We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved it and I'll be back - recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Little Leaf Guest House
Ranked #3 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I've stayed at this B&B when it was under different management. Danny and Lee have completely refurbished the house, adding modern stylish decor, luxury bathrooms, balconies on some of the rooms, and a new eating/living area that's open for everyone's use. It's now a marvellous B&B to stay in, and they've achieved the perfect balance of comfort and luxury in a relaxed and friendly environment. The breakfast options are superb and Lee and Danny are friendly and helpful hosts. The prices were reasonable, especially given the newness of the refurbishment and the fact that it was peak season. I would definitely recommend this for anyone wanting a great stay in St Ives.

Room Tip: Room 2 is the largest and most comfortable room, with a great view of St Ives harbour and a luxury b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnbalham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

677 - 683 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2011

Lee and Dany run their B&B with much enthusiasm! Bedrooms are not only clean but also nicely decorated. There is w-lan in all rooms and breakfast ist great inkluding amazing view over st. ives. But there are also a lot of other things you would not expect: dvds to watch in your room, an iPad for free use in the living room to access the internet, books and even a book with recommandations for restaurants in st. ives. Lee and Dany care for their guests!
Parking is not easy in st. ives, but 200 m away from Little Leaf is a public parking, you have to wait about 10 minutes for a car to leave because it is really full but this turned out fine. Alltough its not cheap, abound 7 Pounds for the night, but thats St. Ives.
We really enjoyed our stay !

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silke Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This b&b is truly amazing! The rooms are modern, clean and have everything you need with some lovely extra touches and wonderful views. Danny and Lee are what really make this b&b stand out though; from the moment we arrived they were incredibly friendly, helpful and accommodating. The breakfast was incredible too! We can't wait to go back ASAP!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauranichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Amazing place! Lee & Danny are just lovely and have thought of everything possible to make their guests feel welcome - from free cookies to use of an ipad to plan your stay/onward journey. Decor is perfect and the breakfasts were divine! would definitely reccomend you stay here and I will be back next time im ever in St Ives.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willi80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I experienced Lee and Danny's fabulous guest house in August 2011. Little Leaf Guest House is reachable through a series of paths and outdoors staircases or via a short, few minutes taxi ride from the train station. Lee and Danny's blog relating the saga of their move from London to St. Ives, England and the trajectory of what it took to leave the corporate rat race behind to become full-time innkeepers is riveting and highly entertaining! In fact, the blog and all the glowing reviews in TripAdvisor convinced me to take the plunge and stay in Little Leaf Guest House for several days as part of my UK holiday. I'm so glad I did and would have arrived even sooner had they not been completely booked up! Lee and Danny are so welcoming from the moment you walk into their establishment. As Lee is an accomplished baker, you will likely experience a delicious treat from her kitchen as she sits down with you from the start and relays helpful sightseeing tips/brochures and guest house information to you. For £2.50 per day, there is also access to a heated swimming pool just up the road from the guest house. Guests are Little Leaf are also entitled to discounted rates at the Porthmeor Surf School.

I stayed in room 4 at the top of the guest house; it has an amazingly comfortable duvet on the bed and a flat screen television as well as a new bathroom with shower and toilet. There is a door hook and a bottle of shower gel, in case you forget to bring your own. A corner nook/crawl space in room 4 is the perfect space for your luggage and any rucksacks or carrier bags of stuff you may have with you. Fluffy, clean white towels are provided as are tea/coffee set-up. Additional two wall hooks are near the sink. The decor is modern, green/white, and very soothing. Throughout the guest house, Lee and Danny display various works of art -- some show scenes of St. Ives.

The common room has breakfast tables with scenic views of St. Ives, a DVD library, sightseeing brochures, and an iPad for guests to use during their stay. Breakfast is served from 8:30 am - 9:30 am and guests' selections (full English breakfast, vegetarian full English breakfast, specials of the day) can be recorded on a clip board page before the end of each day. Fruit, yogurt, jam, and plenty of toast is also provided. If you partake of the morning breakfasts at Little Leaf Guest House, such are the delicious portion sizes that you will likely not need to eat lunch at all! Since I had to check out very early on a Saturday morning, Lee and Danny got up extra early and made me fried egg whites on toast and a heaping bowl of fruit salad as I requested before the regular breakfast hour. Danny also reserved a taxi for me the day before for an early morning pick-up and ride to the train station.

As I was keen to hike the famed 6 miles St. Ives to Zennor bit of the South West Coast Path, which is the most difficult and most beautiful stretch of this dramatic cliff side trail, Lee and Danny disclosed the weather forecast (very changeable weather in these parts) and recommended the best day for my hike. For a small fee, Lee packed for me a perfect paper bag lunch with a sandwich, juice box, Kit Kat bar, chips, and piece of fruit, so that I could have lunch during the strenuous hike. If you do this hike, be advised that sturdy hiking shoes and 4.5 hours of daylight are required; there are many bits of the trail where you will need to scrabble up and down with hands on rocks and jumping around to avoid stepping in some muddy sections. I say you will need 4.5 hours, since it's likely you will stop for 1/2 hour to eat lunch along the trail and you will also stop for a moment here and there to take breathtaking landscape photos and to catch your breath from the aerobic exertions of the hike. Once you reach Zennor, which is a small hamlet with a church, a farm with cow pasture (many caramel colored cows on the field), and a pub, you can either take a bus on the main road back to St. Ives (last bus is approximately 4:00 pm) or kindly ask the pub-keepers to phone a taxi for you.

St. Ives itself is a former fishing village with nearby copper and tin mines from yesteryear and now is a bustling tourist destination with a vibrant artistic community and a labyrinth of paths to explore. The famed Leach pottery studio, Barbara Hepworth's sculpture studio museum, and the Tate St. Ives are all located in the village along with assorted independent art galleries and a painting school. The harbor area is full of boats and restaurants. Several beaches are in the vicinity. I particularly enjoyed dining at the Tate St. Ives' rooftop cafe and the Porthmeor Beach Cafe both overlooking beautiful Porthmeor beach, which also hosts a surfing school. Nearby bus/car excursions from St. Ives include: Minnack Theatre and St. Michael's Mount, as recommended by Lee and Danny, as well as various gardens such as the Lost Gardens of Heligan and the Eden Project. Cornwall is a special part of England and St. Ives is one of its brilliant gems.

All in all, do yourself a favor, take a holiday break and either drive in or ride the train from London Paddington Station to St. Ives to experience the lovely hospitality and friendly charm of Little Leaf Guest House and its amazingly wonderful hosts, Lee and Danny!! As far as I'm concerned, it is the #1 place to stay in St. Ives!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen8xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Excellent, Excellent, Excellent what more can we say... We had a fantastic stay at little leaf, Danny & Lee were so friendly, the food was fantastic, enjoyed the home made cakes & cookies. The room was lovely with beautiful views looking out over the harbour. We would definitely recommend staying at Little Leaf when visiting ST. Ives.
Helen & Simon (Mansfield,Notts)

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woodcroft17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Danny and Lee are so so friendly and welcoming. The atmosphere is just really homely and relaxed. The little touches make it very special; the restaurant review book, the assortment of teas in your room, the biscuits in the dining area, the mini dvd library... AND the fact that Danny and Lee remember EVERYONE'S names - it didn't go unnoticed.

The breakfasts are equally as incredible.

Most definitely one to recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstyr1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
978 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 102 in St Ives
416 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trevose Harbour House
Trevose Harbour House
#1 of 102 in St Ives
480 reviews
1.1 mi away
Count House Cottage B&B
Count House Cottage B&B
#1 of 7 in Carbis Bay
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Leaf Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Leaf Guest House

Address: 16 Park Avenue | Cornwall, St Ives TR26 2DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range: £65 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great breakfasts, spectacular views. 2 Minutes from town. A modern, relaxed B&B, just a few minutes from town and conveniently located next to public car parks. Facilities include WiFi, TV/DVD players, iPad and iPod docks. We have 6 ensuite rooms two with panoramic views of St Ives and the ocean and one with a private garden all of which are different enough for everyone to have a favourite. Whether it's a sea view, private garden or a cosy hideaway you're after we have a room to suit all tastes and budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Little Leaf Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Leaf Guest House Hotel St Ives
Little Leaf Guest House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing