We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money using a groupon deal.”
Review of The Garrack Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Garrack Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great value for money using a groupon deal.”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This was our second stay at The Garrack. We decided to visit out of season using a Groupon Deal. We stayed in room 17, which, if I'm being honest, is starting to look a bit tired in places and was a little chilly overnight. However, seeing as the price of our stay was so heavily discounted, we made allowances for this. On the whole, we had a lovely time and would most definitely stay again. We were however quite annoyed to hear a lady on the dinner table behind us saying how awful room 17 was and how glad they were to have be moved rooms. It was more than adequate for us, but I suspect that we were given this room based on what we paid, which is fair enough. The view is amazing and the staff friendly. The evening meal was nothing short of delicious, the service was spendid. We seemed to be forgotten at breakfast and waited a considerable time for our hot food order to be taken. It was no big deal though.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahGomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    151
    60
    11
    12
See reviews for
84
394
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Had a lovely stay at the Garrack. Staff very friendly.
Room had lovely view out to sea.
would definately come again if we could get the same deal
Small swimming pool and did not look like the fitness room was used much but enjoyed the sauna.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnewilson25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Just an overnight break, to recharge the batteries. We were made to feel very welcome in good quality (but not latest boutique style) accommodation. Bedroom, with great views of the sea, in a chalet style, spotlessly clean.
Leisure centre is very dated, with small swimming pool and even smaller gym, however ideal for young children and the staff are very helpful.
Dinner and breakfast both excellent. Overall , at the right price, great place to stop when visiting St Ives.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redruth Cornwall
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

we love St Ives and I really wanted to treat my wife for her 60th, but we have a Greyhound with seperation anxiety, so are limited on where we can go, The Garrack made us feel at home from the minute we arrived, with the receptionist fussing Diesel. We had a great room with sea view & plenty of room for his huge bed & bowls !!. They have a room off the bar where you can eat with the dog. The staff had put up a happy birthday banner & bithday sprinkles on the table. The food is excellent & they did a platter with happ birthday on for Tina's desert & sang happy birthday when they served it. There is also a small comfy tv lounge off this room, where the dog is welcome. Breakfast was also served in the bar room, with the dog welcome (they will happily add a chiploata to your breakfast for your canine friends). The grounds have plenty of room for excersise & p-mails. Its not cheap, but we enjoyed every minute, the staff were fantastic & we would not hesitate to go again

Room Tip: sea views are worth the extra !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Druthboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

When trying to book a double, two singles and a dog for a Saturday night only, my hopes were not high but I tried The Garrack after a recommendation by a local. We had a great time. It's not a brand new boutique hotel, not everything matches and yes I did see pelmets, BUT, it was spotlessly clean, rooms were large, bed was very, very comfy and the view from our room was stunning (room 7). Where else would one find a fireplace in the bathroom,
We ate at the hotel in the evening, they laid a table in the bar area which was a lovely touch - and I mean laid as if we were in a restaurant. Food was overall good, some parts were outstanding, other bits just missed the mark, for instance our stater of tempura crayfish tales came with the most mouthwatering salsa that was fantastically balanced with mango and Thai basil (?) but the crayfish was over cooked - but I'm being picky. There was an excellent choice of food and service was fantastic.
For dog walkers there is easy access to the coast path that takes you on a two mile walk down to the town.
There is a taxi rank next to the cinema, you can get a lift upto the hotel for £4 if you have drunk, shopped and eaten too much to o much to face the hill (even the dog was relieved to get into the taxi)
We would stay again, especially if we could be guaranteed the same room.

Room Tip: Room 7, large, sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzyLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel last August Bank holiday. The hotel itself is set in a lovely location overlooking St Ives and it's a 15 min walk into town (steep hill on the way back!).

We had a family room which was a good size with a sea view. The room itself was very dated with stains on the carpet and old furniture. The bed was quite uncomfortable and seemed very old. The TV in the room was temperamental which meant we couldn't always watch the channels we wanted as the remote wouldn't work consistently. The spa was also really dated and looked like it had no money spent on it for years. Such a shame because this hotel could be amazing had it been maintained - nothing to do with style it's clearly neglected.

Ending on a positive note, the breakfast was quite reasonable with a good choice.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nalopod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We returned to this hotel for 2 nights in October, together with our dog. The staff are v welcoming, and despite his size - a labrador, Zi-Zu shared our bedroom and was allowed in the bar for our breakfasts.
The food at breakfast was very good; a wide choice; cooked breakfasts made to order, including porridge, fish, and traditional. Toast was freshly made from good loaves, not sliced! We did not take dinner.
I stayed at this hotel many times in the fifties, and it is still lovely. Privately owned, the owners are hands on and have not done away with 'character' features in an effort to make their mark or modernise.
The views are wonderful, as are the gardens and public rooms.
NOT a negative, but do note that the walk back from St Ives town is very steep - but local transport is good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.8 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.7 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garrack Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garrack Hotel

Property: The Garrack Hotel
Address: Burthallan Lane, St Ives TR26 3AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St Ives
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#8 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garrack Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garrack Hotel and Restaurant. Small, quality 3 star hotel with stunning Atlantic sea views overlooking Porthmeor beach and the town of St Ives in Cornwall. Award winning restaurant, indoor pool, sauna and terraced garden for quiet relaxation. Private on-site car parking. 10 to 15 minutes walk from the harbour, town centre, beaches & coastal footpath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Garrack Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrack Hotel St Ives
The Garrack Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing