We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent dinner and night's stay”
Review of The Garrack Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Garrack Hotel
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“An excellent dinner and night's stay”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I stayed with colleagues at the Garrack while visiting Cornwall on business. The staff were efficient and welcoming; the bedroom excellent and very well appointed (I wanted a ground floor room which had no view but others upstairs said their views were also excellent!). We ate dinner in the hotel which was exceptionally good with unobtrusive service and coffee and port by the open fire afterwards. A very welcome interlude in a busy couple of days which I would unreservedly recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oliver P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    151
    60
    11
    12
See reviews for
84
394
27
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I am going to get the only negative over and done with first because it did put a dampner on our one night stay. There were 2 main reasons for booking this hotel as a Christmas present for my husband ,, 1. The indoor swimming pool and 2. The fact we could take our dog. When we arrived at the hotel it looked lovely but the promised ample car parking was chocoblock and we ended up having to move cones and park on the muddy grass ... The reason for this soon became clear when we checked in early having decided to go for a swim before hitting St Ives... The swimming pool and café area had been totally commandeered by some sort of toddler swim teachers group !.. we were told they should be gone after lunch so not wanting to stress over anything during our short but much needed break we decided to go and explore... returning at 4.30 for a swim before dinner... But we were foiled again..
The Toddlers and teachers still had total control of the pool area .. Reception seemed surprised they were still there but assured us they would be gone soon.. at 5pm I had another look but was told by one of the teachers theyd be finished about 6.30! .. At this point I asked at reception again ..
After an enquiring phone call I finally managed to get my swim around six thirty but by them my husband had given up and nodded off!... On the plus side the pool was empty apart from one family ..who didn't seem to be hotel residents either.. On the downside the father seemed to find it necessary to bellow at full volume the whole time I was there to the children as if they were half a mile away!
I think we should have been told in advance that the swimming pool would not be available for the whole day on the Wednesday as this was one of the main reasons for choosing this otherwise wonderful hotel.
Now for the POSITIVES .. which far outweighed the only negative ... Where to start! ... FRIENDLY !.. so friendly .. We immediately felt at home and welcome .. and more importantly relaxed !
VIEWS to die for! Having booked at an excellent price we weren't expecting a grand room .. but what we got was more than adequate ..warm and airy with a big window and lovely view over the gardens to the sea .. We couldn't fault the room facilities at all and slept very well... As did our DOG snuggled up in her bed on the floor!
On arrival we sat down in the little bar area where the dog was welcomed and enjoyed a lovely CREAM TEA.
The small leisure centre and café was more than adequate .. The pool was warm.. I didn't use the little gym but did make use of the sauna.
We hoped in the evening that the dog would stay quietly in the room while we went up for dinner but this wasn't to be as we listened from the corridor she started to bark so we took her with us and without a fuss the wonderfully friendly receptionist/waitress laid up a table in the bar area for us ... This was like our own little restaurant which again had a wonderful view right across the sea and felt just perfect for us with the dog lying under the table!
There was plenty of choice on the menu and it was difficult to decide as it all sounded wonderful!
SERVICE WAS EXCELLENT.. friendly attentive and relaxed ... Even our dog was given a few little treats!
Our meals were generous and very enjoyable ..
Breakfast was part buffet with help yourself juices.. croissants .... toast .. cereals yoghurt and fruit together with an excellent choice of cooked breakfasts ordered at and bought to the table together with tea or coffee.. I chose the local smoked haddock and poached egg whilst my husband had a full English..
We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay .. Being able to take our dog and finding her so welcomed was a huge bonus.. We enjoyed a long stroll from Barnoon Cemetery (well worth a visit for keen photographers like us ) right across Porthmeor beach and The Island and through St Ives.. The Garrack was a lovely warm and welcoming haven to return to.
The staff score eleven out of ten for making us and our dog feel welcome!!
WILL DEFINATELY RETURN if the price was right (as it was for this out of season visit) and have recommended to friends and family. We live in Cornwall and run a café .. will be recommending this hotel to our seasonal customers .. will just advise them to check pool facilities are available first !!

Room Tip: We had dog friendly room 23 which was a standard double but with a lovely sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoolyLooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Arrived earlier than check in time and very nice lady hoovered our room so that we could go in it straight away. This is very unusual. Most hotels would tell you to go away and come back later. Our room was tastefully done and spotless, with a beautiful view of the beach. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was amazing. We have visited St Ives many times and eaten in some of the best restaurants but this was by far the best with plenty to eat. Staff were at all times courteous and helpful. Will definitely be returning to this hotel again very soon!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzannehardiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Had a lovely January break here. Upgraded room as we were in the garden annex which was separate from hotel. Our new room had amazing views of Porthmeor beach. Stunning! The staff couldn't do enough to help us and made us feel at home. Will definitely return. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicjane79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This was our second stay at The Garrack. We decided to visit out of season using a Groupon Deal. We stayed in room 17, which, if I'm being honest, is starting to look a bit tired in places and was a little chilly overnight. However, seeing as the price of our stay was so heavily discounted, we made allowances for this. On the whole, we had a lovely time and would most definitely stay again. We were however quite annoyed to hear a lady on the dinner table behind us saying how awful room 17 was and how glad they were to have be moved rooms. It was more than adequate for us, but I suspect that we were given this room based on what we paid, which is fair enough. The view is amazing and the staff friendly. The evening meal was nothing short of delicious, the service was spendid. We seemed to be forgotten at breakfast and waited a considerable time for our hot food order to be taken. It was no big deal though.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahGomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Had a lovely stay at the Garrack. Staff very friendly.
Room had lovely view out to sea.
would definately come again if we could get the same deal
Small swimming pool and did not look like the fitness room was used much but enjoyed the sauna.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynnewilson25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Just an overnight break, to recharge the batteries. We were made to feel very welcome in good quality (but not latest boutique style) accommodation. Bedroom, with great views of the sea, in a chalet style, spotlessly clean.
Leisure centre is very dated, with small swimming pool and even smaller gym, however ideal for young children and the staff are very helpful.
Dinner and breakfast both excellent. Overall , at the right price, great place to stop when visiting St Ives.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.8 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#5 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
0.7 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garrack Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garrack Hotel

Property: The Garrack Hotel
Address: Burthallan Lane, St Ives TR26 3AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in St Ives
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#8 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garrack Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garrack Hotel and Restaurant. Small, quality 3 star hotel with stunning Atlantic sea views overlooking Porthmeor beach and the town of St Ives in Cornwall. Award winning restaurant, indoor pool, sauna and terraced garden for quiet relaxation. Private on-site car parking. 10 to 15 minutes walk from the harbour, town centre, beaches & coastal footpath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Garrack Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrack Hotel St Ives
The Garrack Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing