We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel. Looking forward to being there again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pedn Olva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pedn Olva Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Conegliano, Italy
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Charming hotel. Looking forward to being there again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The most fascinating aspect of Pedn Olva are the views of the sea: the room, the bar-restaurant or the breakfast room...each view is unique, fascinating and inspirational. The room was quite small, but bright and with a splendid view over the bay of St Ives with its characteristic tides. The breakfast is quite good and the view on the beach in St Ives lovely. The staff was very courteous and professional in showing us the different rooms available.
On top of this, the location is quite good: in a 5-minute walk you are in the centre of St.Ives.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irax71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We're pleased you were able to take advantage of the wonderful views we have to offer of the West Cornwall coastline; with the Pedn Olva being an old copper mine I'm sure you can appreciate some rooms are more spacious than other, please don't hesitate to contact our reservation team on 01736 796222 who can provide more information. We have invested a lot of time in our customer service training so it is always pleasing to hear that our team members are going the extra mile to help our customers. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    275
    90
    42
    28
See reviews for
173
524
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

We spent a week at St Ives and we had three meals In the restaurant. Food does not disappoint. We found the staff very helpful and polite. The menu changed on a daily basis. Think we would on reflection of liked every meal here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsSpartacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thanks for your review, we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experience. We have invested a lot of time in our customer service so it is always pleasing to receive positive comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the pedn olva soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Just come back from a fantastic week in St Ives , we ate out every night of the week and the Pedn Olva Hotel was by far the best meal of the week. The service was a little slow, but that meant we got to enjoy the views over Porthminster beach for even longer.
The food was amazing , fresh and cooked to perfection, we had the pigeon to start followed by the fillet steak and the Brill.If your looking for a excellent meal, breathtaking views and good value for money then you must try this place.10 out of 10 ..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELADDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Front Office Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We have invested a lot of time in our customer service training and our delicately crafted bar and restaurant menus, so it is always pleasing to receive such positive feedback from our customers. We would like to apologise that your service wasn't to our normal standards, although we are pleased this meant you could enjoy the wonderful views we have to offer. We will ensure your comments are passed onto the team, thank you once again for your review and look forward to welcoming you back to the pedn olva.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Pedn Olva last week, with our youngest granddaughter (4). Although the weather was not perfect, we had a wonderful time on the adjacent beaches and in the hotel's heated pool.

The room's picture window looked straight out across the bay, to Hayle and beyond. The sound of the waves breaking on the granite boulders thirty feet below is curiously soothing. The bunk beds were ideal and a novelty for our inquisitive youngster.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, who were always polite and attentive (and even had time for our granddaughter). The bar and restaurant menus coped for most tastes (including fussy children's) - even though we arrived late and after the restaurant was closed, a hot snack was prepared for us.

Alright, car parking is not perfect, but then St Ives wasn't planned with cars in mind. The parking reservation system works well - ask when booking.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Certanti D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Many thanks for your review following your recent stay with us, we really appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your experiences. We’re pleased you were able to take advantage of the wonderful views we have to offer of both St Ives Harbour and the West Cornwall coastline. We have invested a lot of time in our brewing a passion customer service training, so it is always pleasing to receive such positive feedback. It is pleasing to hear that we were able to cater for all your dietary needs (including the children’s) and that the team went the extra mile, even after our service times. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
302 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We have been visiting St Ives for many years and had always looked down on the upstairs terrace of Pedn Olva and thought how nice it would be to sit and eat with those terrific views out to sea. The opportunity arose when we visited for breakfast on 18th May. The receptionist was very efficient and welcoming and we ordered our breakfast (toast, butter, jams and coffee). We made our way up to the roof terrace and waited, and waited ............ My cappuccino arrived first, then the toast etc, but my husband's coffee didn't arrive. After two further requests for the coffee, it finally arrived ten minutes later. We were told by the waiter that the hotel had run out of cafetieres! When my husband tried to pour the coffee out, it was a tiny trickle, while I had finished my drink and the toast had gone hard and cold. Now, if it had been a decent breakfast, this little problem could have been overlooked. However, after having been charged £15 for two slices of toast (one each!) and two mediocre coffees, we felt well and truly fleeced. We definitely would not visit again, particularly as the stairway up to the terrace and the terrace itself was dirty and the tables weren't perfect either. A very disappointing visit. Poor show Pedn Olva.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank joolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent visit. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences. As I’m sure you can appreciate all our breakfast items and Brewer & Bean coffees are made/ cooked fresh to order. Did you specifically ask for a cafeteria coffee.? We do provide a selection of other coffees, including Mocha, Flat White, Espresso and Latte’s which are all freshly made with ground coffee beans. We would like to take this opportunity to apologise that the service you received was not to our usual standards and we do hope that you will visit us in the future and give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We love this place. Got engaged in the restaurant fifteen years ago, in fact. Ever since we have spent several happy afternoons in the stunning bar with its panoramic view of St Ives harbour and it is always a wonderfully evocative experience. Lunched there this week and were very impressed with the quality and freshness of our bar food...hot, crispy fish and chips with certainly the best chips we have ever had in St Ives and an open goat's cheese sandwich for me, very savoury and soft with dark green leaves and the contrasting hot, salty chips on the side. What a lovely experience, only ruined somewhat by some inconsiderate git watching loud sport on his Ipad. We did wonder why he was bothering to sit by the panoramic view outside, as he failed to once lift his head and survey it. Never mind. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginnywHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Many thanks for the review, following your recent visit. We really appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your experiences. We have invested a lot of time in our customer service, so it is always pleasing to receive such positive comments from our guests/ customers. Our delicately crafted bar menu has something to suite everyone’s taste. It is pleasing to hear that you have been visiting us for the last 15 years and we look forward to welcoming you back again.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

just had a 2 night mid week stay for my husbands birthday - the staff really helped to make it special & the hotel has a lovely feel to it.

the room was smashing & very comfy.

really had a lovely break, thank you.

Room Tip: there are harbour side rooms where you can see boating activity or pool side rooms which is more of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Thank you for the review, following your recent visit to the Pedn Olva. We’re pleased we could help make this occasion even more special. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedn Olva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedn Olva Hotel

Property: Pedn Olva Hotel
Address: The Warren, St Ives TR26 2EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#7 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pedn Olva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pedn Olva, with the sea only thirty feet below and flanked by golden sands, is founded on blue-black granite rocks on the southern shores of St. Ives Harbour and Bay. Contemporary, romantic and breathtaking are but a few ways to describe the Pedn Olva, with its 29 distinctive bedrooms, restaurant, bar, terraces and outdoor heated swimming pool that make it an ideal stay for a getaway break, special meal or relaxing lunch. The plethora of windows facing the sea allows our guests to be as close as you can get to floating on the sea without leaving dry land. A safe haven for watching winter storms in front of a granite open fire, or seeing dolphins and seals playing in the bay from our sun drenched terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pedn Olva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedn Olva St Ives
Pedn Olva Hotel St Ives, Cornwall
Hotel Pedn Olva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing