We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely building and great views from the cafe - otherwise rather disappointing and very expensive for what it is”
Review of St Ives Museum

St Ives Museum
Ranked #15 of 57 things to do in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
England
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely building and great views from the cafe - otherwise rather disappointing and very expensive for what it is”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were looking forward to our visit to this iconic building - which really is beautiful - but were rather rattled by the cost of admission (£11) once we looked around the exhibits, which are surprisingly few. The cafe is free to visit so we'd recommend doing that!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AndieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    74
    22
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Loved a walk back through history of St ives. Staff very helpful and friendly. Too much to look at for me in one go (disabled), so will be back one day to take more in.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Keenan777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The Sun £10 holiday Cornwall experience”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Unfortunately we got to this museum without much time to look around much before it closed. It was really interesting and informative and given the opportunity we will go again and make sure we give ourselves more time

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GrosvenorFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good place to meet locals and learn”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

One of the best things about the museum is the volunteers who work there. The day we went, there were two retired gents who were a lot of fun, love St. Ives, and have a lot of knowledge. It's a fun museum too. A surprising collection of paintings, a pilchard processing room, posters from the era of being a resort for train holidays, and many other treasures all crammed into an interesting old building. Well worth a visit and helpful in understanding Cornwall.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lots of history but a little dull in display”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This sounds picky but the have lots of very interesting things on display but the lay out is a little tired !!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LesleyRhodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St Ives Museum also viewed

 

Been to St Ives Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing