We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for simple fine dining nite out”
Review of Seagrass - CLOSED

Seagrass
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: AA Rosette restaurant in St Ives - just a few metres up from Harbour Beach. An intimate & contemporary restaurant, serving modern British cuisine including locally caught fish & seafood straight from the bay, meat dishes and vegetarian options. Also available - Oyster and Shells menu, featuring oysters, lobster, crab, langoustine, Fruit de Mer and more! Bar area for drinks only, offering an extensive wine, drinks and cocktail menu. Open for dinner from 6pm daily for A la Carte and fixed price menu - 2 course £16.95/3 Course £19.95. (Autumn/Winter opening times apply). Recently featured in The Good Food Guide, Hardens and The Michelin Guide. Restaurant available for private hire (weddings/birthday parties). Private dining available.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for simple fine dining nite out”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Had a dinner with my friend. Simple. Easy going. Food tastes as 2aa:fresh,infused and clean! Will be back !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keykey186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    625
    163
    77
    31
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Absolutely loved it here. The squid, moules, scallops, bouillabaisse and sole we had were delicious as were the desserts (crème brulée and an utterly fabulous chocolate orange torte).

Good selection of wines and lovely ciabatta and olives with our aperitifs.

These guys know their stuff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BathOtter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

It took us a long time to decide on our choices as there was just so much we wanted to eat. The staff are friendly and efficient. I made the reservation via the Internet. The food here is always artfully presented and extremely fresh. We chose scallops and blow torched calamari - both melt in the mouth! We waited quite a while for our main course because I chose a whole fish but we were kept updated. Both our Sole choices were fantastic. No room for deserts! Decor is great and we love t,he bar area!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinks47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal, lovely atmosphere, friendly staff”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We spotted this restaurant while walking through St Ives and looking at the comments on trip advisor decided to book a table for later on in the week. (I would recommend booking).
The food was really good, some great fish choices served with some inspired accompaniments.
The wine menu was good, complimenting the food on offer.
The staff were friendly and very attentive and overall there was a lovely atmosphere from this small restaurant.
I would recommend it for the food, the rest is a bonus.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicester
1 review
“Seagrass. St Ives. Amazing.”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

As a visitor to St Ives at least twice a year we have never eaten at Seagrass until this Oct 1/2 term.
This restaurant is one of the best places we've been to in St Ives. If you want really lovely food? this is the place. The food was amazing. I was very impressed with the children's menu, Spag Bol, Mussels, Rump steak...! The kids opted for the Mussels and we had the pork belly off the main menu which was really good for choice.
The portions were spot on for adults and the kids. The food was lovely all round. Empty plates is a good sign especially with children.
The staff were lovely & polite. The atmosphere is very nice, Modern,warm,friendly & relaxing. It was great value for money and we will be definitely returning at some point. Thank you very much. Don't change a thing!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steven180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seagrass also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing