We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Full marks - again!”
Review of The Garrack Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Garrack Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Marlborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Full marks - again!”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We are regular visitors and have not been disappionted so far. The staff are excellent and the food is first rate; the breakfast is outstanding. The rooms are comfortable and the views are breathtaking. The spa is an excellent place for elevenses and the pool is a joy for swimmers.
It is an ideal spot for an energetic walk along the wild coast so bring the appropriate gear.
This is an hospitable, comfortable and friendly independent hotel and I am already looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: The sea views are terrific and well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DavidG528774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    151
    60
    11
    12
See reviews for
84
395
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We keep coming back, we enjoy our stays at the Garrack so much. Each time we visit, something has been upgraded, redecorated, improved, which we really appreciate. The food, service, accommodation are all outstanding, in our opinion. The location is superb - we generally walk into St Ives, but taxis are readily available and not expensive. The room we have used is spacious, has a lovely view over the ocean, and good bathroom facilities. Breakfast and dinner are very, very good - and the dining room staff are friendly and efficient. Joanne deserves a special mention, because she makes every guest feel special.

We take our dog, like the fact that he is welcome but glad that there are boundaries, such as not being allowed in the dining room [which, despite being a dog-lover, I wouldn't like!] There are so many good walks, good for him and good for us to digest the delicious meals!

I think above everything it is the relaxed atmosphere at the Garrack that we like - everyone is friendly without being intrusive, helpful and interested in their guests. We will keep going back!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingwilbury61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winona, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I am delighted to share my experience at The Garrack, as I have enjoyed the warm hospitality, excellent service and gracious ambiance of The Garrack and their staff several times over the last 13 years. Returning there is always a joy! The bountiful breakfasts, elegant & delicious dinners and incomparable setting make for an exceptional vacation in the most gorgeous place on the planet.
Exaggeration? No.
Perfection? Absolutely!
Every single upgrade made over the years has only improved upon this jewel, without compromising any of its warmth and coziness. The roaring fire in the lovely lounge, the intimate cocktail areas, the exquisite dining room overlooking well-tended gardens and the coast - as well as the superb accommodations and outstanding staff - combine to create an atmosphere unmatched anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My husband and I came here for our wedding anniversary along with our two dogs. We had a lovely large clean room that accommodated us well, the dogs were most welcome which meant a lot to us, the staff were friendly and always on hand to help and advise us in fact they were excellent, the food was out of this world enhanced by the beautiful views from the dining room. We will be visiting again!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyHarpers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahoe City, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

The Garrack really manages to look after you with an excellent breakfast and a good dining experience and is very reasonably priced .The staff are all very helpful and will go out of their way to help make your stay as comfortable as possible .
The indoor pool was very welcome after a long flight from the West Coast of the USA and then the relatively short commute from Heathrow .The inhouse bar has an excellent Gin selection , better than some swanky restaurants in London.
This hotel is very strategically positioned overlooking Porthmeor Beach giving an instant surf check.
I've been here twice in 4 months and had wonderful sunshine in Dec and March..........

Room Tip: Pay the small extra charge for a fantastic view of the Atlantic........
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rutgerr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We were wishing for a good experience as we really wanted a family run hotel that took dogs we could go back to in the future. A missed opportunity as it felt no one cared. At dinner on the second night we had to wait 30 mins after dinner and no one came to take our deserts. When we asked to be served we got a frosty reception from the waitress.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JonHollingbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We are a young couple, looking to have a mini break and so chose St.Ives for our short stay. We found The Garrack hotel online and the AA Cornwall guide had also recommended the hotel so we thought we were onto a winner for our stay. After a long and difficult journey down from Birmingham we had phoned ahead to inform the receptionist we would be arriving quite late. Upon arrival we were greeted by a rather cool receptionist who remained tight lipped and devoid of eye contact throughout book in, he carried my luggage and showed us to our room. Not much warmth there but perhaps he had had a longer day than we had.
We could not fault the room, the bed was lovely, really comfortable everywhere was spotless and our view was stunning. The shower and jacuzzi bath were also nice and everywhere clean.
Breakfast was quite nice, the ladies serving us were really friendly and the service there was good. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk into St.Ives down hill, not a problem for us as were quite able bodied but not for the faint hearted on the way back up! We had a swim in the pool and sat in the sauna for a while after our day out and about. Facilities were good, the gentleman who was looking after the bar and the pool was really helpful and friendly. We had a drink in the bar before heading into St.Ives for our supper, the bar is okay, nice view towards the bay but a bit stuffy and atmosphere-less. So we decided to walk into St.Ives for supper and decided asking at reception would be best. However when we asked for a recommendation for a restaurant the owner of the hotel who was at the reception was really most stand-offish! It was really strange and embarrassing. We were told we would be lucky to get in anywhere at such a late hour or most places would stop serving food. (It was 8.45pm!) When I pushed further and specifically asked if he could recommend anywhere that served a good fish dish, or was of a particular high standard he shrugged his shoulders and replied with "Wherever, everywhere...your in St.Ives" It was as if he really didn't want to give us an answer. Such arrogant and standoffish behaviour is very strange in a proprietor, why would you reply to your guests like that? It completely baffled us. Perhaps he wanted us to dine at the hotel, but come on, who doesn't want to eat out at local bars and restaurants and sample the nightlife when your on holiday? Needless to say we headed into St.Ives and found a fantastic Inn, with a fantastic menu and bags of atmosphere. Would defiantly stay in St.Ives again, however after a cool reception on a couple of occasions from staff we would probably choose to spend our hard earned money elsewhere!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank MsAmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.8 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.7 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garrack Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garrack Hotel

Property: The Garrack Hotel
Address: Burthallan Lane, St Ives TR26 3AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St Ives
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#8 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garrack Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garrack Hotel and Restaurant. Small, quality 3 star hotel with stunning Atlantic sea views overlooking Porthmeor beach and the town of St Ives in Cornwall. Award winning restaurant, indoor pool, sauna and terraced garden for quiet relaxation. Private on-site car parking. 10 to 15 minutes walk from the harbour, town centre, beaches & coastal footpath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Garrack Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrack Hotel St Ives
The Garrack Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing