We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, quiet, comfortable hotel”
Review of The Garrack Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Garrack Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
122 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great food, quiet, comfortable hotel”
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The Garrack is very odd. The location is great (if you have a car and do not fear tiny one lane roads), the views are wonderful out over the water, the rooms and bathrooms are HUGE and comlfortable and quiet. The food is the best we had on this trip to England - bar none of the other fancier places we stayed in Cornwall. The staff is quirky and the decoration and furniture are outdated and look very cheap.If they updated the decor, they couold charge a lot more for the rooms

Room Tip: Room 17 at end of hall had good view and was quie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank olderfemaletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    151
    60
    11
    12
See reviews for
84
393
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

The Garrack is tucked away in an elevated position above St Ives. It has pretty gardens with sunloungers and seaviews. We stayed there for 2 nights in late June. We were given a big, comfortable room with all mod cons and wonderful views of Porthmeor beach .

We particularly liked the hotel for its friendly, Cornish welcome, its cheerful staff and excellent food. Breakfast was the best we had compared to several other highly rated Cornish hotels we visited on that trip and dinner was of an excellent standard and imaginative without being too haute cuisine or fussy.

It's a small family run hotel, about 15 minutes walk downhill to The Tate Gallery and with plenty of parking on site. It is very professionally and charmingly run as it has been for a number of years and you can't fault the hospitality. We didn't use the indoor swimming pool and and gym facilities but they looked great and the pool was a decent size to seriously swim.

It is not a flashy, boutique-style B&B, but has the atmosphere of a comfortable and friendly country house hotel with stunning sea views.

We will certainly return in 2012.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank soozLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Hotel is excellent in every way. Lovely rooms, very friendly staff, and the food is excellent, really delicious and a lovely variety. Coffee is also available in the lounge after the evening meal if you wish ,where it is lovely to sit and meet other guests and have a chat., or if you prefer you may have it at your table. The views over St Ives from the Hotel are amazing.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillwickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2011

The hotel has rooms in both the original house and a more modern annex. We stayed in the house. A previous poster described them as "tired" we would say the owners have deliberately retained their original look and feel which we found delightful.
Another feature of the hotel was the quality of the food. It was excellent. Well done to the chef.
Well done also to the staff who were all so friendly and helpful.
All in all an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikegyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Our weekend at The Garrack Hotel was very relaxing, the hotel is an easy walk into St Ives, we travelled by train and found the location ideal for getting around the area. Our room was comfortable and quiet, the food in the hotel is of a very high standard with locally sourced ingredients and produce used. There is a cosy bar with a lovely view across the bay with a varied selection of drinks (including a extensive range of different Gin's, quite unusual). Our thanks to all the staff who made our weekend very enjoyable.

Room Tip: The hotel has parking available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzzard047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

The hotel is a nice place. It's in need of a bit of a tidy up. The staff let this place down. For the price you expect a certain level of service. There was a large lump of soggy Weetabix stuck to one of the breakfast chair - cleary visible - it was there for the duration of our 3 night stay. Over heard staff on several occasions winging about guests. Very unprofessional. I would be sacked if I worked to the very low standards achieved by certain staff members. Other than this, the hotel was nice, the owner was a lovely chap, shame about his staff!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jw1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

A quiet and peaceful hotel with very comfortable rooms, a superb restaurant and friendly intelligent staff and management. This was our fourth visit which will speak volumes.

Situated on the outskirts of St Ives (no need to drive through the crowded town centre to get there though you need a bit of courage to head down the narrow lane leadng to the hotel) with outstanding sea views. The Leisure Club is a warm place to go on wet days and serves a good range of cakes and cream teas though avoiding the local children's club is probably worthwhile.

The staff provided us with a small fridge for my husband's insulin and are very responsive to special dietary needs.

Room Tip: Rooms 18 and 21 - good sea views. Cottage is fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy187056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.8 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.7 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garrack Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garrack Hotel

Property: The Garrack Hotel
Address: Burthallan Lane, St Ives TR26 3AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St Ives
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#8 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garrack Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garrack Hotel and Restaurant. Small, quality 3 star hotel with stunning Atlantic sea views overlooking Porthmeor beach and the town of St Ives in Cornwall. Award winning restaurant, indoor pool, sauna and terraced garden for quiet relaxation. Private on-site car parking. 10 to 15 minutes walk from the harbour, town centre, beaches & coastal footpath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Garrack Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrack Hotel St Ives
The Garrack Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing