We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpectedly delighted”
Review of Pedn Olva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pedn Olva Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
hampshire
1 review
“Unexpectedly delighted”
Reviewed 29 May 2010

The ash cloud stopped us going to Italy, so we decided to go to Cornwall and managed to book into the Pedn Olva for a couple of nights. Two nights turned into five! Our quiet balcony room was literally right above the rocks at the mouth of St Ives harbour, looking across at the picture-book image of colourful houses and shops piled up around St Ives. We loved watching the harbour and the sea in all it's moods. At dinner we found ourselves at a corner window table with amazing views - it was like being on a cruise ship except more interesting. In one direction was the sea, the other the beach with people playing in the sand and walking dogs till the sun had gone, and the little train snaking around the coast to St Ives station. It was magical and just what we needed.
And then the staff ... ! It's hard to know how a hotel could build such a completely warm, friendly group of people, but it can only say something very good about the management. Everyone we dealt with, reception, restaurant, housekeeping, they were all professional and caring. You couldn't ask for more.
That's it really - a wonderful experience, hopefully to be repeated. Oh, and as for the food ... and the breakfasts ... brilliant!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hampshireflyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    282
    93
    43
    29
See reviews for
181
543
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nristol, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2010

Just returned from a short break at the Pedn Olva. This is really in the best position in St Ives - views of the sea in all directions and a short level stroll to the centre of town. Our room was on the Porthminster beach side and had a balcony - terrific view of the beach and the Cafe.

The food was very good indeed (we had dinner included in the package) and felt that £25 for a three- course dinner was reasonable. Breakfast was also good. Some reviewers have criticised the rooms. Ours appears to have been newly decorated and was well-furnished. The rooms are quite small however (this is the nature of the building) and the shower room also quite small. We were perfectly happy with the room, and the bedding and towels were all very new looking and fresh.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacksgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

The pluses of this hotel were the amazing views from all rooms, nice quiet bar with wonderful big windows looking out to sea, really delicious breakasts and nice, helpful staff. Warned though, the room was nothing like as posh as its picture and the water wasn't very hot...having said that, a small price to pay for such a beautiful view when you open the curtains in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceClaireLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

As some other reviews have said, the hotel rooms are small but the staff are just excellent and the location is super. The staff just couldn't do enough for us and you got the impression it was because they enjoyed the job. We stayed two nights on an offer which included dinner. The food in the restauant was excellent. We normally love trying the restaurants in what ever area we are staying but the food was so good we had dinner there the second night. We both wanted to try the rest of the menu. The crab fishcake starter is excellent! Apparently it is a new chef. Our room had a balcony and we were able to fall asleep to the sounds of the waves. Bliss.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NIwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2010

Visited this hotel in May 2010, for the first time, and it definitely wont be the last!! The hotel itself was full of quirky charm that you would expect from a converted mine engine house. Its built into a cliff face which allows all rooms and public areas a real quirkiness which is just adorable. The room we stayed in had wall to wall breathtaking seaviews, we had the pleasure of waking up each morning to the sound of crashing waves on the rocks below. The room was perfect and we wouldnt change anything, it was tastefully decorated and provided an abundance of fresh towels and robes and also 'honey' products. All the staff we encountered were friendly and courteous and readily available to help in any way. The food, well put it this way, both my partner and myself, were overwhelmed by the quality of what was on offer. The Manager had informed that all the food is sourced locally and cooked in the hotel, well believe me it was definitely reflected in the taste!!! The menus for both breakfast and dinner (thats the deal we went on) were modern, sophisticated and presented in a very creative way, if thats all possible!!! St Ives itself is to die for, you cannot but relax, loved the whole pottering around, nice gentle walks and local hospitality. Overall my only regrets are that we did not extend our stay, but it is defintely on our list of perfect venues for our upcoming wedding!!!! My advice - go experience for yourself I doubt you will have any regrets. Well done to all staff at Pedn Olva, hope to see you all soon!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perkychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Perched on the edge of the rocks this former cornish tin mine, is a real find. They have mid week offers for a four night stay which is fantastic value for money but after four nights overlooking the beautiful bay you really want to stay for longer. The rooms are comfortable and clean, we had a shower only which the bathers might find off so stipulate on booking whether you prefer a bath or not. As you sit by the pool on a sunbed overlooking Porthminster beach you can decide what you fancy eating at the Portminster Cafe (see separate review) for fantastic food just across the bay. The breakfast in Pedn Olva is very good, but the evening meal we found to be very expensive, £63 for two with no wine.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelclicktv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2010

After our planned holiday to Mauritius was cancelled due to volcanic ash, we headed to St Ives in search of a bit of luxury, some great food and as much sunshine as possible. The hotel we booked was not what we expected at over £1200 for 6 nights (Carbis Bay ) so, having decided we could not stay there, we turned to tripadvisor and made our way to the Pedn Olva. By now it was about 5pm on Sunday evening. At the reception, we were greeted by Jill who was brilliant. There was one room available for 4 nights. Without hesitation she offered to show me the room. It was perfect for us with a huge window and a stunning view over the bay. It was simply furnished but with lovely white bedding and a peaceful feel, I was hooked. I explained what had happened and asked Jill if she would give us time to go back to the other hotel and check out.Officially she couldn't but she certainly went the extra mile by agreeing to give us time to get there and call her once we knew if we could get our money back. Soon afterwards we were back with her, fully refunded and (at last) looking forward to our break. We had dinner at the hotel that night - included in our package and totally unexpected - it was delicious, quality food, the service was excellent and the atmosphere relaxed and friendly. Well worth a visit even if you are not staying here. Breakfast is amazing - great options and a real touch of luxury. On our wedding anniversary, we had breakfast outside on the terrace overlooking the bay. A real treat. The weather was great so we were able to use the heated pool and sunbathe overlooking the beautiful bay below. We used the convenient exit at the back of the hotel to take frequent walks on the beach which gave the holiday a real overseas feel. Overall, we just want to say thankyou. The hotel staff are all very friendly and all seem prepared to put their guests needs first. Special mention of course to Jill for responding so brilliantly to avoid me going into total meltdown ! Of course without the reviews on tripadvisor, we would probably still be looking for somewhere to stay !!!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandSDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,618 reviews
1.0 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
229 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
923 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedn Olva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedn Olva Hotel

Property: Pedn Olva Hotel
Address: The Warren, St Ives TR26 2EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#7 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pedn Olva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pedn Olva, with the sea only thirty feet below and flanked by golden sands, is founded on blue-black granite rocks on the southern shores of St. Ives Harbour and Bay. Contemporary, romantic and breathtaking are but a few ways to describe the Pedn Olva, with its 29 distinctive bedrooms, restaurant, bar, terraces and outdoor heated swimming pool that make it an ideal stay for a getaway break, special meal or relaxing lunch. The plethora of windows facing the sea allows our guests to be as close as you can get to floating on the sea without leaving dry land. A safe haven for watching winter storms in front of a granite open fire, or seeing dolphins and seals playing in the bay from our sun drenched terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Pedn Olva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedn Olva St Ives
Pedn Olva Hotel St Ives, Cornwall
Hotel Pedn Olva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing