We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing position but...”
Review of Pedn Olva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pedn Olva Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

our lunch was a bit of an anti climax due to the extremely long wait. We called into this hotel with the most spectacular sea and beach views for a coffee initially. The coffee was excellent and we were so impressed with the interior and layout of the dining areas, roof top and deck areas, that we decided it was the no.1 place to linger longer and stay for lunch.
We thoroughly enjoyed the ambiance and outlook and although very relaxed, the wait on our lunch seemed excessively long. It was apparent that they were understaffed. The guys at the bar and coffee barista were pleasant and friendly, but they needed help. The place was not full, but there seemed to be a constant long queue of people waiting to order both drinks and food. Because we waited so long (still waiting for the water),and the fact that our crab lunch was tasteless (could have done with some lemon juice on it), it just took the edge off what would have been a wonderful experience. I've rated it 'very good' for the position, ambiance, location, friendliness of the staff, but don't rest on your laurels re the food.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Many thanks for sharing your experience. We thank you for your comments regarding our Brewer and Bean coffee range, we are pleased that you like both our interior and exterior decoration. We will ensure your comments are passed onto our bar team. To ensure that every guests order is completed correctly, as ask everyone to order their food and drink at the bar during the day time; to ensure that both our chefs and waiting staff are given time to cook the meals, along with preparing any additional items such as finger bowls (for sea food) and cutlery the tables. We do hope that this experience has not put you off visiting us in the future and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Pedn Olva
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (984)
There are newer reviews for Pedn Olva Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 984 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hotel has the most amazing setting overlooking the sea in St Ives.
The rooms are on the small size as they are built into the cliffs.However the setting more than makes up for this.
Staff are very friendly and although we did not eat in the restaurant the quality of food at breakfast was very good.
The hotel is within easy walking distance of many trip advisor restaurants in St Ives and we would recommend this hotel if you are visiting the St Ives area.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikelizEdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments, we really appreciate the time you have taken. We appreciate your comments regarding the setting of the hotel, we try to provide a professional and relaxed atmosphere to ensure all our guests enjoy their experiences. We have invested a lot of time developing our menus so it is always pleasing to receive positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva soon.!

Pedn Olva
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Don't get me wrong we like this place, but some things have to said, it's only fair. We paid top whack for this room which you could barely turn round in, there was no room for a wardrobe or a place to hang your clothes it was barely suitable as a single and ludicrously small for a double. The staff should have mentioned this at the time of booking, and the price should be reduced for it's unusual smallness, and another thing we have been staying at this hotel for over 15 years but every time we go we are asked if this is out first visit for gods sake isn't there some way you could devise a system that highlights we are returning guests!! The staff are friendly and efficient no change there, but £190 a night to stay in a broom cupboard ,are you having a laugh.

Room Tip: If you like space to turn round in do not book room 5. Could not sleep felt claustrophobic.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jinnty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for your review, following you recent visit. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your comments. We’re sorry to hear that your stay with us was not to the satisfaction of previous visits. As I’m sure you can appreciate some of our rooms are larger than others; as you have stayed with us several times before, it comes as a surprise that you have not pre-booked your room for the following year. Unfortunately if we were to provide every detail of each room, this would make our booking process extremely lengthy. Our reservations system is capable of recording the amount of times guests have stayed with us before, providing that each reservation is booked under the same name previously used. We appreciate your comments regarding our staff. It is harder to deal with a problem once a guest has departed, may we suggest that you raise or bring your issues or comments to the attention of our reservations team on future visits, so that we can rectify the problem or offer an alternative room. We look forward to seeing you again.

Pedn Olva
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This time we were back for a two night package, in our favourite room, with dinner included on the first evening. The restaurant and kitchen staff were very helpful in finding a garlic free meal for me and again in the morning with a superb kedgeree for breakfast.
Jane, on reception, was welcoming as usual and Dean had the Tribute beer in tiptop condition, although we did notice that the price had crept up again!
It's so relaxing to sit by the window and watch the waves washing the sand clean - especially on a damp morning whilst waiting for the train to take us home.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experiences following your most recent visit, we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experience. We take pride in our customer service and can always “tweak” our menus to suite individual dietary needs. We will ensure that your comments are passed onto the team and in particular Jane and Dean; we appreciate your comments regarding our prices, although we are regulated by St Austell Brewery’s pricing structure. We look forward to seeing you again soon.!

Pedn Olva
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I have stayed here on numerous occasions during the past 15 years and although we once again had a very pleasant stay I have to say that our particular room - room 5- was very small even by Pedn Olva standards. It was fortuitous that we only had one small bag otherwise there would have been nowhere to store our luggage. As it was there was only a small "cupboard" to hang our clothes which was not big enough. The only good thing about the room was the dual aspect balcony but at £570 for three nights the room was appalling value. As I indicated earlier, everything else including service and food was fine although once again the location of the room was far from ideal as we could hear noise at night from other guests and the background music from the restaurant/bar area below. Have never experienced this from the other rooms we have previously stayed in.

Very disappointing

Room Tip: Avoid Room 5 at all costs.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grahamstubbings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, following your recent stay. We appreciate the time you have taken. We’re sorry to hear that on this occasion that your room did not meet the standards expected. As I’m sure you can appreciate all our rooms vary in size due to our unique location (and being built on the site of an old copper mine). If you are looking to visit us in the future, please feel free to contact our reservations team who can provide details of some of our slightly larger rooms, alternatively you can pre-book rooms on departure for the following year with our reservations team. Thank you for your comments, please be assured all comments are discussed by us a team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva once again.

Pedn Olva
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We went for lunch here on the last day of our holiday, it was chosen by our two children due to it's fantastic location and views.

The staff were all friendly and helpful but it was the food that was the let down. We ate in the bar and I ordered the crab and tiger prawn open sandwich which if I had closed my eyes I wouldn't have guessed it was seafood as it was tasteless, the chips that came with it were luke warm. The children had children's meals which were fine but nothing out of the ordinary and small portions even for a skinny 7 year old! They had a side order of Houmous and veggie sticks, the carrot sticks were an unpeeled carrot cut into quarters which was dry and curling at the end and the yellow pepper was 'floppy' and obviously past it's sell by date, the Houmous was sadly inedible and didn't appear to have any other ingredient that chick pea and olive oil

My husband had steak which he enjoyed and said was one of the nicest steaks he had eaten during a fortnight in St Ives.

Looking at your other reviews it looks like this isn't a usual reflection on the quality of your food so I am hoping it was just an off day, in hindsight we should have mentioned it to you at the time but being stereotypically British we didn't! It's a shame as your location is amazing and the views stunning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank MrsJollyVadler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experiences; following your recent visit. We have invested a lot of time in our “brewing a passion” customer training, so it is always pleasing to receive such positive comments. We’re sorry to hear that your dining experience with us did not meet our usual standards, please be assured all comments ate discussed by us as a management team and will be passed onto our team of chefs.! We’re pleased to hear that your husband enjoyed his steak. Please be assured that this is not the usual standard of our food offering. We hope that this experience hasn’t put you off visiting us again in the future, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva. We appreciate all comments, both positive and negative, and please don’t hesitate to ask a member of our waiting or bar team to grab a manager, should you meal need meet the standard expected; we can always have the meal re-cooked or provide and alternative.

Pedn Olva
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

We went here for lunch while visiting beautiful St Ives. Unfortunately the roof terrace was full so we ate inside where we had a fabulous view over the beach. We both had open crab and prawn sandwiches which were delicious and accompanied by a lovely fresh salad. We had soft drinks and whilst not particularly cheap it was well worth the money

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank June G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience. Unfortunately our roof terrace is popular with both residents and non-residents during sunny, periods; however we do have a side terrace open until 6pm daily with wonderful views of Porthminster beach. Thank you for your comments regarding our open sandwiches, we pride ourselves on quality local ingredients in all our dishes. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
1.0 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 20 in St Ives
958 reviews
1.2 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedn Olva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedn Olva Hotel

Address: The Warren, St Ives TR26 2EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#7 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £152 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pedn Olva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pedn Olva, with the sea only thirty feet below and flanked by golden sands, is founded on blue-black granite rocks on the southern shores of St. Ives Harbour and Bay. Contemporary, romantic and breathtaking are but a few ways to describe the Pedn Olva, with its 30 distinctive bedrooms, restaurant, bar, terraces and outdoor heated swimming pool that make it an ideal stay for a getaway break, special meal or relaxing lunch. The plethora of windows facing the sea allows our guests to be as close as you can get to floating on the sea without leaving dry land. A safe haven for watching winter storms in front of a granite open fire, or seeing dolphins and seals playing in the bay from our sun drenched terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Pedn Olva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedn Olva St Ives
Pedn Olva Hotel St Ives, Cornwall
Hotel Pedn Olva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing