We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Boutique hotel”
Review of Pedn Olva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pedn Olva Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
SOUTH AFRICA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Boutique hotel”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We drove into St Ives and took a chance and phoned the Pedn Olva. Sue the lady at the front desk suggested we park and come and have a look as she did have accommodation When we arrived she was extremely professional and helpful and took us straight up to see what she had available. We chose a beautiful room with patio overlooking the water. It was spotless and perfectly situated. Sue was extremely hospitable and efficient.
We ate dinner on the terrace and had a delightful meal. Service was excellent.
Would love to have stayed longer and will definitely return. A wonderful memorable stay thank you.

Room Tip: The lower rooms are cooler and I would definitely get either a shared patio or your own patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COTTIESouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Many thanks for your review, we appreciate the time you've taken to share your experiences. we have invested a lot of time in our customer service training programme, so it is always pleasing to receive such positive feedback and we will ensure your comments are passed onto the team and in particular to Sue. It is great to hear that you were satisfied with the room, our housekeeping team work hard to ensure all rooms are equipped with all the essentials. We’re pleased you had a lovely meal on our terrace area and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva soon!

Pedn Olva
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    282
    93
    43
    29
See reviews for
181
543
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paisley
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel 25 years ago when our children were young and it was privately owned so I had the idea of taking the children and grandchildren back for a surprise special wedding anniversary celebration. However I was a bit apprehensive that it wouldn't live up to previous experiences as it was now part of a brewery chain. I needn't have worried. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by the super friendly reception staff until we departed the experience was every bit as good as before. Every member of staff was so pleasant and efficient at their job.

In the restaurant I was delighted to find an extensive choice at breakfast with daily "specials" on the menu. It was great that freshly cooked breakfasts were still the order of the day as so many establishments now provide buffet breakfasts with food put out on hotplates where it finishes up dry and lukewarm, and there was an excellent choice.

It goes without saying that the location of the hotel meant that every member of our family (spread over four rooms) had a fantastic view onto the sea and either Porthminster beach or the harbour and the old town. And the steps leading directly from the hotel to the beach meant a relatively stress free time for the parents and grandparents as there was no need to worry about grandchildren mixing with traffic.

I have no doubt that the week long stay has convinced the newer members of our family (sons in law and grand children) to take future holidays at the Pedn Olva.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Buddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased to hear that your stay with us held up to your previous expectations and that your stay was as good as it was over 25 years ago. We have invested a lot of time in our customer service, so it is always pleasing to receive such positive feedback from our guests. With all our menus, we try to ensure that there is something for everyone’s taste without having an exhausting selection. We still believe that breakfast is the most important meal of the day and as with our bar and restaurant menu everything is cooked to order. It pleasing to hear that all your party were able to take in the wonderful views that we have to offer of St Ives harbour and the West-Cornwall coastline. Once again we are pleased that you all enjoyed your stay and we lived up to your previous expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva in the near future.

Pedn Olva
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We didn't stay at this hotel, but stopped off every evening to enjoy the rooftop views, it's the last place to catch the sun in St Ives and when that's gone they have a fantastic bar area that is built directly over the sea!!!

Room Tip: Get a table on the rooftop!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a1hollands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience. We are pleased that you were able to take advantage of the views that we have to offer of St Ives harbour and West-Cornwall coastline from our outside terrace seating area. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Pedn Olva
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a short break at this hotel.. The staff are wonderful the views excellent.location is fabulous however what spoilt it slightly was the breakfast which both my wife and I sent back because it was undercooked. The mattress was worn so we turned it round which made it more comfortable ..A shared balcony which was odd especially seeing people in bed next door!..... The nibbles we shared in the afternoon were a joke . I know it's st ives but £20 for four slices of bread half a scotch egg each tiny chicken drumsticks and a small sausage roll each in my opinion was extremely overpriced.... Come on pednolva ova lets see value for money!.. Will go again but ovoid nibbles . Request breakfast cooked properly and check bed on arrival .

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your experiences. It is always pleasing to receive positive feedback regarding our customer service. We are sorry to hear that both your breakfasts were not to our usual standards. We appreciate your comments regarding the mattress, we have recently had all our mattresses and bed basis have been replaced with new Vi-Spring ones. Unfortunately due our unique location we are not able to completely isolate our balcony areas due to fire regulations as they act as an emergency exits. We are appreciate your comments regarding the food and in particular the price of some of the items on our menu, please be assured all comments are discussed by us as a team and will be passed to our Chef. We hope this stay has not put you off visiting us in the future and look forward to welcoming you back.

Pedn Olva
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Ferriby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just taken a long weekend break. Truly wonderful. The views frim the balcony are stunning. The decor is so relaxing. The food and service first rate. Upon arrival until the moment we left was made to feel welcome by tye attentative staff. Nothing was tii much. Must be the must be the most relaxing places to stay. Left wanting to be back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetruth1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, following your recent stay at the Pedn Olva. We’re please you were able to take advantage of the unique views we have to offer of St Ives and the West-Cornwall coastline. We have invested a lot of time in our “Brewing A Passion” customer service training, so it is always pleasing to receive such positive feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you experienced our “home away from home” style service and accommodation that we pride ourselves on. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva again soon.!

Pedn Olva
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Stayed at Pedn Olva Hotel in the middle of june. Had a wonderful room fell asleep and woke every morning to the sound of the sea. Lovely breakfast, very friendly, helpful staff. Big thank you to Steve, who went above and beyond the call of duty and carried our heavy case up the steps to the car park.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Many thanks for your review, following your most recent visit. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience. We pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We have invested a lot of time in our customer service, so it is always pleasing to receive such positive feedback from our guests. We will pass your comments onto our team and in particular to Steve. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva.

Pedn Olva
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was our 3rd time at the Pedn Olva and once again we had a lovely relaxing 4 nights stay at this friendly, laid back but professionally run hotel. Our room, number 30, was on second floor with its own balcony and full width, floor to ceiling windows which gave us fabulous views of St Ives Harbour. The sound of the waves lapping on the rocks beneath our window was so relaxing. The rooms at the Pedn Olva tend to be compact due to the quirky nature of the building and our double room was no exception. However the views more than made up for this and the room was attractively decorated in neutral colours with a small but completely adequate shower room. We had a flat screen TV and hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities were provided along with good quality Cornish biscuits. We had breakfast each morning on the outside terrace overlooking the gorgeous Porthminster beach. Lots of choice available at breakfast which was excellent. We also ate at the hotel each evening rather than trawling the streets of St Ives for a suitable restaurant. We were not disappointed as the food was without exception, imaginative and delicious, along with reasonably priced wines. What better place to linger over your evening meal than Pedn Olva's dining room watching the sun set and with the waves lapping beneath the windows. Service in the restaurant and bar was good and all staff were friendly and helpful. During the day the outdoor terraces provide plenty of options for enjoying a cool drink or relaxing on a sun lounger near the swimming pool overlooking the sea. We will definitely stay again when we are next in St Ives.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorkshireblonde99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, following your most recent stay. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences. We’re so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your 3rd visit to us and we appreciate your comments regarding the service received. We try to make our guests stay as relaxed as possible this includes the service they receive, trying to make a “home away from home” feel for our guests throughout their stay. We’re pleased that you were able to take in the wonderful views that our balcony cabin room has to offer and that you like our new design to our cabin rooms. We have invested a lot of time developing our menus to ensure that there is something for everyone’s taste and that you were lucky enough (nice weather) to be able to eat breakfast on our terrace overlooking Porthminster Beach. We appreciate your comments regarding the customer service received, please be assured your comments will be passed onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva soon.

Pedn Olva
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,618 reviews
1.0 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
923 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedn Olva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedn Olva Hotel

Property: Pedn Olva Hotel
Address: The Warren, St Ives TR26 2EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#7 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pedn Olva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pedn Olva, with the sea only thirty feet below and flanked by golden sands, is founded on blue-black granite rocks on the southern shores of St. Ives Harbour and Bay. Contemporary, romantic and breathtaking are but a few ways to describe the Pedn Olva, with its 29 distinctive bedrooms, restaurant, bar, terraces and outdoor heated swimming pool that make it an ideal stay for a getaway break, special meal or relaxing lunch. The plethora of windows facing the sea allows our guests to be as close as you can get to floating on the sea without leaving dry land. A safe haven for watching winter storms in front of a granite open fire, or seeing dolphins and seals playing in the bay from our sun drenched terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Pedn Olva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedn Olva St Ives
Pedn Olva Hotel St Ives, Cornwall
Hotel Pedn Olva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing