We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, cosy place with a view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 106 St Ives B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great, cosy place with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

This B&B has such high reviews for a reason, despite located at pretty much the top of a valley its is only 5mins walk to town (may take upto 10mins walking back up). The hosts Simon and Lindsey are a lovely, friendly couple, who are also very attentive to our needs, always giving advice on what to see, where to go and recommendations on what to eat (great choices).

We stayed at the Carn Brea room, which from first sight seems a little small but there was plenty of space for overnight luggage and other bits and bobs. Bed was comfy and large, the bathroom was of a reasonable size but spotless. The room didnt have a sea view but was very well lit. It has your basic amenities...shower gel, complementary beverages, TV (with integrated DVD player with a small selection of DVDs) and hairdryer (which was very important to someone). Breakfast in the morning was a great tasty treat, full English, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, toast...i had the lot.

The B&B has its own car park spaces but if for some reason its full, the outside is free parking, so no need to worry about parking. There is room which over looks the sea but not sure which one and how much. Our room cost us £70 pn. Centre is only about 5mins walk down hill (bearing left) and you will find cost cutters, post offices, banks, restaurants, pubs...etc.

All in all, i really enjoyed my stay at Blue Sky and would recommend it to anyone, especially family with children, as i have noticed toys in the living room and a good selection of Disney DVDs.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Walnut_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
103
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

Simon and Lindsay were the perfect hosts during our two night stay. They could not have been friendlier or more helpful and this really stood out against other establishments. We felt very welcome. Simon was even kind enough to post my camera charger to me which I stupidly left behind! We stayed in Carn Brea which is the smaller of the two rooms on offer. Although on the smaller side it does have everything you need - plenty of wardrobe space, very comfy bed and lovely bedding (!), two bedside cabinets and a mirror located near a plug for us girls who need to dry/straighten our hair! The ensuite bathroom and bedroom were immaculately clean. The inclusive breakfast on offer is brilliant! Seriously! And meant that the price we paid (£70 for each night) represented excellent value for money. I highly recommend this B&B and would be delighted to stay again. (If you stay, make sure you discover the little shortcut which takes you straight down into town)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greeklife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ticehurst
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Blue Sky is apparently a new venture for the owners, not that that was in any way apparent. The operation was slickly run. The room was spotless and well equipped with a lovely view. Breakfast was very tasty and well presented. Simon and Lindsey were the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LandlordCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

We were unsure which B&B to stay in, as was our first stay in St Ives and eventually found the Blue Sky. What a find! Exactly what my girlfriend and I were looking for a short stay in St Ives. Simon and Lindsay were so welcoming and made us feel at home. The room was large, the bed was super comfy and the bathroom was obviously brand new. The shower was hot and powerful, and squeaky clean. We missed the first morning's breakfast as we overslept because of the comfy bed, but on the second day we made it down and we had a full english breakfast with a great choice of fruit and yogurts. The hotel complimented a great stay for a long bank holiday weekend in St Ives, and will definitely be booking for next year. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimbob4702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

My two daughters and I stayed here for two nights from the 21-22 August. We stayed in 'Trencrom,' a beautiful room with the most amazing sea views. The room was enormous and really nicely decorated. The bathroom was spacious and the shower was fab.
There was a good selection of breakfast available, the cooked breakfast was really yummy , they ask you what you would like (my daughter wanted an omelette) and cook it to order.
The location is perfect, so near to the beach and town. I can't recomend it enough. Simon and Lindsey are great hosts and so helpfull. We will be back.....

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stan43_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

V near to town centre and beaches. Clean warm and friendly, the owners go out of their way to make you welcome and provide great breakfast!!!. My wife is vegetarian and they did a wonderful breakfast for her.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

My wife and I stayed 14th-16th August 2011 in ‘Carn Brea.’ This is the smaller of the two rooms on offer and is £10 cheaper at £70 per night; each room has an en suite shower and lavatory. Carn Brea has a king-size bed. Decor is new and the accommodation is very clean and comfortable. Flannel, hand and bath towel are supplied as are soaps and moisturizers. The showers have large roses and use mains pressure. Breakfast is ‘full ’English’ as you like it, with fruit, fruit juices, cereal, sliced bread, which one can toast oneself and butter. I appreciated the thoughtful touches of: branded sauces, cloth napkins, home made marmalade and wooden coat hangers. TV/DVD is in each room and there is a plentiful availability of films. One is made to feel at home by the warm, but not intruding, presence of the proprietors, Simon and Lindsey. My wife and I had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and we shall return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bossrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Ives hotels
0.4 mi away
Tregenna Castle Resort
0.2 mi away
St. Ives Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Chy-An-Albany
Chy-An-Albany
#8 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pedn Olva Hotel
Pedn Olva Hotel
#4 of 21 in St Ives
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.1 mi away
Western Hotel
Western Hotel
#15 of 21 in St Ives
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tregony Guest House
Tregony Guest House
#9 of 106 in St Ives
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast

Property: Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast
Address: 8 Porthminster Terrace, St Ives TR26 2DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > St Ives
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in St Ives
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Sky is a granite built house within 5 minutes walk of the beaches and the centre of St Ives. There are three comfortable double rooms available on the first floor, all with en-suite shower rooms. One with stunning views of St Ives bay another with a balcony and sea views. They all have a flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryers and broadband wi-fi access. There is free parking available on the drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blue Sky Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sky Bed And Breakfast St Ives, Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing