We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great film” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Cinema

Royal Cinema
Ranked #1 of 3 Fun & Games in St Ives
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Royal Cinema is a 3 Screen Cinema. As part of Merlin Cinemas, Royal Cinema St Ives is part of the Movie Magic Discount Card scheme. See our website for more information.
Cannock
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great film”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

great film, seats were the most uncomfortable I have ever sat in, seat base folded down and leant forward...moved seats, just the same, not at all comfortable.....the film was good though.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jonnylambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    28
    27
    8
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A bit pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Looking to get out of the rain on a Sunday afternoon, we decided to head for the cinema. We were quite disappointed with the ticket prices, especially as there was no student discount - the adult prices are more than we pay in the big city where we live. The screen we were in was small but cosy, with a few seats cordoned off (presumably due to damage). We did get slightly frustrated with the amount of adverts before the film - there must have been nearly 20, plus trailers! However the staff were very friendly and attentive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Monsters University”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We went to see this film but found staff a bit vague and we were left wondering if we 'd gone to the right screen as it took a long time for the trailers to start. The evening before when we bought the ticket the lady couldn't have been more helpful. Thanks

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Original outside but needs help !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Lovely old cinema ... Could be amazing as its a fantastic old building . Just too1970s inside ... Please someone invest some money and bring it back to its original glory .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob12111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A cinema with character.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We went to see Pacific rim the other night and soon as we stepped in my girlfriend thought the sound wouldn't be good but the picture and sound were brilliant. They don't do orange Wednesdays but for £6 a ticket you can't complain. Fair enough the seats aren't brand new, the walls need a bit of paint and the screen isn't the biggest but it's got so much character a modern cinema can't give. You get exactly what you would expect of a small cinema in a small coastal town. Do not expect an odeon! Why would you want one!? It fits perfectly into the vision of the town. Genuinely a great cinema that should never be lost.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank xfiddyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Cinema also viewed

 

Been to Royal Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing