We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!”
Review of The Cornish Deli

The Cornish Deli
Ranked #4 of 144 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Seafood, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Cornish Deli exists to bring to best quality Cornish and regional produce to its customers.If you want fantastic quality local meats, cheeses, seafood, fruit and vegetables, snacks and regional specialities, the Cornish Deli is for you.Incorporated with the Cornish Deli, is the The Deli Cafe offering hot and cold drinks, brunches, lunches, afternoon tea, and Evening Meals. As well as providing lots of wonderful foods and drinks, the Cornish Deli is home to the Deli Cafe. The Deli Cafe offers delicious drinks including Lavazza coffee, brunches, lunches, afternoon tea and Evening Meals. All food can be eaten in or take-away. The Deli Cafe is open every day, and in the summer evenings from Tuesday to Sunday. It is fully air conditioned and fuly licensed, providing the perfect sanctuary away from the often busy St. Ives streets.
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Well worth looking for, the Deli is tucked away from all the hustle and bustle that St Ives has to offer.

We popped in for a light bite to eat, and were amazed by the food on offer. My wife had a cheese, ham, and chutney baguette, whilst I went for the anti pasta platter and the cheese board. The food was amazing and very plentiful.

The staff were very friendly, although service was a little slow, however this added to the overall experience.

Would definitely visit again!

Helpful?
Thank SarahLeeSuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    77
    12
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Welcoming and friendly”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We called in on a rainy day in St. ives and were made to feel very welcome. The staff were very helpful and friendly despite it being very busy... The man serving us even ran out of the cafe to get us fresh scones to have with our drinks! Would definitely visit again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ree246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top breakfast”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stumbled apon this deli on my birthday for a family breakfast. I had a very impressive smoked salmon with scrambled egg on toast. It was a shame we had to wait 45 mins for it to arrive, which was surprising as it wasn't busy. Would go again!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
347 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Cornish Deli well worth the visit”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Cornish deli well worth the visit.
A little bit of the beaten track but worth the effort. Generous portions and excellent well cooked food as if you were at home.
Chilled glasses for your water, nice reasonable wines and beers and good friendly service We had marinated olives with the wine followed by two mains. The special was the confit of duck with beans and sautéed potatoes in duck fat which was lovely, and the homemade burger with potatoes and salad was very tasty indeed.Followed by excellent sticky toffee pudding with vanilla ice cream and great cappuccinos. Cost was £45.00.
They also have excellent cheeseboard selection with three cheeses, biscuits and relish for £5.95.
The only thing that was not mentioned is that the restaurant does not take credit cards, only cheque or cash so worth remembering.
All in all excellent food and service. Regards Gary Saunders

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We went here last Friday for dinner and were really impressed. The service was fantastic, really friendly. Lovely menu with a nice selection of specials to choose from. We shared some starters of scallops, garlic prawns and chorizo squid which were all fab especially the squid. I had gurnard and samphire for my main which was so tasty. They even serve my favourite Camel Valley white wine. For a casual but really delicious meal this is the place to go. It may not have sea views but it certainly makes up for that with the warm welcome and fantastic food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahinCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cornish Deli also viewed

 

Been to The Cornish Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing