We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of The Garrack Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Garrack Hotel
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed at the Garrack Hotel for 1 night as part of a groupon deal. We really enjoyed our time there. The staff were really friendly, the leisure facilities were lovely and the sea view from the dining room was glorious, as was the food.
Our room was slightly disappointing as it looked as if we were put in the only room yo have the view of a car park and a wall, which I assumed was because we stayed there on a deal, but it was really quiet with not many in house guests at all so I felt they could have been more generous- after all then we would have spread the word, but never mind.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2013

Just spend two nights at The Garrack and had an superb time, the staff are so friendly and helpful. The evening meal and breakfast were excellent, service very prompt and courteous. Our room was really big with a huge bed and great views of St Ives beach and coast, nice and warm too, plenty of hot water for (power) showers and baths. Location is at the top of St Ives with a 10 minute walk to town and easy parking.
Bar was well stocked with local bottled ales and huge range of Gins which you can idle away a good few minutes chatting (and drinking) to Stephen about and then retire to the lounge with its open fire.
For walkers you just go out of the stile at the back of the carpark and within 15 minutes your on the coast path with its amazing views
The hotel has a wonderful relaxed atmosphere which was perfect for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view -room number 17 is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We recently spent 3 days at the Garrack using a Groupon voucher. The room was a good size, warm, clean with crisp cotton bed linen and the most beautiful panoramic view of the sea. We found the staff extremely helpful and cheerful, nothing was too much trouble. The food was good and the evening meals were not too pricey. We would be happy to stay here again. Excellent value.

Room Tip: Garden annexe. Room 23 has marvellous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Following our 3 night break, we have no hesitation in recomending The Garrack Hotel to anyone who enjoys delicious food ,well prepared and nicely presented. All of the staff are friendly and obligeing. The views from the hotel are an added bonus. To quote General Patton "We shall return"

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan-janetmillward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We were given a groupon voucher for Christmas to stay at the Garrack. We were given the cottage annexe which was beautiful. Excellent sea view. Breakfast was fantastic with plenty of choice. All staff were very polite. You do however have to take into account the fact that the hotel is at the top of the hill however the cost of a taxi from the town was only £3.50. All in all we had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui0363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Using a Groupon voucher, we had very good value for money. The room was well appointed, and good views of the sea. Growth in St. Ives has made it more difficult to find this hotel (as well as others). We had stayed here a few times in the past.

Did not think the food was exceptional (and unless you want to walk down some steep roads there's no competition). The reception area and entrance could be made prettier and more welcoming. Staff were great! Health spa area good for pool and steam, cream tea served here in the humidity.

Room Tip: There are a lot of steps up and down so beware if you have difficulty walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parson156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We have just returned after a 2 night break at The Garrack via Groupon and would like to say how much we enjoyed our visit and it exceeded our expectations.

The staff are all very welcoming and friendly and cant do enough for you.

Because of the offer via Groupon the only room left for the weekend was number 16 in the garden annexe and we were a little apprehensive - would it be cold? far away? but we were very pleasantly surprised and actually probably preferred staying here than the main hotel even though it was raining. It was clean, lovely comfortable bed and very warm and a very short distance from hotel, although there are some steps if mobility is a problem.

The food was lovely and one morning i had the smoked salmon with scrambled eggs on granary toast and would recommend. There is a good selection of cereals, yoghurts etc and if you want extra toast etc the staff are happy to oblige. The views are stunning of the beach and surrounding area but because of this, it is quite a steep walk down into the town although does only take 10 minutes. Take note of where hotel is because our 1st night we got lost in the rain after a few sambuccas in The Sloop Inn on the harbour!

There are a few quiet areas in the main hotel including a very comfortable sitting room with log fire.

St Ives itself is beautiful and we shall be returning hopefully in the future with friends and would be happy to stay at The Garrack again. Thank you for a lovely weekend break.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bristolblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.8 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,735 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,015 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garrack Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garrack Hotel

Address: Burthallan Lane, St Ives TR26 3AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St Ives
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#8 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £58 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garrack Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garrack Hotel and Restaurant. Small, quality 3 star hotel with stunning Atlantic sea views overlooking Porthmeor beach and the town of St Ives in Cornwall. Award winning restaurant, indoor pool, sauna and terraced garden for quiet relaxation. Private on-site car parking. 10 to 15 minutes walk from the harbour, town centre, beaches & coastal footpath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Garrack Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrack Hotel St Ives
The Garrack Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing