We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic little B&B”
Review of Gekko Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gekko Lodge
Ranked #51 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is a great little B&B with just two rooms, which was a plus for us as it was quiet and felt a little like a home from home rather than a more impersonal hotel-style place. The location was great as well - don't be put off by looking at a map and thinking it's far from the town itself: it isn't.

We were in room 2 which is at the top of the house which has an amazing view and a really good shower :) It was handy to have a mini-fridge in the room as well to take advantage of the local cider!

We couldn't really ask for more. We found a peaceful cosy place in a great location, and Catherine was a fantastic host who helped us out with some suggestions locally and also really knows how to cook a breakfast!

If we come back to St Ives, we'll definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Try the smoothies at breakfast. They're ace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank itsnotpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

Took my Mum to the steep slopes of st Ives and we had a great time. Catherine is a great host and the room (at the top) was lovely. It has an excellent wet room, beautiful views of the bay and a handy fridge which we stuffed with wine. Catherine was kind enough to supply us with glasses and fresh milk for the coffee/ tea we also enjoyed. A cafetiere was also provided in the room.
We ordered breakfast the night before and enjoyed plenty of fresh food and chatting with fellow guests. Catherine also bakes fresh bread and cakes. My waistline is still recovering.
If you enjoy meeting people and eating then Gekko Lodge and St ives are for you. You will also enjoy hearty walks but taxis are very reasonable if you can't face the walk back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SUSUWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Location is always important for us and Gekko Lodge was a good location, it was an easy walk down into town although walk back up hill all the way not so easy.
We had room 2 which is on the top floor and although the stairs up to it are quite narrow and steep this was only difficult with suitcases in hand. The views over Porthmeor beach, the Clodgy and the island are stunning and make the climb totally worthwhile. I sat on the window seat for hours. The bedroom is very modern and comfortable, we thought a bit lacking in storage till on the last day we discovered the drawers under the window seat! The bathroom again is modern and the shower very refreshing.
Breakfasts are wonderful, we didn't eat a pasty all week as we didn't need to eat again till late afternoon.
Last but by no means least Catherine is a great host, very welcoming and always ready with tips and information. If she doesn't have it to hand she will find out for you.
Would highly recommend this B&B

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baggo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I spent five days and nights at Gekko Lodge in St.Ives (mid-September 2013). After a long journey I had a lovely welcome from Catherine who brought me nice cup of tea and freshly-baked cookie. This was a very good start indeed!
My room (Room 1) was spotless and comfortable with great views over Porthmeor bay. I had the big comfy double bed all to myself and unlike other hotels or guest houses I've stayed in, there was a wide selection of teas, coffees and loads of sugars and milks along with a cafetiere and kettle. The en-suite wet room was clean, bright and modern with probably the best shower ever. I particularly liked the handmade rosemary and sage handwash (and I bought a bottle to take home). Catherine makes excellent breakfasts, all freshly cooked or baked and she makes great smoothies too!
The Lodge is an excellent base to visit St. Ives and to explore the area. I would suggest, however, that you wear appropriate footwear for walking up and down the very steep hills!
When I return to St.Ives, I will certainly come back to Gekko Lodge.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms and both have great views. Room I is on the first floor and Room 2 above th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loolah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We spent three nights at Gekko lodge (August 2013) and enjoyed it very much as a base to explore St. Ives. Lovely rooms (room 1) with beautiful sea view, modern furniture, really made us feel at home. Great breakfast with lots of delicious home made treats. We would definitely come back next time we are in Cornwall. S&J

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JosefB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Gekko Lodge for our first family holiday to Cornwall. Catherine made us feel so welcome and gave us great tips on places to visit and eat out. We loved our modern room (Room 1) with sea views, internet access and great natural beauty products and couldn't resist buying some to take home. The breakfasts were just fantastic, delicious smoothies, homemade bread and amazing cooked breakfasts with relaxing music playing in the background! The B&B is within walking distance of the town and also the nice local swimming pool which was great for the cloudier days. We had great day trips to the Eden Project and to St Michael's Mount. Thank you Catherine for making it such a lovely holiday, we hope to come back again.

Room Tip: Lovely sea view from Room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Had a lovely stay at Gekko Lodge for the second time .Can't recommend it enough,Catherine's breakfasts,home baked bread and biscuits and packed lunches were all so delicious.The room was very comfortable and clean in a peaceful part of St. Ives.It made our week a special one.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.7 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 20 in St Ives
2,714 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Garrack Hotel
The Garrack Hotel
#5 of 20 in St Ives
631 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palma Guest House
Palma Guest House
#12 of 30 in St Ives
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Anchorage
The Anchorage
#46 of 102 in St Ives
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ten Ocean View
Ten Ocean View
#37 of 102 in St Ives
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Nook
The Nook
#34 of 102 in St Ives
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gekko Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gekko Lodge

Address: 7 Carthew Terrace, St Ives TR26 1EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: £75 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gekko Lodge is a contemporary newly renovated Victorian bed & breakfast, located in St Ives, Cornwall. It is situated overlooking the famous Porthmeor Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gekko Lodge St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing