched terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Pedn Olva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedn Olva St Ives
Pedn Olva Hotel St Ives, Cornwall
Hotel Pedn Olva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing