We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great food and great people”
Review of The Garrack Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Garrack Hotel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We went to the Garrack for a break before Christmas, so it wasn't too busy. The staff were all great, very helpful and friendly. We had a lager room with a wonderful sea view and also took the dog, so many long walks on the beautiful local beaches and coastline. The food was outstanding, the presentation was excellent as was the taste, the house wine was also very good and complimented the food. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The modern annex has great views and leads out onto the garden, great for fresh air, fine sea views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

Returning for one of our many visits, we invited friends to join us because we were so confident that The Garrack offers real quality in the things that matter most. It is in a superb location overlooking St. Ives, the food is excellent and the house wine was remarkable. Staff are not just friendly and efficient: on New Year's Eve they were in fancy dress and did everything possible to ensure the enjoyment of guests. The bedrooms are generally pleasant and well equipped (but ask for a seaview room) and the leisure club, which serves excellent snacks, has a pool sufficient for swimming. The style is part of the appeal - family run, superb food and offering unpretentious excellence.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flipjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Overlooking the sea and Porthmeor Beach waking up in the morning to that view is breathtaking.
All is good here, food is 1st class as is the service -- all you would expect from a quality family run hotel.

Room Tip: choose a room on the lower level for a view you will never tire of
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilCottrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed at the Garrack at the end of November and decided to pay a little bit more for a room with a view. The room we ended up in was absolutely wonderful. A lovely huge double bed, great sea view and the people were very helpful. It was my boyfriend's birthday and they made his dessert personal with happy birthday in chocolate on the plate. The food itself in the hotel was also top quality!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mya1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Our favourite hotel in the South West, we have been using this quirky, friendly, family run hotel for over ten years, food and service are always excellant and our vegan friend was very impresssed with the menu specially prepared for her. We have stayed in the modern annexe with superb sea views and recently in a more tradtional room in keeping with the character of the old house. We especially enjoy a coffee or night cap in the lounge which would not be out of place in an Agatha Christie novel. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Have stayed here on so many occasions always in early January. The welcome is always friendly not only to me but also to my dog. The rooms vary but all I have stayed in have been at least pleasant but others very good. The restaurant is excellent and the wine pricing is fantastic value. LOve the list of gins for my pre dinner drink.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UKDavy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Having traveled Turkey/Ireland/Scotland and Cornwall, we were a bit accommodation lagged. Small rooms heaps of stairs distant views etc, etc.

Another hotel recommended the Garrack - so glad they did.

+
Cheerful and efficient check in,
Room on ground level,
Huge room with panoramic views over St Ives and beaches,
Separate bathroom - toilet combination, luxury !
Coffee/tea facilities available and easy to use,
A laundry for guests - great !
A 25m heated pool - fantastic,
Restaurant - on a rainy night - good presentation and choice - very good food at reasonable prices (we ate at Rick Steins, St Petroc Bistro the previous evening - which at best was very poor pub food) The Garrack restaurant was far superior in every respect.
Super large king size bed - firm mattress and pillows - heaven !
Free Wi-Fi in public areas, however, during our brief stay, poor connectivity and weak signal,
The Garrack was just what we needed to re-charge the batteries - highly recommended !!

Room Tip: Request room with ocean views - you will be rewarded !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.8 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,732 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,012 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
977 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garrack Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garrack Hotel

Address: Burthallan Lane, St Ives TR26 3AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St Ives
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#8 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £58 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garrack Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garrack Hotel and Restaurant. Small, quality 3 star hotel with stunning Atlantic sea views overlooking Porthmeor beach and the town of St Ives in Cornwall. Award winning restaurant, indoor pool, sauna and terraced garden for quiet relaxation. Private on-site car parking. 10 to 15 minutes walk from the harbour, town centre, beaches & coastal footpath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Garrack Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrack Hotel St Ives
The Garrack Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing