We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Ok”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Ives
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Countryman Hotel St Ives
Ranked #36 of 102 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just Ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

A warm & friendly welcome. Disappointed with the cleanliness of the room. Definitely need new carpets throughout! Breakfast area is nice as was the breakfast. Nice distance from St Ives as you're away from the crowds but easy to get to. Had a lovely meal at the Balnoon Inn just up the road but didn't enjoy the meal at the Watermill - very so so and not cheap!

We enjoyed the break but probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duet4123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    22
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
36
41
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

After a busy few months this break away was just what we needed to wind down and refresh. In a beautiful location out of the way of the hustle and bustle we found this hotel, we had a lovely spacious room. Even with our particular requests nothing seemed like too much trouble for the staff. And on our last night staying we enjoyed a lovely hog roast in the hotel garden, cooked to perfection, in a lovely atmosphere. Left Cornwall feeling calm refreshed and ready to go back to work. Thank you! Already looking at when we can visit again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ces3487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Didn't get the breakfast yet! Think the owner was doing everything himself and we waited and waited.....finally giving up! We just made do with the cold buffet, We were in the room at the top of the house which was spacious, but coombed ceilings posed a problem for my 6ft partner. No food was available as the restaurant had shut down, but we were recommended to try the neighbouring hotel's restaurant, with a discounted offer.We chose to walk, but it was a very precarious road for pedestrians as the side-walk ran out after a few meters and we had to walk on this busy, twisted road.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evlittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Sadly, only a one night stay. We booked a family room to keep the cost down and thankfully I get on well with my mother in law! On arrival we were greeted with a genuine smile, polite conversation and shown to our room (6) which was a really good size, split into two distinct areas giving some privacy form my husbands mum. Everything clean and tidy, the room light and airy.....two chairs, a trouser press, water cooler on the landing below with a jug provided in our room. Tea, coffee and lovely biscuits...everything we needed and more....The bathroom was great, very tastefully decorated and a really good sized shower. Michael, the owner went out of his way to be helpful throughout our stay, he gave us a menu saying that if we told him what we would like and what time we would like to eat, he and his wife would ensure it was ready for our arrival! Also, we asked if it would be possible to have our breakfast outside? The response... "Of course, no problem at all!" It was by the way delicious and the selection on offer, excellent - I've been living in hotels between Monday and Friday since the end of February and the average charge for such a breakfast would be around £10 per person which makes the cost of the room - with breakfast included, extremelly good in our opinion! It was very clear to us that Michael and his wife are passionate about making their hotel a lovely place for their guests to stay, nothing was too much trouble and we have no hesitation in recommending you pay them a visit! They'll be very happy to see you!

f course! No problem!!

Room Tip: Two family rooms, ours was lovely but on the road side which I have to say didn't bother us at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

Great breakfast, great cushions on the bed and one nicely papered wall, afraid the rest is only 2 star for us. Minute shower room with small thin towels, it was not possible to fully open the shower door as it hit the WC cistern. The bedroom is tired, dull carpet with an iron burn mark, no seats other than the bed and was dismally way below the standard of other hotels. I stay in hotels all over the country every week on business and have to say that even Premier Inns are superior in room comfort and design. I'm afraid the hotel is very overpriced for the standard of accommodation.
St Ives is a fantastic area of the country to visit but not the Countryman Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRL662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

We were a group of six New Zealanders who had a fantasic two nights there. the family and there young friends were perfect company and helped keep us entertained. The rooms were really lovely and clean and the greakfast was impressive. We will stay here on our next visit to England. Thanks for some great memories

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan60796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

I would like to say from myself and on behalf of my friends, what a fantastic hotel you have and how much we enjoyed our stay. Your hospitality was next to none, breakfast outstanding, rooms everything we could ask for. Above all else we really appreciate your service and going the extra mile to look after us.

We will have no hesitation in recommending you to anyone we know and hope to come and visit very soon.



Thank you so much again in advance

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
1.2 mi away
The Gannet Inn
The Gannet Inn
#2 of 4 in Carbis Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#10 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Badger Inn
The Badger Inn
#28 of 102 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Nook
The Nook
#37 of 102 in St Ives
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
2.1 mi away
Poldhu Guest House
Poldhu Guest House
#88 of 102 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Engine Inn
The Engine Inn
#1 of 1 in Nancledra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Countryman Hotel St Ives? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Countryman Hotel St Ives

Property: The Countryman Hotel St Ives
Address: Old Coach Rd, St Ives TR26 3JQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 102 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in Style Superior comfort and a warm welcome awaits you at the Countryman Hotel, set in one acre of landscaped gardens with rocky streams and pond, Dating from the 17th century, today this small hotel has recently been renovated to meet the needs of the modern visitor, all rooms have new flat screen televisions and tea making facilities, modern en-suite shower, basin, and toilet, baths are available in some rooms, The atmosphere of the hotel is friendly and inviting, the emphasis being on cheerful service and good value for money. Accommodation: Whether you just require a double room for the night or a twin room for a weekend break, Maybe a Family room for two weeks Holiday, our choice of bedrooms will not disappoint. Sand stone effect en-suite bathroom and Shower rooms are available with white fluffy towels and attention to detail to make this hotel in Cornwall extra special. Our Location: The Countryman Hotel is fast becoming one of the places to stay in St Ives. Situated just a five minute drive on the outskirts of the historical quaint town of St Ives in the valley of Trink Hill with magnificent Cornish country views, this hotel in Cornwall is perfectly located to explore the beautiful rugged coastline, sandy beaches and rolling countryside of Cornwall. Our Breakfast: Breakfast is of the traditional Cornish variety: we endeavour to offer the best standards of service and presentation to ensure that our guests start the day in time honoured fashion. A wide choice of fresh, local and seasonal produce appears on our menu, juices, yogurts and cereals, together with full cooked breakfasts of every description, we also cater for all appetites and diets. Our Cosy Bar: Have a refreshing draught beer or maybe a bottle of ale from our collection of Local Cornish ales, ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Countryman Hotel St Ives Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing