We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food!”
Review of Pedn Olva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pedn Olva Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had a fabulous meal here, we ordered across the menu and it was all very tasty. The service was also good. The terrace was lovely and had great view of St Ives. We would not hesitate to come here again. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrismris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for your review, following your recent visit. We have invested a lot of time developing our menus to ensure there is something for everyone’s taste, so it is always pleasing to receive such positive feedback about our food. We’re pleased that you received a great service and were able to take in the wonderful views of St Ives Harbour and the West-Cornwall coastline. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva again in the near future.

Pedn Olva
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    296
    95
    46
    31
See reviews for
188
575
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Amazing views from the room, clean and comfortable, lovely food, friendly staff. Wished we could stay longer. Handy for the beach and town, small pool to cool off in. Wow, can't wait to come back again. Parking wasn't easy so book a reserved space before you arrive with the hotel if you can.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Many thanks for the review. We are pleased that you were able to take advantage of the views we have to offer of St Ives Harbour and the West-Cornwall coastline. Our housekeeper and her team work hard to ensure the consistent cleanliness of our room and that every room has the essential requirements. We have invested a lot of time in our customer service, so it is always pleasing to receive such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva in the near future.

Pedn Olva
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my husband were really looking forward to staying at this hotel with the good reviews and pictures we had seen, so unfortunately it was a big disappointment for our stay.

We were greeted really well and the lady at the desk helped us with our bags to the room. Big disappointment to see our room. I booked the room quite far in advance and was originally supposed to come with a friend, so booked a twin, then circumstances changed and my husband was able to make it so I emailed the hotel to let them know and they said they would changed the room for a couple by pushing the beds together. This did not happen and it wouldn't be as simple for he to do it as it was so small we would have had to lift a bedside unit out the way to do this. We overlooked the pool which was noisy and not private at all as people could see into our window.
The sink was dirty and filled with something that I just chose not to identify. The bath/shower was blocked and filled up when it was used. The blind in the bathroom was broken and rusty.

The breakfast was horrible probably the worst we have ever had. Looked like it has sat around for hours before it came out and thrown on the plate.


We asked to pre order lunch one day as we needed to rush to be somewhere and we were told that the kitchen wouldn't take our order till 12 with no exceptions. I have worked in this industry and a high customer service one and I asked the bar man to write our order down so it could be put into the kitchen as soon as it opened as we had to rush to get ready for a wedding, we were just told no. Which I just didn't understand and they were also quite rude with it.

When we did get the lunch it was lovely, just a shame we had to try and eat in less than 5 minutes to spare.

We did ask to check out slightly late by half hour and they let us do this which was helpful.

We were so excited for this trip so it is a shame how disappointed we felt especially paying 158 per night.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank 31canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We’re sorry to hear that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction. All members of our reservations team will carry guest’s bags to their rooms or ensure if they are left with us, they are in their room for arrival. As I’m sure you can appreciate due to our location next to the beach and being open to non-residents, we have to have a certain area for residents only, which is our swimming pool terrace. We appreciate your comments regarding the bath/shower, we have checked and unfortunately there is no log of this being mentioned to reception otherwise we could have arranged for housekeeping to look into the problem and called out our maintenance company. We’re sorry to hear that breakfast was not to our usual standards, all our breakfast items are cooked fresh to order daily. Being someone who has worked within the industry I’m sure you can appreciate if we have a busy breakfast as all items on our menus are prepared daily and cooked to order the kitchen team need time to prepare all of the items on the menu and clear down from breakfast service before preparing and ensuring everything is ready for lunch. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention and will talk to the bar team. It is pleasing to hear that we were able to offer you a later check-out time. We hope this experience hasn’t put you off staying with us in the future and if you experience any issues on future stays, we ask that you please inform reception so they can be passed to the Duty Manager so we can try to rectify the problem.

Pedn Olva
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in July/August 2014 to celebrate my 40th birthday. The hotel is fantastically located - near the train station, adjacent to Porthminster beach, and a very short walk into the town. We had a balcony room. The rooms are quite small but well designed, very comfortable and decorated well. The balcony was a good size and the view was simply stunning; St Ives town to the left, Godrevy to the right. We saw a seal below our balcony one evening. The food at breakfast was always delicious and varied each day. On our first morning the service was slightly erratic - no-one seemed to be available to tell us where to sit, whether it was table service etc - but on the second and third mornings there were more staff around and the service was good. We did not dine in at the hotel apart from some cheese and biscuits one evening which were local and delicious. The hotel is a little expensive but probably comparable in price locally, the location and service more than make it worth it. We would love to visit again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write this review, we really appreciate it. Some of our rooms are slightly larger than others, due to our unique location, please do not hesitate to contact our reservations team for further details of our room’s types. We appreciate your comments regarding the views we have to offer. We have a different breakfast special every day and something to cater for everyone’s taste. Thank you for bringing the organisation of breakfast on your first morning to our attention, we will ensure your comments are passed onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva again soon.!

Pedn Olva
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This small hotel looks over the rocks and across the bay overlooking the whole of St. Ives and it's harbour. A good choice for children, although we stayed there with our pet dog, who was made most welcome. The owners were found to be very friendly and most helpful, our room was clean, comfortable, restful although compact. Still the hospitality and good food made it a real pleasure to stay there. This was our second visit and I'm sure it won't be our last. Car parking was no problem, as the station is just a few steps up the road and the hotel has arrangements in hand to use this facility. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Most rooms have good views, we chose to be by the swimming pool terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you for the review, following your recent stay. We have a few selected bedrooms in which we accommodate dogs. Our housekeeper and her team work hard to ensure every room has the essential required and that they are kept to a continuous level of cleanliness. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva again soon.

Pedn Olva
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We booked for a party of 11 for the evening meal and was very disappointed- the food in the pedn olva really let's the side down as the hotel and location are beautiful!! The fillet steaks all came out cold and were accompanied by 4 cold chips - we were convinced that the tuna steak was in fact gammon and the risotto tasted like cold baby milk. I have been coming to the pedn olva for 15 years and this is the worst experience we have had by far - i think the chef needs to concentrate on the quality of the food rather than the presentation as when you pay top dollar for food you expect a beautiful taste ! I must say we were served by a lovely lady named Lisa who was extremely accommodating and pleasant - we would have probably walked out if not for her impeccable service

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Jonathon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We have invested a lot of time developing our menus to ensure that there is a dish for everyone’s taste, so we are sorry to hear that your dining experience with us was not to our usual standard. After speaking with the team working that evening it is our understanding that just after your mains arrived you were service checked and that the person who had the risotto dish had the meal replaced with an alternative dish as it was not to their satisfaction and the meal was taken of the final bill. While the risotto dish was being replaced we understand your waitress checked that everyone else was satisfied with their meals; If anyone was unsatisfied with their steaks, then we could have replaced the dishes with a replacement or an alternative dish at the same time, from our understanding this was not mentioned at the time, however we appreciate your comments and will pass them onto the kitchen team. We appreciate the comments regarding our waitress and will ensure that your comments are passed onto her. We hope this experience hasn't put you off visiting in the future and look forward to welcoming you back.

Pedn Olva
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SOUTH AFRICA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We drove into St Ives and took a chance and phoned the Pedn Olva. Sue the lady at the front desk suggested we park and come and have a look as she did have accommodation When we arrived she was extremely professional and helpful and took us straight up to see what she had available. We chose a beautiful room with patio overlooking the water. It was spotless and perfectly situated. Sue was extremely hospitable and efficient.
We ate dinner on the terrace and had a delightful meal. Service was excellent.
Would love to have stayed longer and will definitely return. A wonderful memorable stay thank you.

Room Tip: The lower rooms are cooler and I would definitely get either a shared patio or your own patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COTTIESouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Many thanks for your review, we appreciate the time you've taken to share your experiences. we have invested a lot of time in our customer service training programme, so it is always pleasing to receive such positive feedback and we will ensure your comments are passed onto the team and in particular to Sue. It is great to hear that you were satisfied with the room, our housekeeping team work hard to ensure all rooms are equipped with all the essentials. We’re pleased you had a lovely meal on our terrace area and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva soon!

Pedn Olva
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,658 reviews
1.0 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.2 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
763 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedn Olva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedn Olva Hotel

Property: Pedn Olva Hotel
Address: The Warren, St Ives TR26 2EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#7 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pedn Olva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pedn Olva, with the sea only thirty feet below and flanked by golden sands, is founded on blue-black granite rocks on the southern shores of St. Ives Harbour and Bay. Contemporary, romantic and breathtaking are but a few ways to describe the Pedn Olva, with its 30 distinctive bedrooms, restaurant, bar, terraces and outdoor heated swimming pool that make it an ideal stay for a getaway break, special meal or relaxing lunch. The plethora of windows facing the sea allows our guests to be as close as you can get to floating on the sea without leaving dry land. A safe haven for watching winter storms in front of a granite open fire, or seeing dolphins and seals playing in the bay from our sun drenched terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Pedn Olva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedn Olva St Ives
Pedn Olva Hotel St Ives, Cornwall
Hotel Pedn Olva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing