We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Leaf - Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Little Leaf Guest House
Ranked #3 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Little Leaf - Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Late October stay.

From the moment of your arrival, you realise that you have made a good decision. A very friendly welcome from Danny and Lee immediately puts you at ease and their genuine desire to make your stay a good one is very evident. Nothing is too much trouble and our room was superb (having been upgraded to Room 2 due to our room being required for an extra night by current guests) with sweeping views over the town and the harbour and bay (nice little touch of binoculars provided in the room).

If you wanted to have a glass of wine or beer in the evening, glasses were provided in the downstairs dining room, along with fresh milk if you preferred it with your tea in your room.Also a plentiful supply of dvd's and books if needed.

Breakfast was very good with fresh fruit and the traditional Full English available, as well as daily specials as an alternative.

There is nothing to fault about the Little Leaf. Friendly, comfortable, very clean and nicely decorated. Danny and Lee have got it right. Recommended.

Room Tip: rooms with a view are worth having!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swissconvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    32
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
477
50
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

My wife and two teenage children and I stayed two nights at Little Leaf and loved it. Our room (room 2) had a great bay window overlooking the harbour and sweet little balcony with two chairs where my wife and I sat, reading, sketching, or just admiring the view.

The hosts are very open and welcoming and helpful. Definitely made us feel very welcome!

The breakfasts were sumptious - probably the most perfect poached eggs I've ever had. If I ate breakfast like that every day, I'd be huge. I also really like the idea that they have specials (the berry-filled French toast was particularly admired by my wife and daughter).

It's also an easy walk from the station, which was great for us as we were arriving by train.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We had a lovely time in St. Ives and really enjoyed our stay at your beautiful B&B. We will be sure to recommend it to all our friends and hopefully stay with you again when we return to St. Ives. You were very helpful and the tips of where to eat and what to do in the area were incredibly useful and we weren’t disappointed with anything we did during our stay.

Your hospitality was fantastic and it honestly felt like we were staying with friends rather than in a B&B. The breakfasts were out of this world and I was pretty disappointed to wake up this morning and find did not have a massive fry up waiting for me!

The champagne and rose you guys supplied were the perfect finishing touch! I have to say the option to do that was one of the reasons I chose to stay with you guys in the first place, and I think it really made Jenni’s stay to have that waiting for her. Thank you very much!

Thank you for making our trip. We wish you all the best.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

My fiance and I stayed here for two nights on 22nd and 23rd October. Thankyou Lee and Danny (and Darcy) for making us feel at home from start to finish. It was a pleasure to stay with you and we feel you would be our kind of friends had we lived closer. We will definitely stay with you again when we come to St.Ives. (Darcy is Lee and Danny's daughter - too cute!). These people work hard to make their accommodation the best and it shows.

There is no private parking but this is normal when staying in St.Ives. However, there is a car park about 200 yards from the guest house costing only £6.40 for 24 hours which we thought reasonable for the convenience aspect and because we had no intention of moving our car.
On arrival we were greeted by Lee, she is really friendly as is her husband Danny who we met later on. We were shown key areas of St.Ives and some restaurants on a map and the breakfast menu explained. There is free wifi here and an ipad in the lounge with free usage for all guests (we didn't use either of these but can see how it would be of benefit if staying for longer or on business). Lee also got us a cup of tea and a tasty biscuit almost immediately - what a personal touch!
We were supposed to be going into Room 5 but Lee upgraded us to Room 2. We originally wanted Room 2 but could not afford it so it was a nice surprise to be upgraded. It really was a luxury room with a view - two comfy leather chairs looking out over St.Ives bay through a huge bay window. Definitely worth the asking price if this room is available which I imagine in Summer months it is not! The ensuite had a lovely power shower and looked brand new and sparkling clean. The bed was extra comfortable and we both had a sound nights sleep - so comfy that I went back to it after breakfast on the first morning. More than enough storage available if needed, although we did not need much storage space for 2 nights. Radiators kept the room more than cosy enough for us but there was a spare heater if you wanted the room warmer. Towels provided and room tidied daily. LCD TV on the wall with DVD player - we made good use of this to relax on the second night after having food in the town. Tea and Coffee is unlimited which is great as we love our tea! Are you still hesitating to book? If so, read on............

The decor of the guest house is modern with a cosy, homely feel to it. I want the carpet from room 2 in the upstairs of my own home! It's kind of like a natural shaggy rug effect/feel. You will feel like you are staying in a luxury guest house when you stay here.

Location, location, location! Just a 5 minute walk (max) to the main town shops, restaurants and beaches. We went down some steep steps so not suitable if you are mobility impaired. You can go a way without steps but it will take you a bit longer (estimate 15 minutes).

The breakfast was fantastic too. We had a full english breakfast on the first morning and didn't need to eat until teatime/dinner because it kept us full up. All ingredients tasty and you can tell they are good quality. Poached eggs the best we've ever had! Cereals, fruit, natural yoghurt, toast, juice, tea, coffee also available. Try the 'dulce de leche' (caramel sauce) on toast - just lovely!
The second morning I had one of little leaf's specials. Each morning there is a different 'special' available. I had 'little leaf huevos' - sounds strange perhaps if you've never tried but I like trying new things! It is an English take on a Mexican/South American classic breakfast choice. It came as an english muffin toasted topped with 2 poached eggs and 'Danny's homemade salsa'. It was not at all spicy more like a flavoursome ratatouille - I enjoyed it and it was filling, I may even try it at home.

St.Ives is a lovely little place to visit to mosy round the cobbled streets looking in shops, have a cream tea, eat some cornish ice-cream, enjoy fresh seafood, see the beautiful nature surrounding it. This guest house is like the icing on the cake though. It's a really lovely home from home with friendly, genuine owners and now a gorgeously cute baby girl. Thanks so much Lee and Danny, you've helped us create a lovely memory of our stay this year. May you be here always!

Room Tip: Room 2 and room 5 have the best views. Room 2 is only up one small flight of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s0phie2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Thank you, Lee and Danny, for making us feel at home right away, and thanks for all the tips for touring the town and countryside. Not to mention the cookies and the "dulce de lece" :-) The panoramic view from room 2 is gorgeous, and the town and car park are just a few steps away. If ever we make it back to your lovely town, we'd be happy to stay with you again.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a great view, other's look out at the garden in the back. Take your pick :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hafuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Fantastic B&B, easily the best we've had the pleasure to stay at. Felt at home from the moment we walked in the door. Great location, overlooking St Ives/the ocean. Hospitality from L&D was great. Breakfasts were superb. Can't really provide much more than what has already been said in other reviews, other than we would highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 4 which faces away from the sea, but still a lovely/cozy little room. Good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this B&B. We had a slightly different experience because the B&B owners were away, however we were well aware of this before booking and the price reflected this. The room & common areas were nice and clean. We stayed in the top room with a nice view over St Ives. Would definitely go back to this B&B when staying in St Ives.

Room Tip: Select a room with a view over the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SashRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.5 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.3 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#7 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.2 mi away
West by Five Guest House
West by Five Guest House
#2 of 102 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Leaf Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Leaf Guest House

Property: Little Leaf Guest House
Address: 16 Park Avenue | Cornwall, St Ives TR26 2DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great breakfasts, spectacular views. 2 Minutes from town. A modern, relaxed B&B, just a few minutes from town and conveniently located next to public car parks. Facilities include WiFi, TV/DVD players, iPad and iPod docks. We have 6 ensuite rooms two with panoramic views of St Ives and the ocean and one with a private garden all of which are different enough for everyone to have a favourite. Whether it's a sea view, private garden or a cosy hideaway you're after we have a room to suit all tastes and budgets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Little Leaf Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Leaf Guest House Hotel St Ives
Little Leaf Guest House St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing