We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a lovely hotel.”
Review of Pedn Olva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pedn Olva Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“what a lovely hotel.”
Reviewed 13 December 2010

just had to write and give a positive review after staying here, it was lovely!!
the room was clean and well furnished and had everything you could want - from a gorgeous view, to a supply of biscuits and quality hot chocolate!!
the staff were all welcoming - even offering to carry a bag as she showed us to our room - such a thoughtful touch.
breakfast was gorgeous.
ideally placed for the stroll into town in the morning
faultless stay - cannot wait to book again!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy132star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    280
    93
    42
    29
See reviews for
180
542
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
396 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2010

Having stayed here before we knew what to expect- A very relaxed & comfortable atmosphere and great views accross the bay. We were very happy that the eggs benedict was on the menu for breakfast as it is supurb!!
Saw the seal from the room & will definately go back when there is another offer as is a bit pricey normally.
We tried the new gourmet fish & chip restaurant on the seafront which was great (sharing platter)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Having looked at previous reviews we went with an open mind, however, the hotel staff could not have been more welcoming on arrival. Our rooms were very clean and comfortable. Although not huge they are plenty big enough with everything you need whilst away. The view from the room was absolutely amazing, worth staying just for this. We even spotted a seal by the rocks. Breakfast was excellent with the staff very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and constantly asked if you wanted any more tea/coffee. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend and would definitely return here again. Overall we found the Pedn Olva a great place to stay with amazing views and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

I booked this hotel for my Brother's 40th birthday for 10 adults and 2 small children back in July. I had wanted a hotel in the centre of St Ives and this was the main reason for choosing this hotel. The location could not have been better- we had taken the train and it was literally 2 mins walk to the hotel from the station. The hotel was also in walking distance to the town centre and tourist spots and meant that we had the flexibility of eating and drinking out without having to book taxis.
We arrived in a large group late afternoon after a long train journey and I was slightly amused (irritated) by the slowness of the check in. The lady was very friendly but insisted on telling everyone each time they signed their check in form the same hotel rules, with all of listening over and over to the same instructions- and then walking each of us to our rooms separately, even though we were all staying in rooms next to one another.

The room was okay but I thought the view was wonderful and I presume the reason for the high cost. My mother paid extra for a room with a balcony but ended up with a sink outside the bathroom and tiny tiny toilet and shower. Think she would have done without the balcony for that. As I mentioned, the room was okay but it was the wake up calls in the early morning that ruined it for me. Our room was right next to a fire door by the main check-in desk and all you could here was it continuously banging every 5 minutes- not from guests but from the very chatty room maids that congregated right outside our door for 2 hours. I heard all their gossip and paid for the privilege. The other noise heard from the room (and others in my group also heard this) was from moving of tables and chairs above us. Not sure what was happening but it was also very irritating.

We spent a lot of time in the bar area and apart from a couple of friendly staff, most were miserable and made you feel guilty for ordering a drink- you could tell they didn't like their jobs much.

I think however that these problems could be resolved if the owners knew about them, but I didn't see an owner in sight so I'm not sure they spend much time at the hotel? I guess they don't need/care to change anything as the location sells the rooms.

Stay here if you're an early riser and love a good location.

I would recommend to some, for location only.

Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank essbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakewell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Stayed for several nights in August and paid £240 a night for a family room. At this price expected something fantastic, but very disappointed. Room was directly underneath the bar so suffered from extreme noise. The wooden floor in the bar made things even worse, especially at 7 in the morning when housekeeping staff were dragging chairs and tables across it! Room was very small and entirely average. Complained about the noise before we left, and also that we felt ripped off and folllowed it up with an email complaint - was told that the location was justification for the room rate, and that we should in future book by telephone, not via their website, to ensure an appropriate room could be allocated. Also charged £1 for a glass of lime cordial which is absolutely outrageous.The whole experience was entirely average, and we shall not return.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChequersFroggatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

I felt that this is a case of a hotel charging high prices, not for luxury, but for location. And it has to be said the location is fantastic - a short walk into St Ive's and glorious views across the harbour on one side and Porthminster Beach on the other. If you don't mind paying for this, then Pedn Olva is for you.

The actual hotel experience however, was a bit of a disappointment for someone not used to paying £170 a night and not getting something a little bit out of the ordinary. The room we were given was very small, had a tired bathroom, had very thin walls (earplugs were required) and stretched "sea view" a bit. It has to be said though, the bed itself was great. Breakfast was average to good when it came to the Cornish, but well below par for the eggs benedict - though the views from the breakfast lounge nearly made up for it. There is an additional £7.50 a day for parking if you want it. This may not seem cheap but having a reserved space in a place like St Ives where every space is like gold dust was well worth it if you intend to use your car.

Overall despite the prices, I think the location carried the place just about.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sqwawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fowey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2010

we were here for 3 nights and were thrilled with the updates in our favourite room. vispring king size bed. new fold away bunks for children. better bedside facilities. thick fluffy towels. staff very helpful and child friendly, which doesnt happen often in english hotels. the food was good enough to keep us eating in house for the duration of the stay. only regret was the breakdown of the pool heater and indulging on too many delicious cocktails!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beamishFowey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
1.0 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
921 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pedn Olva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pedn Olva Hotel

Property: Pedn Olva Hotel
Address: The Warren, St Ives TR26 2EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St Ives
#6 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#7 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pedn Olva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pedn Olva, with the sea only thirty feet below and flanked by golden sands, is founded on blue-black granite rocks on the southern shores of St. Ives Harbour and Bay. Contemporary, romantic and breathtaking are but a few ways to describe the Pedn Olva, with its 29 distinctive bedrooms, restaurant, bar, terraces and outdoor heated swimming pool that make it an ideal stay for a getaway break, special meal or relaxing lunch. The plethora of windows facing the sea allows our guests to be as close as you can get to floating on the sea without leaving dry land. A safe haven for watching winter storms in front of a granite open fire, or seeing dolphins and seals playing in the bay from our sun drenched terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Pedn Olva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pedn Olva St Ives
Pedn Olva Hotel St Ives, Cornwall
Hotel Pedn Olva

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing