We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“These people should not be charging these room rates. Do not stay here.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Garrack Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Garrack Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“These people should not be charging these room rates. Do not stay here.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We have never written on trip advisor but we were so disappointed with this hotel , especially considering what we paid for, we had to do something. On arrival, we found that our toilet bin, which was full, had not been emptied. There were two seperate bathrooms- the toilet and bath were in one and the sinks were in the other- most bizzare and unhygenic. The room was in desperate need of re-decoration and new furniture. The 'spa' facilities were unclean (dirty floor and hair all over the sink) and the pool was small. We did not find the hotel staff particularly helpful or polite.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank kp1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yblikas, Owner at The Garrack Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Thank you for the questionnaire which you completed for your 1 night stay in April. Passing through reception you reported the un-emptied bin to me and it was immediately dealt with. Sorry that I did not get to apologise for the oversight, as you were out for the evening and I did not get the opportunity before you departed in the morning.

The bathroom design/layout is not traditional but many guests have found it to be very practical. Personally, I find a bath in a bedroom bizarre!

The comment about “desperate need of redecoration & new furniture” I can take issue with. It is a comment reflecting personal style & taste rather than the actual condition of the décor & the modern bespoke furniture that is in the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    149
    59
    11
    12
See reviews for
83
385
26
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2011

I am afraid that I have to disagree with the mostly favourable reviews posted to this site concerning the Garrack Hotel. We stayed in Room 16 and I would not so much call it tired as comatose. This room is in a cottage annexe in the gardens of the hotel. The room was very disappointing for the following reasons:
Dirty carpet, water stained walls, thin partition-type walls, rotting window sills, earwigs in carpet (dead and alive), stained and worn chest of drawers, low standard of cleaning: a dead moth on the window sill and a dead spider hanging over the bath and old tissues behind the bed were not removed or noticed during the 3 days of our stay, black mould ingrained into the net curtains and into the backs of the curtains, depressing low quality, worn furniture.
At least the owners of the hotel must have a sense of humour as they charged us £181 per night (B&B). Personally I don’t wish to stay in a room like this at ANY price (let alone £181) especially when the owners seem unwilling to expend any effort or expense to maintain even what I would call a minimum standard.
As for the hotel itself, well, this is a symphony of rotting wood and in dire need of some basic maintenance and renovation. The place looked to me like it hasn’t had a penny spent on it for the last 30 years. On arrival we were decided to try out the hotel pool but were unable because it was completely occupied by a mother and baby group from the outside. We never visited the pool again as I have had previous experience of swimming in water that has been contaminated by incontinent babies and that was not a pleasant hygiene experience, believe me. The furniture in the hotel public areas was worn and tired and again there were some reservations about the standards of cleanliness, for example old chewing gum stuffed down the back of the cushion of our dining bench.
On the positive side the breakfasts were the best I have had in any hotel. Even the toast was warm when it arrived at the table and the quality and variety of the other ingredients was top notch. The evening meal was similarly excellent. The views of St Ives from the gardens of the hotel were pleasant and there is a good car park.
To summarise, this is a tired hotel which is in great need of refurbishment, basic maintenance and investment. Our room was a great disappointment and extremely poor value for money. The hotel seems to trade on its position and lack of competition, rather than striving for a good customer experience, to maintain its trade.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank chemistatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yblikas, Owner at The Garrack Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Departing guests are provided with a questionnaire as a proactive step to obtain their opinions. Collating the responses from the questionnaires indicates where we can provide better service and prioritise areas for improvement. It is a pity that we did not receive a completed questionnaire at the time, with these views expressed. I assume this was a conscious decision, so as to remain incognito!

TravelhoundDorset has expressed his views in a sort of travel critic’s style, which mixes fact with poetic licence for effect. I am happy to state that we have continuous ongoing maintenance that will never ever finish. Pounds have been spent over 46 years, being the period of our family ownership. The hotel is not large, so I can only assume he has not noticed the public areas that have been redecorated over the last 18 months or it has not been in his preferred style. A picture of some wooden facia in need of replacement (by the pool), is currently the lesser evil than builders scaffolding and complaints of building work during the summer season. I am sure that the proprietor of the Baby Swim Academy (& parents), who teaches the Mother & baby swimming class, would take exception to the cynical groundless comment that her classes were bound to contaminate the pool water (after his actual experience of a swimming pool elsewhere).

The room in question actually has new bedroom furniture (white base with natural beech tops) a side of a bed side table is depicted in the Flora & Fauna photos. As the furniture delivery was short of a chest a drawers, the old worn drawers had been left in the room so as not to be without. Obviously, this was the wrong thing to do. The room height curtains for the bay window have black out lining which has light patchy staining of mould caused by previous condensation, which dry cleaning has been unable to remove (In normal circumstances the curtain lining is not seen). We have many rooms that are on the ground floor overlooking garden, bushes etc. The garden wild life (moths, flying insects, spiders etc) will make it through an open window, which are obviously open at this time of year for required ventilation.

Hotels would like to hear about any problems as soon as they arise. If there is a cleaning issue it can be sorted quickly and steps taken to ensure that the area is not missed in future. I would prefer to close the gate before the horse bolts, rather than watch an open gate, to see the horse bolt and then write about a lost horse!

I am pleased that the restaurant has largely escaped unscathed and its quality recognised for both breakfast & dinner. In order to produce the quality of food, it requires the expense of a good chef & kitchen brigade, good quality fresh ingredients and waiting staff. Not the hallmark of an establishment trying to operate on the cheap and without competition!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
121 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

The Garrack is very odd. The location is great (if you have a car and do not fear tiny one lane roads), the views are wonderful out over the water, the rooms and bathrooms are HUGE and comlfortable and quiet. The food is the best we had on this trip to England - bar none of the other fancier places we stayed in Cornwall. The staff is quirky and the decoration and furniture are outdated and look very cheap.If they updated the decor, they couold charge a lot more for the rooms

Room Tip: Room 17 at end of hall had good view and was quie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank olderfemaletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

The Garrack is tucked away in an elevated position above St Ives. It has pretty gardens with sunloungers and seaviews. We stayed there for 2 nights in late June. We were given a big, comfortable room with all mod cons and wonderful views of Porthmeor beach .

We particularly liked the hotel for its friendly, Cornish welcome, its cheerful staff and excellent food. Breakfast was the best we had compared to several other highly rated Cornish hotels we visited on that trip and dinner was of an excellent standard and imaginative without being too haute cuisine or fussy.

It's a small family run hotel, about 15 minutes walk downhill to The Tate Gallery and with plenty of parking on site. It is very professionally and charmingly run as it has been for a number of years and you can't fault the hospitality. We didn't use the indoor swimming pool and and gym facilities but they looked great and the pool was a decent size to seriously swim.

It is not a flashy, boutique-style B&B, but has the atmosphere of a comfortable and friendly country house hotel with stunning sea views.

We will certainly return in 2012.

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank soozLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Hotel is excellent in every way. Lovely rooms, very friendly staff, and the food is excellent, really delicious and a lovely variety. Coffee is also available in the lounge after the evening meal if you wish ,where it is lovely to sit and meet other guests and have a chat., or if you prefer you may have it at your table. The views over St Ives from the Hotel are amazing.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillwickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

The hotel has rooms in both the original house and a more modern annex. We stayed in the house. A previous poster described them as "tired" we would say the owners have deliberately retained their original look and feel which we found delightful.
Another feature of the hotel was the quality of the food. It was excellent. Well done to the chef.
Well done also to the staff who were all so friendly and helpful.
All in all an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikegyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

Our weekend at The Garrack Hotel was very relaxing, the hotel is an easy walk into St Ives, we travelled by train and found the location ideal for getting around the area. Our room was comfortable and quiet, the food in the hotel is of a very high standard with locally sourced ingredients and produce used. There is a cosy bar with a lovely view across the bay with a varied selection of drinks (including a extensive range of different Gin's, quite unusual). Our thanks to all the staff who made our weekend very enjoyable.

Room Tip: The hotel has parking available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzzard047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.8 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.7 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garrack Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garrack Hotel

Property: The Garrack Hotel
Address: Burthallan Lane, St Ives TR26 3AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St Ives
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#8 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garrack Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garrack Hotel and Restaurant. Small, quality 3 star hotel with stunning Atlantic sea views overlooking Porthmeor beach and the town of St Ives in Cornwall. Award winning restaurant, indoor pool, sauna and terraced garden for quiet relaxation. Private on-site car parking. 10 to 15 minutes walk from the harbour, town centre, beaches & coastal footpath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Garrack Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrack Hotel St Ives
The Garrack Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing