We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired”
Review of Royal Cinema

Royal Cinema
Ranked #2 of 3 Fun & Games in St Ives
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Royal Cinema is a 3 Screen Cinema. As part of Merlin Cinemas, Royal Cinema St Ives is part of the Movie Magic Discount Card scheme. See our website for more information.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Tired”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Went to watch The Dark Knight Rises on the 26th of July 2012. we did have some food which was quickly removed form us as is the policy there. The seats were old and shabby, there was an two pin electric socket next to me and the wall in front of me was moving a lot. i did think that the rocking chair effect on the seats was novel. Sound quality was bad but did enjoy the sound of the chap changing the film reels. Wont be hurrying back to pay another £6.00 each

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    28
    28
    8
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“we go when raining:)”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

well its an old school cinema, independant so dont expect a huge imax, but it does show the lastest films and it does special screening when it weather is wet, which is when we always seem to go, it also does a cheap day for £4.50 each seat on a tuesday.
i wouldnt complain about it being "shabby" as some other reviewers have, id rather pay less and have a cinema with a bit of atmosphere than a up to date one that costs the earth, to watch the same film.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Clairemason1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Friendly cinema”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

The people working there are very helpful. It shows up to date films too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DMOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not bad!”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This cinema really needs updating, and they need to serve soft non-fizzy drinks too.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank JaneyinCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Shabby”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This tired old building looks dreadful on the outside, and is shabby and a bit depressing inside. It didn't seem that clean either, but that may have been the poor lighting. Tickets were cheap though, so that was good.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Suzie_Anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Cinema also viewed

 

Been to Royal Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing