We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in beautiful coastal location”
Review of Pedn Olva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pedn Olva Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in July/August 2014 to celebrate my 40th birthday. The hotel is fantastically located - near the train station, adjacent to Porthminster beach, and a very short walk into the town. We had a balcony room. The rooms are quite small but well designed, very comfortable and decorated well. The balcony was a good size and the view was simply stunning; St Ives town to the left, Godrevy to the right. We saw a seal below our balcony one evening. The food at breakfast was always delicious and varied each day. On our first morning the service was slightly erratic - no-one seemed to be available to tell us where to sit, whether it was table service etc - but on the second and third mornings there were more staff around and the service was good. We did not dine in at the hotel apart from some cheese and biscuits one evening which were local and delicious. The hotel is a little expensive but probably comparable in price locally, the location and service more than make it worth it. We would love to visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write this review, we really appreciate it. Some of our rooms are slightly larger than others, due to our unique location, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations team for further details of our room’s types. We appreciate your comments regarding the views we have to offer. We have a different breakfast special every day and something to cater for everyone’s taste. Thank you for bringing the organisation of breakfast on your first morning to our attention, we will ensure your comments are passed onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva again soon.!

Pedn Olva
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (984)
There are newer reviews for Pedn Olva Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

594 - 600 of 984 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014

This small hotel looks over the rocks and across the bay overlooking the whole of St. Ives and it's harbour. A good choice for children, although we stayed there with our pet dog, who was made most welcome. The owners were found to be very friendly and most helpful, our room was clean, comfortable, restful although compact. Still the hospitality and good food made it a real pleasure to stay there. This was our second visit and I'm sure it won't be our last. Car parking was no problem, as the station is just a few steps up the road and the hotel has arrangements in hand to use this facility. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Most rooms have good views, we chose to be by the swimming pool terrace.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for the review, following your recent stay. We have a few selected bedrooms in which we accommodate dogs. Our housekeeper and her team work hard to ensure every room has the essential required and that they are kept to a continuous level of cleanliness. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva again soon.

Pedn Olva
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We booked for a party of 11 for the evening meal and was very disappointed- the food in the pedn olva really let's the side down as the hotel and location are beautiful!! The fillet steaks all came out cold and were accompanied by 4 cold chips - we were convinced that the tuna steak was in fact gammon and the risotto tasted like cold baby milk. I have been coming to the pedn olva for 15 years and this is the worst experience we have had by far - i think the chef needs to concentrate on the quality of the food rather than the presentation as when you pay top dollar for food you expect a beautiful taste ! I must say we were served by a lovely lady named Lisa who was extremely accommodating and pleasant - we would have probably walked out if not for her impeccable service

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Jonathon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We have invested a lot of time developing our menus to ensure that there is a dish for everyone’s taste, so we are sorry to hear that your dining experience with us was not to our usual standard. After speaking with the team working that evening it is our understanding that just after your mains arrived you were service checked and that the person who had the risotto dish had the meal replaced with an alternative dish as it was not to their satisfaction and the meal was taken of the final bill. While the risotto dish was being replaced we understand your waitress checked that everyone else was satisfied with their meals; If anyone was unsatisfied with their steaks, then we could have replaced the dishes with a replacement or an alternative dish at the same time, from our understanding this was not mentioned at the time, however we appreciate your comments and will pass them onto the kitchen team. We appreciate the comments regarding our waitress and will ensure that your comments are passed onto her. We hope this experience hasn't put you off visiting in the future and look forward to welcoming you back.

Pedn Olva
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We drove into St Ives and took a chance and phoned the Pedn Olva. Sue the lady at the front desk suggested we park and come and have a look as she did have accommodation When we arrived she was extremely professional and helpful and took us straight up to see what she had available. We chose a beautiful room with patio overlooking the water. It was spotless and perfectly situated. Sue was extremely hospitable and efficient.
We ate dinner on the terrace and had a delightful meal. Service was excellent.
Would love to have stayed longer and will definitely return. A wonderful memorable stay thank you.

Room Tip: The lower rooms are cooler and I would definitely get either a shared patio or your own patio.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank COTTIESouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Many thanks for your review, we appreciate the time you've taken to share your experiences. we have invested a lot of time in our customer service training programme, so it is always pleasing to receive such positive feedback and we will ensure your comments are passed onto the team and in particular to Sue. It is great to hear that you were satisfied with the room, our housekeeping team work hard to ensure all rooms are equipped with all the essentials. We’re pleased you had a lovely meal on our terrace area and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva soon!

Pedn Olva
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel 25 years ago when our children were young and it was privately owned so I had the idea of taking the children and grandchildren back for a surprise special wedding anniversary celebration. However I was a bit apprehensive that it wouldn't live up to previous experiences as it was now part of a brewery chain. I needn't have worried. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by the super friendly reception staff until we departed the experience was every bit as good as before. Every member of staff was so pleasant and efficient at their job.

In the restaurant I was delighted to find an extensive choice at breakfast with daily "specials" on the menu. It was great that freshly cooked breakfasts were still the order of the day as so many establishments now provide buffet breakfasts with food put out on hotplates where it finishes up dry and lukewarm, and there was an excellent choice.

It goes without saying that the location of the hotel meant that every member of our family (spread over four rooms) had a fantastic view onto the sea and either Porthminster beach or the harbour and the old town. And the steps leading directly from the hotel to the beach meant a relatively stress free time for the parents and grandparents as there was no need to worry about grandchildren mixing with traffic.

I have no doubt that the week long stay has convinced the newer members of our family (sons in law and grand children) to take future holidays at the Pedn Olva.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank A_Buddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are pleased to hear that your stay with us held up to your previous expectations and that your stay was as good as it was over 25 years ago. We have invested a lot of time in our customer service, so it is always pleasing to receive such positive feedback from our guests. With all our menus, we try to ensure that there is something for everyone’s taste without having an exhausting selection. We still believe that breakfast is the most important meal of the day and as with our bar and restaurant menu everything is cooked to order. It pleasing to hear that all your party were able to take in the wonderful views that we have to offer of St Ives harbour and the West-Cornwall coastline. Once again we are pleased that you all enjoyed your stay and we lived up to your previous expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva in the near future.

Pedn Olva
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We didn't stay at this hotel, but stopped off every evening to enjoy the rooftop views, it's the last place to catch the sun in St Ives and when that's gone they have a fantastic bar area that is built directly over the sea!!!

Room Tip: Get a table on the rooftop!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a1hollands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience. We are pleased that you were able to take advantage of the views that we have to offer of St Ives harbour and West-Cornwall coastline from our outside terrace seating area. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Pedn Olva
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and I had a short break at this hotel.. The staff are wonderful the views excellent.location is fabulous however what spoilt it slightly was the breakfast which both my wife and I sent back because it was undercooked. The mattress was worn so we turned it round which made it more comfortable ..A shared balcony which was odd especially seeing people in bed next door!..... The nibbles we shared in the afternoon were a joke . I know it's st ives but £20 for four slices of bread half a scotch egg each tiny chicken drumsticks and a small sausage roll each in my opinion was extremely overpriced.... Come on pednolva ova lets see value for money!.. Will go again but ovoid nibbles . Request breakfast cooked properly and check bed on arrival .

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your experiences. It is always pleasing to receive positive feedback regarding our customer service. We are sorry to hear that both your breakfasts were not to our usual standards. We appreciate your comments regarding the mattress, we have recently had all our mattresses and bed basis have been replaced with new Vi-Spring ones. Unfortunately due our unique location we are not able to completely isolate our balcony areas due to fire regulations as they act as an emergency exits. We are appreciate your comments regarding the food and in particular the price of some of the items on our menu, please be assured all comments are discussed by us as a team and will be passed to our Chef. We hope this stay has not put you off visiting us in the future and look forward to welcoming you back.

Pedn Olva
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
1.0 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 20 in St Ives
956 reviews
1.2 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedn Olva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedn Olva Hotel

Address: The Warren, St Ives TR26 2EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#7 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £152 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pedn Olva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pedn Olva, with the sea only thirty feet below and flanked by golden sands, is founded on blue-black granite rocks on the southern shores of St. Ives Harbour and Bay. Contemporary, romantic and breathtaking are but a few ways to describe the Pedn Olva, with its 30 distinctive bedrooms, restaurant, bar, terraces and outdoor heated swimming pool that make it an ideal stay for a getaway break, special meal or relaxing lunch. The plethora of windows facing the sea allows our guests to be as close as you can get to floating on the sea without leaving dry land. A safe haven for watching winter storms in front of a granite open fire, or seeing dolphins and seals playing in the bay from our sun drenched terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Pedn Olva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedn Olva St Ives
Pedn Olva Hotel St Ives, Cornwall
Hotel Pedn Olva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing