We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Garrack Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Gannet Inn(Carbis Bay)
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$234
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$399
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$359
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Hotel(Carbis Bay)
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (663)
Filter reviews
663 results
Traveller rating
394
167
73
13
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
394
167
73
13
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool barcaravan parksea viewporthmeor beachmain buildinglovely hotelfour poster bedbreakfast and dinnerstayed for nightsfantastic viewslovely roomshort breakhotel is situatedtown centretate galleryout of seasonsteep hill
Filter
Updating list...
414 - 419 of 663 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I bought the 3 night Groupon stay as a surprise for my wife. It included one 3 course dinner, a cream tea and breakfast each morning. We arrived on 7th March 2013.
Following a number of poor Groupon deals, I was a little apprehensive but this deal turned out to be incredible value for money.
The hotel is in a beautiful location, overlooking Porthmeor beach, and a 15 minute walk from the picturesque and characterful St Ives. It is downhill into the town and a fairly steep climb coming back. However, my wife and I managed it with no difficulties. The taxi fare is only £4.50 for those with less energy.
We had room 23 and I would highly recommend it. It is near to the excellent pool/spa/bar and has a large window overlooking the beach.
We booked in for dinner on our first night and relaxed in the bar with a pre-dinner drink. The bar stocks bottled beers and wine and is open to residents all day at the ring of a bell! The staff were conscientious, polite and hard working. Nothing was too much trouble.
The quality of the food, both at dinner and at breakfast was superb. The dining area was light and airy with views across towards the sea.
This break was simply one of the most enjoyable that I have experienced in the UK. I cannot find fault with any of it and we hope to return in the near future.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We visited the Garrack on an amazingly good value Groupon deal which included an overnight stay plus breakfast, evening dinner and a cream tea. As this was listed as a 3 star hotel we were not anticipating too much but our expectations were well exceeded on every front. Firstly the reception and booking staff were very helpful and friendly, we arrived a little early and as our room was ready ( and we had 3 small dogs with us) they were very happy for us to go into our accomodation - no grudging actions here, they were just very accommodating. We were lucky enough to be staying in Room 8 which is actually a fair sized cottage/apartment. It has a large kitchen/diner area (quarry tiled and with underfloor heating so superb with dogs) a lounge area and large bedroom ( both with lovely sea views). We could not believe our luck! There was also a small lawned garden adjoining the property for our dogs. We settled in and were given a small tour of the property and were very impressed.We happened to meet one of the chefs who offered us some marrow bones for our dogs which was very kind. They have a lovely cosy lounge area which had a gorgeous open fire burning and a really nice dining room. When we saw the menu we could hardly believe that this was included in the price It was very varied with some unusual ingredients and with no restrictions or supplements for different choices. The leisure area was warm and friendly with a decent sized swimming pool,and also includes a snack bar area ( where we had the most delicious cream tea with obviously freshly made scones which were still warm.)

Our evening meal was a real highlight. The chef has a real flair and understanding of flavour combinations and, if we lived locally, I would have been delighted to have booked to go here just as a restaurant rather than a hotel stay. Service was good and they have a very well stocked wine cellar.All our courses were a delight and very attractively presented. I chose a rib eye steak with bearnaise sauce which came with asparagus spears and celeriac puree and a desert of creme brulee which was accompanied by a berry compote and peach concentration - heavenly together!

Breakfast the next morning ( after a very comfortable nights sleep) was also super. The breakfast menu was very varied and the food extremely well cooked. I have been to much higher star rated hotels and not had such good food or such friendly service

It couldn't have been easier to have the dogs here with us. From the car park of the property you can turn right and down a little lane which leads to a headland and the coast path. It was a good walk with no traffic and loads of room for our dogs to run on the headland.The scenery is beautiful!

If you get the feeling we were impressed you would be right and my husband and I will be hoping to return to this peaceful and friendly haven. Thanks to Sam, Emma, Joanne, Bronnen Kate and the chef for making our stay so memorable.Hope to see you all again.

Room Tip: If you have dogs room 8 would be ideal for you. Even if you don't it is a lovely apartment ideal for self catering.It has a washing machine and full size fridge and was really roomy.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaigntonWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Although I live locally have always wanted to dine at The Garrack, with the Groupon Voucher I was entitled to a night’s stay and evening meal in the restaurant for more or less the same cost! The meal was fabulous - not a special menu for the offer - only disappointment was I had to eat my steak with the bread knife, as my knife was taken away with my starter and no replacement knife bought, The table opposite were given a steak knife when they ordered - so not sure what happened to our table! Would still dine there again though as the food was excellent.
Hotel room was of good size, very comfortable bed, and good quality linen. Radiator turned off when we arrived but quickly warmed the room - it was only 2 degrees outside! Room 12 has no view but not really a problem for us. There is a relaxing lounge with a log fire with various games and comfy chairs so you are not restricted to your room. The pool and sauna were lovely although now a bit dated, the changing rooms weren't really that good and the gym equipment unusable as the building was so warm for the pool, would have been much too hot to exercise. Anyone staying here though would not need the exercise the walking in/out of St. Ives is enough!
Breakfast was excellent - whoever is the chef really knows his stuff. Thank you for a very enjoyable stay, would recommend.

Room Tip: Not the ground floor beside reception - no view, but extremely quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xfilesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

what a treat! no overheated hotel or room. very clean and tidy. lovely log fire. amazing food 5star chef! staff very helpful without overdoing it. lovely firm mattress and as for the cliff walks ..... amazing!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gill m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Recently returned from 3 day break at the Garrack. Friendly welcome, helpful staff, large warm room with a great view of Porthmeor beach, about 10 to 15 minutes walk away. Breakfast and dinner high quality in light and airy restaurant. Would recomend without qualification. Bill and Jo

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo-Bill1521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews