We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view”
Review of Pedn Olva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pedn Olva Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2009

We did a dual centre holiday with the Atlantic on the Scillies (see seperate review) then went north to Padstow(see seperate review)

What can i say as a first time reviewer?

Booking - Simple through a central team
Location - to die for
Food - superb - a great experience
Service - excellent
Room - small - but beautifully kitted out and spotless

Would we do this trip again - YOU BET!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roundcornwall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,032)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

980 - 986 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2009

We held our civil partnership ceremony at the Pedn-Olva in May and couldn't have had a better time. The hotel is just beautiful, with amazing decor and views from all windows; bedrooms, lounge, restaurant and bar. The food was fantastic, with great breakfast and lunch. The wedding meal was just perfect. They have a new chef at the hotel and he's certainly making his mark. We had a good chat with him afterwards and he's a really nice guy too! We couldn't fault the staff; all really friendly and polite but very genuine. All in all, if you're thinking about any kind of do down in St Ives, you can't beat this place for service, quality and location. If you're just going for a weekend stay, you can't beat it for the same reasons. Thanks to everyone there for making our wedding so special.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestMidlandsCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

We recently held our wedding at the Pedn Olva hotel and it was absolutely fantastic. The buffet surpassed our expections, with everything being homemade and delicious. Breakfast was equally as good, with a great variety of dishes. Our guests who ate dinner there were also very complimentary. The new chef is doing wonders, all credit to him. The location is amazing, yes some of the rooms are small but all are tastefully decorated and have great views. Staff were friendly, helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petal75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2009

We attended a Wedding at the Hotel, and from the time we booked in to the day we left everything was fantastic, The meals were wonderful and even breakfast was great with such a vast array of choices.
The staff were wonderful also, nothing was too much trouble, and the service we received was excellent. Well done to everyone and especially the New Chef.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacCoolNewark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2009

A fantastic location and fantastic wedding food made this a weekend to remember!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane14E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2009

Stayed in this hotel april 09 for 2 nights.

Easy to get to, you just park at the train station car park and walk down a few steps. It cost £5.50 for 24hrs which is the same cost as parking in london for 4 minutes! If you were stopping in the busy summer months probably best to use the park and ride and get the train in.

Location is good only a few steps away and you are in St ives harbour. The hotel itself is stunning all rooms have superb sea views, you feel like you are in the sea as its so close. The restaurant is the same with breathtaking views as you eat, also the terrace on the top floor is great for a few beers and taking in the great scenery. Rooms are decorated nicely with local art and furniture, the hotel only uses local produce and tradesman which is nice. Food is really nice from breakfast to dinner.

This is the most enjoyable hotel in which we have stayed. Waking up to see the tide going out and watching the local fisherman come in from your own bed was lovely. All in all a big 10/10. We are regular visitors to St ives and have stopped in a few places but from now on its the pedn olva every time for us!

Thank hardtochooseaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2009

We stayed here for one night with st austell brewery special offer, the rooms were spotless and very comfortable with modern furniture and fittings. the views from the restaraunt and bar were breathtaking, staff very friendly and helpful, it is true that the rooms are quite small but this hotel has been built onto the rocks, so glad we ingored the previous review our experience was very positive and we would love to return,

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soniaCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
1 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
307 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#8 of 21 in St Ives
643 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedn Olva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedn Olva Hotel

Address: The Warren, St Ives TR26 2EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#4 Family Hotel in St Ives
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £92 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pedn Olva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pedn Olva, with the sea only thirty feet below and flanked by golden sands, is founded on blue-black granite rocks on the southern shores of St. Ives Harbour and Bay. Contemporary, romantic and breathtaking are but a few ways to describe the Pedn Olva, with its 30 distinctive bedrooms, restaurant, bar, terraces and outdoor heated swimming pool that make it an ideal stay for a getaway break, special meal or relaxing lunch. The plethora of windows facing the sea allows our guests to be as close as you can get to floating on the sea without leaving dry land. A safe haven for watching winter storms in front of a granite open fire, or seeing dolphins and seals playing in the bay from our sun drenched terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your Pedn Olva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedn Olva St Ives
Pedn Olva Hotel St Ives, Cornwall
Hotel Pedn Olva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing