We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"just perfect"”
Review of Gekko Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gekko Lodge
Ranked #48 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"just perfect"”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

From arrival to leaving, this for me is the perfect b&b. No fussy overbearing landlady with too many rules but a young couple who seem to have a life. This reflects on how they run their business. It is relaxed and very comfortable. Many of the amenties are what you have at home, a great shower (with locally made toiletries), lovely towels, great coffee etc. Others, like that view out to sea we don't have. The breakfast choice is varied, cooked to order using local produce with the choice of a substantial continental breakfast if you prefer. Ok it is a little walk from the main area of St Ives but that brings interest if like me you are a bit nosey and you can see the real St Ives. Finally great walks from the doorstep and bespoke furniture .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitz6_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
51
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We - two adults and a 13 year old - have just come back from the Gekko Lodge. A very comfortable and warm stay despite this wintery Easter. Room excellent: big enough for the three of us, great features, comfortable and brilliant view of the sea and beach. Breakfast great - we tried three of the various options on offer. And Catherine surprised us with chocolate muffins for Easter, a lemon tart and honey melon today. Bread and cakes homemade and delicious like the rest of the breakfast. Excellent and highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antjeandjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights in March, although the weather outside was pretty chilly, inside was warm and cosy with lovely comfy beds and fresh fluffy towels. We loved the location as it was only a short walk into town and gave us fantastic views of porthmoer beach from our room. The breakfast was a joy to get up for, with delicious homemade treats and tasty selections. We also had a parking space right outside the front door which was an added bonus. We would definitely come back to stay at Gekko Lodge next time we're in St Ives.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We love staying at Gekko Lodge. Our second stay and there will be more. Sleep like logs, wake up to beautiful views, gorgeous shower with yummy tea tree oil shower gel, then down to the perfect breakfast. Mmmmmm how many days could Gary have a full English? Catherine makes lovely bread, jam and we love the music choice.
Thank you

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Warm, comfortable with great view and wonderful choice of breakfasts. Ideal place to come back to after some spectacular cliff walks and only a few minutes stroll into the town for an evening meal. Catherine is a friendly and relaxed hostess. Quiet location and parking add to the attraction of this appealing, slightly quirky spot

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peteandsuesheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed in room no.1 which overlooks the sea from a nice and big window. The room was not that big, but more than just clean---super comfortable and we felt happy when we were on the way back to the room at the end of a day. It was a bit hard to find the location at first, because we arrived in St.Ives at night by train, but nonetheless once you find the way, it is not far from the town center despite a bit steep slope.
It would be desirable if the room had a bath tub, but I understand it is difficult to wish for it for the modest accommodation fee. Overall, it is almost perfect. I really wish to revisit St.Ives again (hopefully when it is less windy...haha) and stay at Gekko Lodge. Honestly speaking, it was more comfortable for us to stay than more expensive hotel in Nice, where we had visited the week before.
Lastly, but not least, Catherine is really a nice host and also we loved the breakfast she cooked every morning. She offered us various kinds of breakfast and we requested different one every morning. They were the best breakfast ever in UK.

Looking back the stay in Gekko Lodge has made me feel like going back to St.Ives now! I can assure you that it is the place to stay in St. Ives.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaOn720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Gekko Lodge this summer. My daughter and I stayed in the smaller of the 2 rooms for a couple of nights and then moved to the larger attic room when my son joined us. The rooms are medium size but we didn't feel cramped and the available space has been utilised well. No large clumsy wardrobes just plenty of cupboard and hanging space. The rooms are very clean and simply furnished and the ensuites are really nice shower rooms. Catherine is a lovely host, very friendly but had the knack of knowing when to give privacy. She is very knowledgeable about the area and was always happy to inform and help. The breakfasts are just wonderful, definitely sets you up for the whole day! One of the criteria for choosing Gekko Lodge was the wonderful views and it doesn't disappoint at all. I will definitely stay again.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bridget W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Heights
Atlantic Heights
#13 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
1.4 mi away
Beachcroft Coastal Retreat
Beachcroft Coastal Retreat
#42 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
1.3 mi away
Count House Cottage B&B
Count House Cottage B&B
#1 of 7 in Carbis Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#11 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.2 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Nook
The Nook
#35 of 102 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gekko Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gekko Lodge

Property: Gekko Lodge
Address: 7 Carthew Terrace, St Ives TR26 1EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gekko Lodge is a contemporary newly renovated Victorian bed & breakfast, located in St Ives, Cornwall. It is situated overlooking the famous Porthmeor Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gekko Lodge St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing