We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Cornish stay”
Review of The Garrack Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Garrack Hotel
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We had three nights at this delightful hotel which has it's own pool and fitness suite. All the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. We didn't sample dinner in the evenings because we ate with relatives who live nearby but the breakfasts were extremely good. The fruit salad in particular was scrumptious. The syrup was infused with a herb which I couldn't identify. Didn't like to ask the chef in case it was a secret ! Our bedroom had a beautiful sea view and the garden had a clear view of St. Ives town and the Porthmeor beach.
An altogether very pleasant and relaxing three nights at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Have nothing with which to compare it but we had a lovely room with sea view on the lower level with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

Good friendly laid-back atmosphere.
Good views.
Clean.
Very comfortable bed.
Easy walk into St Ives (Good exercise on the way back!).
Good breakfast. Had it in bar area with our dog.
Will be using again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avalon3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This is a warm,comfortable, friendly hotel. The food is reasonable, lovely Cornish wine. The view is great,it is easy walking distance to town, a bit far from the coastal path. The staff are lovely. We did not try the pool.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estherop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

A most enjoyable birthday luncheon for myself, wife, son, daughter in law and two grandchildren.
Use of the indoor pool by the younger members. The food was superb and the service wonderful.
Had not been to the Garrack since holidaying there in in 1976. Now living in Cornwall we must use the hotel more.
I cannot thank the staff and owners enough for their attention to guests. I have already told friends that they should go and enjoy the Garrack.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

A comfortable hotel with good food and welcoming to dogs.

Good views and an easy walk into St Ives.

We enjoyed the beaches and walking the dog.

hotel is clean and staff are very pleasant and welcoming. A good family run hotel

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We needed a break and descided on St Ives. We wanted a Pool and a sea view from our room. A few hotels came up and we plumped for the GARRACK and very pleased we are to have picked it. We were made very welcombe, nothing was too much trouble, the staff were very pleasent and the owners are very nice people. We were made to feel very at home. We are not high brow or wealthy people and we feel we were given excellent value for money and will definatly visit again. The Pool was realy good there is even a Gym! Recomend the home made scones pool side. Our room was clean and tidy with a wonderfull view across the bay. There is a lovely snug lounge with a log fire to curl up in front of and relax.

Room Tip: We will want the same room again so are going to keep stum incase it is booked by someone else :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The Garrack Hotel was selected at short notice for a three night stay. Our room described as "a large double" was very good large double bed two arm chairs and wonderful sea and edge of St Ives views. large bathroom with whirlpool bath and excellent power shower. Breakfasts were substantial and good but the evening meals were excellent. Staff were all friendly, cheerful and considerate.The chef has a good a la carte menu but each day has very interesting and good value "specials" indeed we only ate from the specials for our three evenings there. St Ives is a good base for visiting the far west of Cornwall and access to Lands End, The Lizard, NT gardens and the Maritime Museum at Falmouth are all easy. Notwithstanding the recent weather problems Cornwall is open for business. So visit!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.8 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,773 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Carbis Bay Hotel & Estate
1.7 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
319 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garrack Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garrack Hotel

Address: Burthallan Lane, St Ives TR26 3AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in St Ives
#3 Romantic Hotel in St Ives
#5 Family Hotel in St Ives
Price Range: £68 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garrack Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garrack Hotel and Restaurant. Small, quality 3 star hotel with stunning Atlantic sea views overlooking Porthmeor beach and the town of St Ives in Cornwall. Award winning restaurant, indoor pool, sauna and terraced garden for quiet relaxation. Private on-site car parking. 10 to 15 minutes walk from the harbour, town centre, beaches & coastal footpath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Garrack Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garrack Hotel St Ives
The Garrack Hotel St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing