We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“:)”
Review of The Lifeboat Inn

The Lifeboat Inn
Ranked #20 of 148 Restaurants in St Ives
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Pub
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“:)”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Our visit was for breakfast.
Pleasent looking and clean interior. Comfortable chairs!

Smiley, pleasent staff.
Breakfast was lovely, perfect portions!
My only ever so small disliking was the hashbrown on my breakfast seemed abit over-cooked and therefor difficult to chew! Everything else was fine.
Recommended place to visit :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DweenaLouisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent K, Manager at The Lifeboat Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We our delighted to read that you enjoyed sampling our Breakfast Offer and that you thought it was lovely. We will pass on your comments to Head Chef Dan about the hash browns.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon,
Kind regards,
Rachel McKeown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    760
    416
    108
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“pleasant place to sit with friends”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Food was tasty, we enjoyed great service and it was a nice outlook over the bay, even though the tide was out.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank recycled-rockandroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent K, Manager at The Lifeboat Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor.
We look forward to your returning visit.
Kind regards,
Rachel McKeown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport gwent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic veggie lunch”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Friendly and helpful staff who couldn't do enough for you! The meal was fantastic and huge!! Would recommend to non veggies too!!!!! Will definitely return!

Helpful?
Thank Susieb34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lifeboatinn, Manager at The Lifeboat Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Susie,
Thank you for posting your comments on Tripadvisor they were very kind. I will ensure they are past onto the team. We look forward to you visiting again very soon when you can try one of our other Vegetarian meals like the Cornish favourite Homity Pie,this consists of leeks and potato cooked with cheese and herbs in a pastry, accompanied with homemade coleslaw, salad and warm Ciabatta. Yummy.
Kind Regards,
Rachel McKeown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very busy, but great service”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This pub does get packed out and if you manage to get a table you will see why. The service was excellent and Josh did a fantastic job at finding tables and if he couldn't he'd let you know how long you would expect to wait.
The food is very nice and once ordered comes really quickly. The carvery looked fantastic - we didn't try it though - but you have to be quick as it sells out fast.
A table by the window looks out over the harbour giving you great views.
We will definitely return on our next visit to St.Ives

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hubeyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lifeboatinn, Manager at The Lifeboat Inn, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review on the Lifeboat Inn recently. We are delighted that you received excellent service from our team. I will make sure that your response will be seen by our staff and I am sure this will be read with great pride. We hope to see you again very soon
Kind Regards,
Rachel McKeown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Packed sunday afternoon.....”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Tremendous sunday carvery. Came back here specifically after visiting St Ives last October. Superb value for money - needed to walk for hours to wear it off!!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank chrismac71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lifeboatinn, Manager at The Lifeboat Inn, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Chris,
We are delighted to read that on your return visit you sampled another delicious Sunday Carvery!
Yes the portions are huge and we often suggest to our customers a walk around the harbour to walk of their Lunch!
We look forward to seeing you very soon,
Kind regards,
Rachel McKeown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lifeboat Inn also viewed

St Ives, Cornwall
St Ives, Cornwall
 

Been to The Lifeboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing