We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring back residents lounge!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Pedn Olva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pedn Olva Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bring back residents lounge!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This used to be a hotel. Great location, great staff, good food. A disaster that it is now a pub with rooms. Ok, stay here for the good points but..... Be prepared to not only pay full whack for relatively small rooms but you need to accept that " the rest of St. Ives can bring their families in and dominate the bar and lounge at the most popular times" .

You can't sit anywhere after dinner for a coffee or night cap until after 10/10.30pm. Even then you can expect there to be families around.

What a shame!

You can always come out of season and we presume life at this lovely place will be back to normal.

Room Tip: Pick an inside room in case weather is wet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliverAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Many thanks for your review. We appreciate the time you’ve taken to share your comments. We are still a popular hotel, with a larger number of returning guests every year, so it is saddening to hear that you feel that we have become a pub with rooms. As I’m sure you can appreciate due to our unique location the size of some of our rooms do vary, this is why we have re-named them “Cabin’s” so that people have an idea of the size of our rooms before making a reservation. Unfortunately after careful consideration, we had to lose the “residence lounge” as it was not being used enough by residents staying at the hotel and became an un-used space. We believe that it is now a nice relaxing area where everyone can sit and enjoy a light lunch or after dinner drink. Being in a small handful of premises within St Ives that remain open all year around, we welcome all customers into the bar, restaurant and terrace areas, this includes couples and families.

Pedn Olva
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    275
    90
    42
    28
See reviews for
173
524
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2014

As locals we were very disappointed with the service we received! Hadn't been sat at our table for more than a minute before the waiter asked if we knew what we wanted and then came again a minute later! We had 1 menu between 8 of us and when we asked for more the waiter replied ' that's the only menu we do'.........really!! The food took a while to come but it was really nice!!!
All in all maybe we have come to expect better service but we sat for at least 15 minutes with empty glasses before we had to ask for more drinks and then another 10 minutes until they came!
Excellent location, lovely food.......unfortunately the service has put us off going back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Thank you for your review, we appreciate the time you have taken. We pride ourselves on our customer service, so it is displeasing to hear that on this occasion that the service you received was not to our normal standards. All items on both our bar and restaurant menus are cooked fresh to order, however we do provide bread and butter for every table, while they are waiting. We’re glad that you enjoyed your food. All comments are discussed by us as team. We do hope this experience hadn’t put you off visiting us again.

Pedn Olva
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Second year I have stayed at this hotel in August ,very good service nice helpful staff .
Fantastic room views to die for of the ocean from the balcony
Food great choice always , bar and hotel atmosphere very good . lively if you wish or quiet corners to read chat .
Perfect English setting for a holiday close to the beach .
I will return .
Thank you to all the hard working staff .

Room Tip: Sea view balcony rooms are wonderful if you like the sound of the sea .? If not then rear of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to post this review, we appreciate the time you have taken. We’re pleased that you enjoyed your last stay with us and have decided to stay with us again. Thank you for your comments regarding the service received. With our carefully decorated bar, restaurant and outside seating areas we provide a relaxed atmosphere catered for those who wish to relax on the sofas with a book or sit on the terrace with a chilled glass of wine or pint of Tribute. We will ensure your thanks is passed onto all members of the team and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Pedn Olva
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We keep going back to this perfect liitle hotel. We loved the small bedroom with stunning sea views. The restaurant serves a lovely breakfast and the bar boasts the best view in St.Ives. The staff of the restaurant and bar were friendly and helpful.

Go by train, it's so easy!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacky s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thanks for your most recent review, we appreciate the time you’ve taken. We’re are pleased to hear that you are returning to visit and stay with us at the Pedn Olva. Although our cabin rooms are ‘small’, our housekeeper and her team invest a lot of time ensuring the cleanliness of everyone and that all essentials are provided in each of our rooms. We’re pleased you were able to enjoy the unique views we have to offer of St Ives Harbour and the West-Cornwall coastline. It is always pleasing to receive positive comments regarding our staff and the customer service received. We have a limited number of reserved parking bays, that we advise guests to book with the hotel and the time of making their reservation. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva

Pedn Olva
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We have just returned from a three day stay at this remarkable and unique hotel. We only wish we could have stayed longer. The views from the restaurant and large bar area are stunning, one way overlooking St Ives harbour, the other overlooking a beautiful sandy beach. And imbetween the waves crashing on the rocks upon which this uniquely located hotel is built.

Restaurant tables are assigned on a first come first served basis although you can also eat outside if you wish. We turned up at 8:00 am for breakfast and 7:15 pm for dinner and alway sat at a window table with outstanding views.

There are outside private areas to sit or lie down on every side of the hotel with chairs, tables and sun loungers. Plus even a small swimming/large plunge pool. All protected from any wind by classy glass panels - which let a bit of breeze through to cool you down on a hot day and yet block any strong sea breezes from blowing away cards, games or newspapers.

Every member of staff we encountered was happy cheerful, professional and delighted to go the extra mile to make sure our food and whole experience was exactly as we wanted it. The dinners were excellent, all food sourced from local farms within 30 miles, cooked to perfection and presented beautifully. The breakfast buffet had a full selection of delicious pastries, cereals, fruit, yogurts and local marmalade and conserves. The cooked breakfast was again from local producers and delicious although not served with the same panache as the dinners.

Our room had a great view of the sea and the beach and we could hear the surf breaking whenever we opened the window. We believe every room can see the sea.

The hotel itself is less than 3-4 minutes from the beach and the same time from the harbour and town.

We stayed here many years ago and we felt they traded off the location and didn't bother with the service, food or rooms. Which was true because the location is so unique. However now they have everything! We are already booking our next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms 21,22,23 are within 15 feet of the pool - so you can use it effectively as your private pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your review, following your recent stay at as you have stated at our unique Pedn Olva. We’re pleased you were able to take in the wonderful daily changing views we have to offer of St Ives Harbour and Porthminster Beach.
We advise both guests staying with us and non-residents to make a reservation in our restaurant, we assign tables on first come first serve basis as im sure you can appreciate our window tables are extremely popular, especially in the early evenings. We’re glad you were able to take advantage of our outside seating areas.
We have invested a lot of time in our “brewing a passion” customer service, ensuring that everyone’s experience is memorable, so it is always pleasing to receive such positive feedback from our customers and guests. We appreciate your comments and will ensure they are passed onto both our front of house and kitchen teams.
We have a unique location offering short walks to the town centre, harbour, beaches and local coastal paths, heading towards Carbis Bay/ Hayle and Zennor/ Lands’ End.
It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva in the near future.

Pedn Olva
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Pedn Olva, perfect location, parking a bit of a challenge if you havent booked a space with the hotel. Wonderful view of St Ives Harbour and Porthminster Beach. We booked the suite and it didnt dissapoint. Large comfy bed, large room with seating, requested feather pillows from reception. Bath with a view, great complementary toileties, over bath shower with good power but not suitable for anyone with mobility needs. Breakfast range and quality excellent. Hotel can get busy with non residents so if you are planning to dine at the hotel make sure you book a reservation. Small swimming pool but useful for a quick dip before breakfast or dinner. Staff friendly and helpful Will we be back? ABSOLUTLY YES

Room Tip: Suite is an excellent size, but if you have mobility issues the bath/shower could be tricky. Book c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NormanBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences. We have a limited number of reserved parking bays in the station car park charged at an additional £8.00 per day that we advise customers staying with us to book at the time of reservation. We’re glad to you were able to enjoy in the unique views we have to offer of St Ives Harbour and Porthminster Beach. Our housekeeper and her team work hard to ensure that all our cabin rooms have all complimentary items that travellers require today including, toiletries, fresh towels and well stocked tea & coffee facilities. We do advise our guests to make a reservation which is explained during the check-in process, as we do not guarantee tables, especially window tables as these are popular with the wonderful views we have to offer. We have invested a lot of time in our customer service training, so it is always pleasing to receive positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Pedn Olva
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Fabulous place to eat. Views to die for over the bay. I took my husband here for his birthday while in St Ives and it was great. We booked a table with sea view for the main meal and then moved outside for coffee and brandy and had amazing views. We had starters, steak for my husband and I had vegetable lasagna as I am a veggie and of course a bottle of merlot. We then had cheese and biscuits. The meal was superb and with the views it was the romantic evening I had hoped it would be. One evening we sat in another part outside which is the terrace and had a snack meal which was also great. This hotel is not listed as a restaurant so we were lucky to find it and spent most early evenings there sitting with a drink and taking in the views. Very average pricing. We also saw a seal and some people saw dolphins. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We cannot say as we did not stay as we were in an apartment that we had already booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitez4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StAustellManagement, Manager at Pedn Olva Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We’re pleased you were able to take advantage of the great views we have to offer of St Ives Harbour and the West- Cornwall coastline. We have invested a lot of time developing our menus to ensure there is something for everyone’s tastes, so it is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience. We’re pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Pedn Olva again soon. We appreciate your recommendation.

Pedn Olva
Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
900 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Primrose Valley Hotel
Primrose Valley Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Ives
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedn Olva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedn Olva Hotel

Property: Pedn Olva Hotel
Address: The Warren, St Ives TR26 2EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#7 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pedn Olva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pedn Olva, with the sea only thirty feet below and flanked by golden sands, is founded on blue-black granite rocks on the southern shores of St. Ives Harbour and Bay. Contemporary, romantic and breathtaking are but a few ways to describe the Pedn Olva, with its 29 distinctive bedrooms, restaurant, bar, terraces and outdoor heated swimming pool that make it an ideal stay for a getaway break, special meal or relaxing lunch. The plethora of windows facing the sea allows our guests to be as close as you can get to floating on the sea without leaving dry land. A safe haven for watching winter storms in front of a granite open fire, or seeing dolphins and seals playing in the bay from our sun drenched terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pedn Olva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedn Olva St Ives
Pedn Olva Hotel St Ives, Cornwall
Hotel Pedn Olva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing