We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay in St Ives”
Review of The Garrack Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Garrack Hotel
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“One night stay in St Ives”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Stayed at The Garrack for one night on a tour of Cornwall this summer. It was practically the only place in St Ives that allowed us to book one night only. The hotel is hidden away in a quiet residential area. We got what we expected ie a hotel with a need of refurbishment. It is quite old fashion but I guess it has it's charm.
Our room was big, eighties decor but the view made up for it. We had a beautiful view of the garden and then sea. The hotel has a pool which we didn't use.
Unlike some of the reviews we have read we didn't find the staff that helpful and the receptionist wasn't very friendly. He basically did the deed of giving us our keys and showing us to our room and charged us when we left but he was a man of few words.
At breakfast I asked for some honey and was told that if it wasn't on the table they didn't have any. It felt as if they couldn't be bothered to go and get it as I can't imagine for one minute that a hotel of that size did not have honey somewhere in their kitchens.
On departure date we were struggling with our suitcases, up some very steep stairs, when a man who worked at the hotel popped out of one of the rooms and asked whether we were off - I half expected him to ask whether we needed help, instead he said 'bye' and left us struggling with our cases . Not what I would call helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AP_JLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    153
    64
    12
    12
See reviews for
88
408
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We recently spent the most enjoyable five nights at this gem of an hotel and restaurant in St.Ives. The whole experience was something to remember for a long time. The staff were all extremely efficient especially in the restaurant where the food was as good as many high class restaurants we have ate in. The hotel was extremely well provided for, comfortable clean,warm and above all friendly. We could not have chosen a better hotel and restaurant for an autumn break. We will be back shortly for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We passed by the Garrack quite accidentally at the end of September and decided to stay for a couple of nights when we saw the charming building that literally was oozing vintage country elegance.
We can only recommend this place. A couple of mins walk brings you to the town centre and the Coastal Footpath starts right behind the hotel. But don't dare to eat anywhere than the Garrack! It was the very best food we ever had (and I used to work for a celebrity chef for some time and am rather spoilt), haute cuisine at reasonable prices, seasonal food and exceptional, modern compositions.
Furthermore, the hotel (and staff) is dog friendly and as dog owners may know it's very hard to find a high class, dog friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucky-pixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Recently spent 3 nights at this lovely hotel.A hidden gem, a little difficult to find using sat nav- should have followed the signposts telling us not to use sat nav. A wonderful friendly and comfortable hotel with excellent food ,normally this standard is found only in the best restaurants. The staff are genuinely friendly and helpful which makes such a difference to your stay. We will definately stay there again when we are in Cornwall, our stay was truly memorable and we look forward to going back there soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshlady8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Last stayed here 25 years ago for our honeymoon. Return trip was wonderful. Great room with fabulous views over St Ives. Food in the restaurant was excellent as were the staff, especially Kylie who made us feel very special on the evening of our silver wedding. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and plan to visit next year as we had such a great time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susieq65034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Recently spent 3 nights including my birthday at this splendid hotel. The facilities were excellent, including a very clean and warm indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi and fitness centre. The food was superb, especially dinner which was beautifully presented and delicious. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and made my birthday a special event. The views from the room and from the hotel grounds over St Ives bay were stunning. They are also dog friendly, allowing dogs in some bedrooms and in the bar area. Would not have any hesitation recommending the Garrack.

Room Tip: Avoid a room near the kitchen extractor fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milo1068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

This hotel was a delightful surprise! Gardens and pool are a bonus. Staff are friendly and well informed about local happenings.
The quiet is amazing and a great soul restorer.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,658 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.7 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
960 reviews
1.7 mi away
Boskerris Hotel
Boskerris Hotel
#1 of 4 in Carbis Bay
763 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
Bay St. Ives Bay Hotel
#14 of 21 in St Ives
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garrack Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garrack Hotel

Property: The Garrack Hotel
Address: Burthallan Lane, St Ives TR26 3AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St Ives
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#8 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garrack Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garrack Hotel and Restaurant. Small, quality 3 star hotel with stunning Atlantic sea views overlooking Porthmeor beach and the town of St Ives in Cornwall. Award winning restaurant, indoor pool, sauna and terraced garden for quiet relaxation. Private on-site car parking. 10 to 15 minutes walk from the harbour, town centre, beaches & coastal footpath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Garrack Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrack Hotel St Ives
The Garrack Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing