We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dolly P Boat trip”
Review of St Ives Boats

St Ives Boats
Ranked #2 of 15 Tours in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: We offer daily boat trips leaving from St Ives harbour, when seal watching along the coast at Seal Island or across the bay at the famous Godrevy lighthouse we explore one of the UK’s most stunning areas. We are licensed by the MCA to carry 12 passengers up to 60 miles. Our most popular Trip is the one hour trip to Seal Island, which we run hourly (weather permitting) on a daily basis. Seal Island is home to a colony of Grey Atlantic Seals and is 3 miles west of St Ives. The boat, Dolly P, clings to the coastline before reaching Seal Island where the boat stays for 15 minutes to observe the seals. The other boat trips we offer are trips to Godrevy Lighthouse, trips to Hell's Mouth and Private Charters, including Ashes Scattering Services.We also offer 1 1/2 hour Mackerel Fishing Trips. Bookings can be made by Mel, who you will find Outside The Lifeboat Station. Or phone to book
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have been on the Dolly P boat trip several times now in the last couple of years and it never ever disappoints us. The scenery is stunning, the trip amazing and the time spent watching the seals is second to none. We were fortunate this year to go on the evening trip to Godrevy Lighthouse, which was really beautiful. The crew are friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. If you're visiting this beautiful part of the world, a trip on Dolly P is a necessity.
We'll be back next year and can't wait!!

Thank BobbyBOrmskirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stivean, Manager at St Ives Boats, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

We love repeat customers because it proves that we are doing something right. Our crew on Dolly P, go the extra mile to ensure that our passengers enjoy their trip and are given value for money. Thank you and see you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"seal island"
in 93 reviews
"boat ride"
in 15 reviews
"small boat"
in 12 reviews
"great trip"
in 12 reviews
"selling tickets"
in 3 reviews
"on the rocks"
in 9 reviews
"captain mike"
in 2 reviews
"exciting ride"
in 2 reviews
"their natural habitat"
in 5 reviews
"low tide"
in 11 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 4 reviews
"seals playing"
in 3 reviews
"pod of dolphins"
in 4 reviews
"enjoyable trip"
in 3 reviews
"godrevy lighthouse"
in 8 reviews
"friendly lady"
in 2 reviews
"feel very welcome"
in 3 reviews
Filter

122 - 126 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

We spoke to Derek the night before and arranged to meet the next morning, a bit of a trek round to the boat but we were ferried out to the Dolly P. The trip out to seal island was geat and then we saw 30 seals just lounging around posing for the tourists. we were there for about 15 mins before the trip back, taking in the stunning scenery and the banter from the skipper, when we got back the tide was totally out so we jumped off the small boat and waded in then walked back through the harbour, all in all a fantastic trip.

Not for the frail or infirm.

Thank BOOTIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stivean, Manager at St Ives Boats, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Great to hear that you enjoyed your trip out to Seal Island aboard our boat Dolly P. From your description, it would appear that you took your trip on one of the very rare occasions when the tide goes out beyond our normal loading jetty. This happens two or three times a year, but only for an hour either side of low tide. Sounds like you had a great time regardless and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

We had spoken about going out to see the seals as soon as we got into st lives we inquired about prices there was 6 Of us do we knew it wasn't going to be cheap but it was alot less than we thought it would be! The skipper wad really nice and informative he also warned us about the larger waves and what the risled there and back would be like we had help getting on and off the boat including the smaller boat! The seals were there and we were told plenty about them and got pretty close the dolly p is very fast and exciting ride! Loved every moement Will definitely do it again!

Thank xemzsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stivean, Manager at St Ives Boats, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you for your great review of your trip to Seal Island aboard Dolly P. As you found out, Dolly P offers a fast and exciting ride and our skippers will tell our passengers exactly what sea conditions to expect. Don't forget to seek out Dolly P on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

Went on Dolly P today reading the reviews looked out for Derek as soon as we entered St ives booking seats on the boat was the first thing we did and sure did not regret this, was beautifull well worth the money managed to see a few heads of seals this was definately not a boring boat ride and defo worth the price we paid..Derek and his team were friendly..if you are visiting St ives look out for Dolly P.

Thank you you Dolly P

Ruby :-)

Thank Ruby-A123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stivean, Manager at St Ives Boats, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Thank you Ruby for your lovely review of your trip to Seal Island and especially for seeking out our boat Dolly P. We aim to give value for money and to make the trip as pleasurable as possible and obviously we succeeded. See you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Derek and his staff are really friendly, and the trip to Seal Island is such a lovely attraction. Dolly P will take you there, enjoying the waves and the brilliant coastal view. Once at Seal Island you will have the chance to see some sweet seals in their habitat, and the driver will even adjust his position to get closer to the island.
A great experience!

Thank Fuscosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stivean, Manager at St Ives Boats, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2013

Very glad you enjoyed your trip to Seal Island aboard Dolly P. Our skippers know Seal Island very well and our boat is very maneuverable, so enabling us to get close to the seals. No boat stays longer at Seal Island than Dolly P, so giving our passengers the best view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St Ives Boats also viewed

 

Been to St Ives Boats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing